Ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Serviceable

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Met our needs to be near beach. Simple and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to the beach. Cheap for the location.

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Clean. Staff was very polite. Breakfast was a little disappointing. "Ocen view" was a bit of an overstatement.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A little sketchy but good location

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Definitely not a beach view, but close enough. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms are mediocre at best but for the price you really can't expect anything extravagant. The walls are paper thin, when me and my husband stayed the people next door were very disruptive and quite frankly scary. I was glad the room had three locks on the door.
2 out of 5
by Suezette from Perth

hard to find

Posted May 27, 2014
Cons: Nearly everything!
Room disappointing, 2 flights of stairs to haul luggage. Street changes 3 times, so very hard to find. Location was good. Very noisy people in carpark drinking into early morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike&Nicole from CA

Location, Location, Location

Posted May 12, 2014
No frills, basic room (small), clean, excellent location...walking distance to wharf/boardwalk. We only stayed 2 nights so it was perfect for the 2 of us for a quick weekend trip. If you need lots of amenities etc. Then you may want to choose another hotel - this is VERY basic (bring you're own hairdryer) - the room did have a microwave and small fridge.
3 out of 5
by Jeremy from Concord, CA

Small room and wheelchair friendly it wasn't

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Location - beach and downtown both close.
Cons: Rooms way to small. It is also pretty dated and on a hill, so parking lot is hard to get around.
Location: Wharf and boardwalk are right across the way, and Pacific ave/downtown area few blocks away. Lots of places to eat nearby.
This room was small, hard to get around in a wheel chair as specified, and with no wheelchair necessary bathroom amenities. I go the staff guy to lend me a plastic case that had drills and bits in it in order to have something fit into the bathtub to make it workable for a broken leg. It was probably the smallest motel room I have ever stayed in. There was no closet, fridge, microwave, or suitcase rack.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ben from Davis CA

Economical Getaway

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Location: walking distance to the pier, beac, Boardwalk and the cliff side walk to the light house. Driving distance to capitola, mystery spot
Check in after 4 PM, the owner welcomes you to choose from any available rooms. The room was adequate, most of our time was spent enjoying the areas immediately surrounding the motel. Even though most rooms don't have the "beach view" as advertised, for the price, a very pleasant ambiance was achieved. A must go for couples looking for an economical escape to Santa Cruz.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fine simple motel in great location

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Stayed one night on a quick surf trip. It's a basic motel, smallish rooms, but comfortable and cheap (at least it was on this stay). No fuss no muss. Will try it again when the occasion arises.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Close to the beach

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Ok this hotel is not fancy or luxurious accomodation and is located next door to a tattoo parlor. That said, the room was freshly painted, had brand new carpet, and it was clean. In addition, it was very close to the beach and very well priced. So, I would recommend it if you're on a budget and don't plan to spend a lot of time im your room. Personally, I will probably try to find something a bit more comfortable and hopefully with a view of the bay next time I visit Santa Cruz.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lee from East Bay

Bargain by the Beach

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the beach/boardwalk. Rooms on the second floor have a nice view of ocean.
Cons: Parking lot.
Location: The Visitors Center is right across the street. A pizza store is next door and a Mexican restaurant is right across the small street. Very convenient.
Old and a little dated, but comfortable. Friendly staff. Really a bargain when you consider how close to the beach it is. Great location. Parking lot is definitely a challenge, but it is free parking.