Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike from Reno, NV

Inexpensive place to stay in Santa Cruz

Posted Nov 11, 2009
This was a small motel without many amenities: no pool or spa. Staff was friendly and helpful; rooms were small but clean. It was a good deal for staying at the coast. The inn has a nice contenental breakfast, or there is the Denney's accross the street, and the Santa Cruz Diner is just down the road.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Mesa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2009 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

better off at a different best western..

Posted Jun 4, 2009
the manager is professional, but the rest of the staff seems uninformed and not professional at all. we checked into our king room and the a/c was broken. there was only a queen room available so we had to get downgraded. the manager promised to call expedia and have a partial refund put on the credit card. i don't believe that ever happened. our new room was very musty, the working a/c was very weak, and there was no option to keep the fan running through the night, so every single noise around us was audible. we were woken up very early by our neighbors who decided to come back at 4am and be remarkably loud. in the room there is a horrible gigantic florescent light above the mirror that gave me a headache- with no other vanity light. worst part was that a "new" housekeeper came into our room when we had a do-not-disturb sign on the door, and she stripped our bedding without putting any other bedding back. we came back to a room to see someone had taken the bedding- i had to call to get it figured out and heard the usual apologies from the manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Fort collins

Adequate and Convenient

Posted May 28, 2009 on Hotels.com
Pleased with accommodations in this Pacific coast motel. Good general location although not near the beach. Continental breakfast is basic but adequate. Advantage is proximity to downtown Santa Cruz which is charming. Annoyed that VIN keys had to be replaced twice. Relatively good bargain.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sacramento

Needs Improvement

Posted Apr 29, 2009 on Hotels.com
The room had a terrible smell, it smelled like an frat house. The bed was so uncomfortable. I could not sleep due to uncleanliness and uncomfortable bed. The hot tube was luke warm and a waste of time. The free breakfast was nice and the gym had a few cardio machines that we used in the morning. I would never stay there again. You get what you pay for.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Modesto

What the #$%#?

Posted Apr 22, 2009 on Hotels.com
First, the front desk attendent, I will take some of the blame, could not communicate a thought to save their life. Second, the bed was so overused I slept on the floor. Third, they gave two pilliows that were so uncomfortable. Fourth, there was no teamwork between the employees. Instead of relaying a message to the next shift, we had to call back multiple times. A new staff needs to be hired and new beds. This place was horrible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great comfortable stay

Posted Mar 18, 2009
This hotel has the most convenient location. It was far enough away from the traffic but close enough to all the action Santa Cruz has to offer. The bed was very comfortable. The continental breakfast has so much to offer! Bagels, toast, Belgium waffles, cereal, fresh fruit, coffee, muffins, and plenty more. The hot tub at the hotel is in a beautiful gazebo. And the best part, free wireless internet!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Booking error

Posted Jan 1, 2009 on Hotels.com
This hotel was satisfactory for my needs (overnight stay for wrestling tournament). There was a booking error at check-in - the hotel had me booked for a 2 night stay, while I had only reserved 1 night. A call to Hotels.com customer service got this cleared up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Altha, FL

Easy Access

Posted Jun 11, 2008
We stayed at this Best Western in Santa Cruz CA as our daughter was graduating from Five Branches Institute in Santa Cruz. We spent 4 days and we really enjoyed the accommodations. Everytime we went out of our hotel room door we were greeted with the sweet scent of honeysuckle which was growing just outside. Other plants such as roses were also present which was really nice. The hotel was easily accessible and located close to restaurants, downtown, boardwalk, and the freeway. The employees were really helpful and very friendly. The only minus was the exhaust fan in the bathroom didn't work and every once in a while we heard road noise from the freeway. Other than those 2 things we were really happy with the facilities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Average

Posted Jun 9, 2008
QUITE A NOISY LOCATION, BUT CLEAN & FRIENDLY STAFF