Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Modesto

easy on and off hwy 1, short drive down town.

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: easy access.
Cons: in need of new carpet.
Location: Boradwalk and Ocean is close by.
we enjoyed our stay, close to everything and quiet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and celan hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Staff was great best hotel with a great price since the moment. You arrive the service is excellent. Room is clean close to everything
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Marysville, CA

Excellent hotel, great place to stay!

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Pretty much everything met or exceeded our expectations. Very pleased.
Cons: Parking. Although we had no trouble finding a place to park, I imagine it could be a problem in the busy summer vacation season if the hotel is full.
Location: Location is great, just a short drive to everything in the area and the hotel is easy to find and access from the street.
This is a well-kept property, in good clean condition. Several of the rooms were getting a 100% makeover during our stay, yet there was no noise or mess or really much sign at all that they were working on the rooms. Our room was very clean, nicely furnished, with comfortable mattresses and a modern HD flatscreen TV. plenty of room for the 4 of us. The bathrooms were spotless and and everything in good working order. Carpets were clean and nice, no odor in the room whatsoever, and the room was very quiet-- never heard a sound from anywhere once our door was closed. Clean and relaxing hot tub was a welcome rest. My wife couldn't even find anything to nitpick, and she's great at nitpicking! The staff was friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was FANTASTIC, a nice assortment including hot scrambled eggs, sausage, fresh waffles, cereal, toast, pastries, yogurt, juice, and coffee. The owners of this property obviously take pride in it. Its only about a mile from the Boardwalk (maybe 2, I didn't actually check but its only a 5 minute drive) and has a great location immediately off Hwy 17 as you enter Santa Cruz from the north-- very easy to see and easy to get in and out of. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice, clean place to stay without spending a fortune. We are more than satisfied will stay again for sure if ever in Santa Cruz for vacation. Stop shopping for a hotel and book this one, its a very nice place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vista, CA

Great Price For A Santa Cruz Hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Easy freeway access, the comfort of the beds
Cons: They are currently doing renovations, so with those completed, at the price, I would say nothing.
Location: There are restaurants within walking distance, the Santa Cruz Mission isn't too far and it's a short drive to the pier.
Hotel is easy to find, good downtown location. Our room had recently been renovated, and was clean and comfortable. The beds were firm with good support. Compared to other hotels in the same price range, we were quite pleased and would stay there again and recommend it to others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Upland, CA

Proximity Friendly Hotel or our stay.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: It was close to where we wanted to go.
Cons: Better, more accurate advertising by Expedia.
Nice room, but not what Expedia showed in their advertising picture showed when we booked it. The room was smaller than we expected, also in the picture, there was a chair in the room with ottoman, there was no such chair nor comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mikefrom Reno, NV

Inexpensive place to stay in Santa Cruz

Posted Nov 11, 2009
This was a small motel without many amenities: no pool or spa. Staff was friendly and helpful; rooms were small but clean. It was a good deal for staying at the coast. The inn has a nice contenental breakfast, or there is the Denney's accross the street, and the Santa Cruz Diner is just down the road.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Costa Mesa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2009 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

better off at a different best western..

Posted Jun 4, 2009
the manager is professional, but the rest of the staff seems uninformed and not professional at all. we checked into our king room and the a/c was broken. there was only a queen room available so we had to get downgraded. the manager promised to call expedia and have a partial refund put on the credit card. i don't believe that ever happened. our new room was very musty, the working a/c was very weak, and there was no option to keep the fan running through the night, so every single noise around us was audible. we were woken up very early by our neighbors who decided to come back at 4am and be remarkably loud. in the room there is a horrible gigantic florescent light above the mirror that gave me a headache- with no other vanity light. worst part was that a "new" housekeeper came into our room when we had a do-not-disturb sign on the door, and she stripped our bedding without putting any other bedding back. we came back to a room to see someone had taken the bedding- i had to call to get it figured out and heard the usual apologies from the manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Fort collins

Adequate and Convenient

Posted May 28, 2009 on Hotels.com
Pleased with accommodations in this Pacific coast motel. Good general location although not near the beach. Continental breakfast is basic but adequate. Advantage is proximity to downtown Santa Cruz which is charming. Annoyed that VIN keys had to be replaced twice. Relatively good bargain.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom sacramento

Needs Improvement

Posted Apr 29, 2009 on Hotels.com
The room had a terrible smell, it smelled like an frat house. The bed was so uncomfortable. I could not sleep due to uncleanliness and uncomfortable bed. The hot tube was luke warm and a waste of time. The free breakfast was nice and the gym had a few cardio machines that we used in the morning. I would never stay there again. You get what you pay for.