Ratings based on 891 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dublin, CA

Great location

Posted Jan 22, 2015
The location was perfect, across the street from Del Monte Shopping Center and about 2 miles from the aquarium. Only stayed for one night to wake up early and go to the aquarium. You get what you pay for. The aesthetics weren't too pleasing and made me cringe a bit but the bed and bathroom were clean and at night it was very quiet. It did its job for one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fresno, CA

Nice hotel!

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Nice staff, restaurant and bar, pretty quiet for being next to a freeway and close to shopping centers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CA

Spacious and comfortable

Posted Jan 19, 2015
The hotel was surely a steal. Great price with good location and the beds are comfortable. The room was clean and aside from the carpets were somewhat dirty. They had fresh baked cookies at the frint desk which were delicious and a nice staff. I would easily recommend this place
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

Serviceable, but not atmospheric

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: Price and location.
Cons: It looks as if they're doing some redecorating, and it sure needs it!
Location: A short drive to the waterfront and aquarium.
Price was right, and the room was clean but plain. The halls look like a prison or a bad college dorm. If you're going to Monterey for charm and atmosphere, this ain't it. If you're just looking for a place to lay your head that isn't creepy, this does fine. Avoid the restaurant. It's just a badly decorated coffee shop in disguise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was dissapointing

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Bed was comfortable. Bathroom sink was upgraded. Towels were white.
Cons: Train staff to be welcoming.
Location: right across from Del Monte shopping center was perfect.
The hallways smell badly. No parking in front of my room due to exterior painting of the building. Trash all around the perimeter of the hotel. Front desk wasn't pleasant upon my arrival or departure. They didn't want to give me a receipt. The interior of the room was remodeled and they are trying to improve, but the tub and sink stoppers didn't work. The wall paper in bathroom was pealing. Bed was comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: fire the contractor hired to do upgrades. the furniture doesn't fit in the rooms
when I arrived the front of the building was roped off with no signage to explain. After being forced to drive around and park in the rear I was told check in was at 3pm and i was 25 minutes early
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Roseville, CA

Nice Older Hotel close to everything.

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Really liked onsite bar and restaurant. Really good food and quite reasonable. The bar staff and restaurant personnel were great. Pet friendly also.
Cons: Weather striping around doors. Very drafty. Really no area to walk your dog. Better hrs for the bar.Your at
Location: Anything you want to do is within 10 miles. Anything.!!!
Came for New Years Eve. Ret. Army from Ft. Ord. Nice to get back and see the area again. Really to cold to do much but had good time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Eastvale, CA

Clean and comfortable, close to attractions

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Large, clean room. Close to attractions.
Cons: The restroom, although clean, had some minor details that needed updating such as the wall paper, but all else looked great.
Location: Del Monte Shopping Center, Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row all within minutes.
We were in Monterrey for one night, and 1 1/2 days. We found this hotel to be close to HWY 1 and close (about 1.5 miles) to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row. It sits across from the Del Monte Shopping center, so close to shopping and chain restaurants. The room was clean, pretty large and updated. It was very quiet too, once inside. There is a restaurant on site, in case you don't want to drive for food; a gas station convenience store is in the same lot, with quick coffee and snacks access. We arrived on a Friday night, so there was Karaoke in the lounge, which made for some entertainment. I would stay again, the price, location and condition of the hotel was very pleasing to myself and my family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Baytown

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Our room was perfect. It had a nice seating area for family visitors.
Cons: The exercise room needs an upgrade.
Location: Hotel was close to all attractions. Bus stop available on the corner to take you downtown.
Traveled to Monterey to spend the holiday with our cousin. Hotel was an easy access off Hwy 1. Entered a clean lobby with a wonderful aroma coming from the restaurant. Staff greeted us warmly and directed us to our room. The room was great! It was clean, fresh and had a large seating area. Our room was a nice place to prop up our feet after a long day of walking and sightseeing.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sierra Madre, CA

Dissapointing stop on our road trip

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: The bed was actually a Queen size bed
Cons: Friendly staff would help
The signage for the hotel was not lit on the North and West sides of the building making it very hard to find... We found the staff at the front desk to be rather rude after standing there waiting for them for about 10 minutes. After finding our room, the toilet flushed only occasionally and the shower valve was problematic to shut off...