Ratings based on 720 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Very Pleasantly Surprised that the hotel was as good as it was for such a great price, the location was perfect for both the beach and downtown. We plan on staying here on our next visit to see our daughter at UCSC
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location close to the beach and UCSC

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: It was very close to the beach and UCSC.
Cons: Already passed on to staff and probably corrected that day.
Location: rock climbing and Lindas Sea Breeze Restaurant for breakfast!
The staff was very friendly and accommodated my hours that were a little crazy due to travel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good for families

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Nothing really except price
I was expecting an old inn type of feel, it was on the older side, that didn't bother me. What bothered me was the wood floors that were super squeaky. Not to mention the horrible parking lot, smokers all outside, loud people. Got woken up from sleep to someone yelling "Bring me my money...etc etc.." I was like really??? I was there with my 9 month old and I can't say I liked anything about this hotel except the price. But STILL def not worth it! Too many loud peoples/smokers/weird activity going on????
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Small OLD and run down and NO parking and can't check in until 3pm
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was fine!

Posted Dec 24, 2014
I see a lot of criticism about this hotel, but for the price and location it was more than I had expected. The room was clean and the beds were fine.. not high class but just fine. It was so nice to walk everywhere from that location to the beach and to downtown, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Definitely recommended if you are not too snobby- perfect for kids and dog friendly families.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jasonfrom San Francisco

Overpriced for the quality

Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The walls in the hotel are very thin. You can hear reasonable level conversations and TV's from the neighboring room. Again, no one making unreasonable noise and it feels like everything is happening right next to you. The other negative is that there is no storage in the hotel room--literally no dresser or closet. This would be ok if I were paying 50-75 a night inclusive of all hotel fees and taxes
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

hotel ok, but other guests to be avoided

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was relatively clean and the staff was nice and accommodating. However, the interior only seemed partially updated like they forgot about the curtains and bedding. The rest of the visitors staying were loud and rude. Many talking loudly and smoking more than just cigarettes outside of the rooms. I wouldn't recommend staying here mainly for that reason.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Maryfrom San Ramon

Santa Cruz off season weekend getaway

Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is old but rooms are all renovated. Located close to the wharf, boardwalk, and downtown. Dog friendly hotel which was a draw for many as most guests had dogs. Room next to busy street but wasn't bothered by outside noise. Breakfast buffet pretty decent for hotel in that price range. Staff was pleasant and helpful.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stephenfrom Oakland

A Disappointing Hotel in a Good Location

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
We booked a night because it was cheap and had the basics: bed, bathroom, kitchenette (sort of). No table for sitting eating, playing games or using your computer. Only one chair, a bed and two night stands. Check in was at 3 PM. Room was not ready until after 4 PM. Pool not being heated as advertised. We were there at 3; rooms weren't ready until after 4. HHe claimed we all were notified might be between 3-5 PM. Not true. My booking confirmation had no such notice. "High speed Internet" unusably slow. The breakfast OK. The walls were thin. A dog barked for hours. Heard footsteps above us. The parking did not have enough spaces for the guests. It was close to the board walk and the beach -- IF you didn't mind the parade of street people walking back and forth in front of the motel. TMany of the promised amenities were not functional. One star is generous.