Ratings based on 1,417 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Charming and centrally located. Would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverbank, CA

Just ok

Posted Oct 16, 2014
It was our anniversary weekend. The lobby and restaurant was very nice and spacious. Our room, however was very small and dated. We felt exposed when we open our door. The pillows were small, flat and uncomfortable. We thought we got a good deal on the room but realized we paid more than what the room is worth. On the positive side, it forced my husband and I to be out and about.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Clean nice but no air conditioning nice stand up fan provided but power went out for few hours in early AM. Was warm
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OC, California

Only go for the location

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Great location. Close to shops, restaurants, the Aquarium..
Cons: WATER PRESSURE!!!!!!!!!!
Location: Very easy on and off Highway 1. Shops, Cannery Row, aquarium
Had a fabulous trip catching up with friends. I was in charge of finding the hotel. All was great when we arrived. Check-in was a breeze. The ability to park directly in front of our room was a very nice feature. I'm not sure they will put me in charge of choosing a hotel in the near future. The exchange of emails that erupted when we all got ready for dinner was at first entertaining, but by the second day it became more serious. The water pressure in the showers is almost non-existant. I wasted more (precious according to the state of the drought in California) water just trying to rinse the shampoo out of my hair than I want to admit. If there had been better water pressure, I would have used far less water.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2014 by Inns of Monterey, Hotel Management
We are so appreciative of your honest feedback and are very sorry that we fell short of meeting your party’s needs. We hope that you might give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, as we are pleased to share that we are beginning guest room renovations this month. Included in the scope of the renovation will be significant upgrades to the plumbing, flooring, and electrical as well as new insulation and double pane windows. In addition, we will be installing new furniture, 42” inch flat screen televisions, and ceiling fans. Should your travels bring back to Monterey, we would all enjoy providing you with an absolutely wonderful Monterey experience. Sincerely, Management of the Inns of Monterey
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Perfect for Monterey Jazz Festival

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Previously stayed here for a business conference and knew it was a walkable distance to catch the shuttle to the jazz festival. Staff was great, lobby and restaurant area were perfect for morning. Our queen rooms were fairly small but efficient, central air conditioning coming soon we were told but the portable tower air conditioner worked fine for our purposes. Never thought about the bed and pillow-just climbed in and found it very comfortable!!! Always a plus-I would stay here again for the same reasons.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2014 by Inns of Monterey, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. As an official hotel sponsor of the Monterey Jazz Festival, we are overjoyed to receive such wonderful feedback detailing your experiences. We were so glad that you were able to return for leisure this time and that our property ended up being the perfect location to enjoy the Monterey Jazz Festival. We hope to see you next year and look forward to having you experience all the exciting upcoming changes. Sincerely, Management of the Inns of Monterey
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Valley of California

Bathroom / lack of freezer / no breakfast

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Location, but that doesn't make it right to skimp on simple accommodations.
Cons: Fan in bathroom shower area Freezer compartments in frigs Continental breakfasts
Location: Biking Good food
There was NO fan in the bathroom!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Couldn't stand to be in there to put my makeup on or blow dry my hair, so I had to bring the noise of the bathroom out into where my husband was trying to read. no chance of him watching TV, either when i had to blow dry my hair outside the bathroom. No freezer compartment available, either!!! We bring refreezeable ice packs to put back into our cooler for our stuff we like to keep frozen, so this was a big inconvenience. AND NO CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST!!!! For the amount of money we had to pay for our room, these three things seemed very lacking in your accommodations. These are simple accommodations that we find in cheaper hotels. We had to book this hotel because we found no others available. Whenever we return to the area and have a choice, we will remember your lack of accommodations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2014 by Inns of Monterey, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for visiting Casa Munras. We are all disappointed that your stay did not meet your needs and are so sorry for the seeming miscommunication regarding the services and amenities we offer at our property. It is certainly a top priority of ours to ensure that our website descriptors are accurate and that our reservations staff fully communicates the services, amenities, and room accommodations we offer. However, we realize that when booking through another channel these descriptors may not be seen or communicated. We regret this gap in communication are genuinely sorry that we were unable to provide you with a more enjoyable Monterey experience. Sincerely, Management of the Inns of Monterey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lebanon, PA

California vacation

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Near the pier in Monterey
Traveling the coastal highway and stopped in Monterey, very nice hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs,ca

quaint,cozy but well updated. Close to everything

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: The location, the restaurant and the staff were super
Quick check in. Helpful staff, wonderful bed. Very efficent and well done grounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Everything was great. One minor complaint--we asked for a wake up call and never got it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burbank, CA

Nice hotel walking distance to almost everything

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Excellent staff, walking distance to all Monterey attractions, pet friendly, fireplace in the room, free DVD rentals.
Cons: Add central air to the rooms. Did have a portable AC unit though. Internet/Wifi was free but a bit slow.
Location: About a 10 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf, and about 20-25 minute walk to Cannery Row and the Aquarium.
Stayed for two nights with my wife for our anniversary weekend. The room was clean and spacious with a king bed, a fireplace and plenty of room to walk around a stretch out. The staff was all very friendly from the front desk to the in house restaurant. Really close to a lot of really good restaurants and a a short walk to most all the major attractions that Monterey has to offer. My wife and I really enjoyed out stay here and would come back.