Ratings based on 203 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Close to downtown and the ocean

Posted Nov 14, 2014
The location of this hotel is great. Walking distance to all the shops, restaurants and wine tasting rooms. The fire area was a great place to have a glass of wine or your morning coffee. Fun breakfast delivered to your door with a paper. clean room - nice bathroom. Ours was not the nicest room in the hotel but was more private as it was in the farthest corner. I choose this hotel partly because it has only 20 rooms (less noise) and had high overall ratings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: The bed was very comfortable and the shower nice. We really liked the continental breakfast delivered to our room in the morning.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location was great. We walked to dinner then beach and shopping in the morning.
The Candlelight was very cute and cozy. It was nice to have a view of the ocean and easy access to the shops and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland, New Zealand

Comfortable Inn and Handy Location

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: The location and the beds were very, very comfortable.
Cons: It would be nice to have a kettle to boil water to make a cup of tea as well as the coffee maker.
Location: Location very handy. Just a few blocks from the sea, and all restaurants close by. The Carmel Walking Tour is a delight and highly recommended.
Stayed 3 nights at this cute & comfortable inn. Handy to restaurants, the main shopping street and just a few blocks from beautiful Carmel beach, where we were lucky to see a pod of dolphins playing close to the shoreline. Room was clean and comfortable and well maintained by Chelsea our housekeeper. Staff were friendly and helpful advising on things to do and best places to eat. There is even a discount at different restaurants if you show your Candle Light Inn card. The fire pit is a nice feature and a good way to chat with other guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Very clean and attractive room and bathroom

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Location, comfortable charming room, nice clean bathroom, fire pit seating outside, parking on site, helpful office staff
Cons: While a rollaway was requested via Expedia, I did not check directly with the hotel before arrival and rollaway beds were not available.
Location: On edge of town center but many shops, restaurants, and beach within easy walking distance. Close drive to Point Lobos state park and 17 Mile Drive.
We stayed 2 nights and were very happy with our accommodations. We sat outside by the fire pit after dinner and enjoyed the location of the inn which was close to the town center but on a quiet street on the edge of the business area. We walked to shopping and restaurants, with many choices nearby. The room was on the corner and had great natural lighting and ventilation via windows. It was large and the bathroom was clean and charming. The continental breakfast (which was included in the room charge) of cereal, juice, yogurt, milk, pastry was ordered the night before and delivered via an insulated bag in the morning at our door. A small refrigerator and Keurig coffee maker were also provided in our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place to stay and very well located

Posted Sep 20, 2014
It's a beautiful little town to relax in with fabulous art galleries and lots of places to eat and drink. The locals are very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sacramento

Nice location

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Nice little inn that is close to restaurants and shopping. I was pleasantly surprised to see a full kitchen in our room, however it was not needed nor was it included in the description of the room. A working wood burning fireplace was the highlight of the room. Bathroom needs SERIOUS updating. The tire grout is old or missing. The shower handle was broken, as was the whirlpool tub. I'd stay here again if they do major work on the bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Preston, England

Such a pretty place

Posted Sep 1, 2014
What a wonderful place to stay- had a great time! Would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location to the downtown area

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Location, price, clean. Love how you could order a continental breakfast and it was delivered with a newspaper!
Cons: One of the electrical outlets was not working.
Location: Near shopping, restaurants, beach!
We arrived about 2 hours before check in time, but were able to get our room. This was exceptional since we had to get ready for a wedding!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Convenient location, tub, fireplace. Not sure why it's overly priced. Because they can?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com