Ratings based on 290 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

carmel

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: locality, cleanliness.
Location: great location. restaurants, shopping, gallery's, are all within walking distance.
this hotel is located conveniently close to the downtown area. no more than a few minute walk to the heart of town. well kept facility. staff was attentive, and pleasant. the price was actually lower than comparable hotels in carmel. as a forty years visitor to carmel this hotel rates right up there. for the budget traveler this is your place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Luis Obispo

Nice but not great

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The bathrooms
Cons: Fix the fridges and light switches
Location: Central location close to beaches Big Sur and Monterey
We made the reservation months in advance and the first room we got was small and the fridge froze everything. Our view from our window was a blank wall. The next day we asked for a better room and paid for a upgrade to a suite. It was much better we did have a view of the ocean but the fridge in this room froze everything also. The decor is a little fru=fru and just a little seedy. The light switches are movement controlled so if you are in the shower the bathroom will go dark while your in there. The bathrooms are the best feature nice clean and modern. All in all I have stayed in worse and since we didn't spend that much time in our room it worked for us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

We won't be coming back

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The one plus of this hotel is great location, right by all the Carmel shopping and dining. But that's all.
Cons: Service, decor, commitment to customers.
Location: All the great shopping and dining amenities of Carmel.
Our room was 'decorated' with an odd assortment of vaguely Victorian furniture pieces that were uncomfortable and oddly arranged. The art was hung terribly (usually too high) and the one actually nice piece of art in the room was totally out of place. The bed was nice; the bathroom was just okay but the drain stop didn't function so a bath was out of the question. The proprietor did not lift a finger to address the problem. This is a last-gasp option in Carmel for now on, as far as we are concerned.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upland, CA

Very close to the beach. Romantic.

Posted Aug 2, 2014
My fiancee and I fell more in love with each other. Went to mass at mission...Awesome!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Good location
Cons: Sound proofing Needs more parking
Location: Walk into town for shopping and restaurants
We were in a downstairs Suite. The good points were location close to town and it was clean. Bad points, its an old property and you were able to hear your neighbors snoring, talking, the tv and especially the people upstairs, which meant if they stayed up till midnight, you were up too. Its also a good thing I printed out my Expedia itinerary showing I had prepaid because when I went to check in the Man at the desk told me the room was not paid for wanted my credit card to pay for it. I also ended up parking on the street, which wasn't easy, as unless you get in early all the spaces are taken.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very basic in somewhat overpriced with no air-con.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Location, the hotel is on the edge of the main shopping area, next to the police and fire stations.
Cons: No Air-Con in a hotel room for $250 per night? Really!
Location: Carmel is as great a rest or romance location as everyone says. Minutes from the famed Pebble Beach golf course and 17 Mile Road with all the magic..
The town is beautiful, but if you can save some money and stay in neighbouring towns and get a lot more hotel for your money.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maine

Adequate and clean

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Solid 2-3 stars. New bathroom, old furnishings but clean. Close to shops. Very noisy however with thin walls. Good place for one night but would not stay for several nights.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A European gaudy decorated room

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Check in was fine. Had trouble with TV at first. Very close to 7th and Ocean where most everything could be found. Very walker friendly. Served its purpose of providing a place to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by K.E. from Bellevue, WA

Large suite, close to beach, bars & galleries

Posted Jun 20, 2014
We parked the car and walked everywhere for 3 days. Perfect! High ceilings made the rooms seem huge with lots of comfortable sitting places. Great marble shower, furniture to fit the decor and a comfy king bed made it delightful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cental valley ca

Close to everything

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Overall this is charming little hotel close to everything with nicely renovated bathrooms. Free parking, free Wi Fi and a free continental breakfast are a plus. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to carmel.