Ratings based on 341 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA, Ca.

Beautiful and spacious retreat

Posted Oct 8, 2014
On over 50 acres this retreat has everything from 24 hr pools to spas to horseback riding. The room we stayed in had a gorgeous view of the valley, private balcony and a fireplace. I loved every second of it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect!

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: The rooms are spacious and the views are magnificent bonus!
Location: Golf, wine tasting, dining...
Simply everything you would expect from a first class hotel... from the accommodations to the cuisine. The views are spectacular!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property with a lot to do or just relax.

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Location: You are in the country but only 15 minutes to Carmel-by-the-sea and 15 from the Village in Carmel Valley which has many wine tasting rooms.
Carmel Valley Ranch is a beautiful property.Although the resort was fully booked, it is so large, it never felt crowded. I like the fact that they have a kids pool and adult pool and actually maintain those rules. Spa, food, service were all excellent. You are in the country but only 15 minutes to Carmel-by-the-sea and 15 from the Village in Carmel Valley which has many wine tasting rooms. This was a birthday girls weekend and all of will return for a romantic weekend with our significant others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Wish we had stayed longer

Posted Sep 2, 2014
We were upgraded to a ranch suite when we arrived which was lovely and so spacious. We had a wonderful stay and wished we could have stayed longer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Amazing. Everything was perfect. Staff excellent. Accommodating. Lovely adult pool for some quiet time and perfect kid pool hot tub and fountains...toddler heaven.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Older retreat, good for families

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Gorgeous grounds, very friendly staff, clean, woodsy.
Cons: This place must have been spectacular when it was built. It's showing some of its age - the adult pool, kids pool and lounge chairs could use some TLC
Location: This resort is nestled in the valley - about five miles or so from the beach. Lots of activities on site. Safeway is just outside the gates.
Carmel Valley Ranch Resort was great! The kids had a blast at the family pool (cafe on site, gym, various exercise rooms and classes, locker room, bocce, ping pong, tennis, fire pits) but their favorite part was taking the shuttle from our unit to the pool - it was about a 0.75 mile distance which included a hilly walk. The grounds are absolutely beautiful with deer and wild turkeys around. The nightly s'mores were a big hit as well. The adults-only pool and hot tub (near the lodge) were fantastic. Everyone was super friendly here including other families. Gratuity is included so you aren't inconvenienced by needing cash handy. Lots of activities available at reasonable prices (or complimentary). This is a great old school family style retreat. The restaurant at the Lodge was reasonable priced and tasty
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hollywood

Not what we were expecting

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The lavender was nice, the deer were beautiful, 2 of the employees were very attractive, the guy who drove us to our room on golf cart was great,
Cons: The service to start - amenities in rooms not very good. Should be more ranch and less golf club vibe - rooms not beautiful and too dark
Location: Stay in Big Sur if you can - much better
While checking in, we were given a long winded ( and poorly delivered) explanation of the facilities , while at the same time trying to sell us further service$. The room itself was not very spacious and the view was mainly of tree tops which blocked the valley and golf course ( even though it was meant to be a premium room) There was no service at the pool, the person working front gate did not know where the fitness center was located, and later on the person at the front desk did not know how to turn on jacuzzi. Upon returning from dinner we called ahead to the hotel asking them to open the sofa bed - 30 minutes later it was still not done - so we had to call them again. Sofa bed itself is very uncomfortable . This place presents itself as a posh spa type destination and it's really not. The service is 2 star at best and too family oriented - would prefer an adults only place
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Natalie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from VA

"Did not want to Leave"

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Views, room, trails, pool
Cons: Nada
Location: Dametra restaurant a must do.
Breathtaking views, enjoyed the walking trail, enjoyed blueberry pancakes and bloodies by the pool. Infinity hot tub! Dragged my wife away kicking and screaming :)