Ratings based on 604 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Fairfax Station, VA

Close to Venice Beach...without staying there.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Wonderful staff, beautiful little Mother's Beach with the rest of the marina behind it made for a beautiful view. Yeah, it was a great way to start our vacation road trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Close to the Beach

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The location!
Cons: Warning about the parking lot.
Location: The pier is RIGHT there.
I loved the location: close to the pier, but away from the Boardwalk. The desk staff was nice. The room was very nice, but I found the bed really uncomfortable and the walls really thin. Also, we weren't warned about their parking lot system. The lot does fill up and you have to park on the street. Overall: just ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty good hotel close to wharf

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, close to wharf
Cons: quality of rooms
Location: near the wharf and University
Liked how it was close to the wharf, although the room had some problems. Room key wouldn't work several times and the door had trouble opening. Also didn't like how parking was $20 and there was still not enough parking in the lot for everyone. Breakfast was really good though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good Stay

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Good location. Two blocks from the Santa Cruz Wharf.
Cons: Motel's parking limited.
Good, comfortable two night stay. Location is good. Two blocks to the waterfront and easy driving distance to downtown Santa Cruz. Surprisingly quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Surprising find!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
This place is a nice little get away for the price! Being afraid to be on a budget and "get what you pay for," this place exceeded my expectations and is a very nice place! Upgraded floors and bathrooms add to the rooms. The staff is very nice and even upgraded our room for my family! As mentioned before in another review, the only thing missing is a sitting area inside the room, as there are no tables and chairs, which would add more value to this stay. We requested extra chairs, and never received them. But since we were there for only 1 night, I didn't persist. All in all, a great find, and with a few additions, this place could excel even more. The walk to the Boardwalk was only like a 5-10 minute walk.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Carlos

A bit rough for the price

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Good location - walking distance to boardwalk. Pool was clean, yet cold. Room was very basic with no frills. Small bathroom with stand up shower only. Not the best for little kids. Continential breakfast was very basic. Biggest complaint was the noise level - neighbors had a HUGE argument at midnight which was extremely offensive. All of these things (except the argument in front of our room) could be overlooked if this place was a cheaper rate but at over $300 a night - it was not quite worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g

Cute and charming

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Very helpfull staff, cute charming very close to the beach
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine CA

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Nice hotel, clean and comfortable. Good location walking distance to the center and beach. It would be nice to have a table or a desk with a chair I'm the room. Breakfast is nice. I recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle, wa

Quick walk to north end of boardwalk and beach

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. Check in was quick and easy. Walk to the boardwalk is less than 5 minutes. The wood floors were nice, but my socks showed they were a bit dirty. Rest of the room was clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hanford, ca

Good hotel for a good price

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Check in is at 3 ish, had to wait for our room to be cleaned. The room that we were in the A/C didn't work. The staff quickly put us in a new room. Breakfast was great, they even had soy milk.