Ratings based on 1,621 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I love this hotel but...

Posted Dec 18, 2014
The staff is a little lackluster, they used to be super friendly and engage in dialogue with me, I have staying here for years. They are renovating for the next year....I feel like the spa should be included as part of the stay..not spa services but the spa.....I am losing my faith in this being my favorite place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Downtown Monterey Hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: The second room was comfortable and quiet.
Cons: Update the rooms and more closely supervise the maids.
The staff at the front desk were very outgoing and generous in their offers to help with directions, restaurant recommendations, etc. The first room we were given was unacceptable. The carpet was very dirty and worn , the furniture was old and chipped and stained, and the room was extremely musty. I picked up a strange object from the carpet and could not identify it. It may have been a large dried out centipede-like worm; we were not sure. The second room was better. It, too, had some issues. The chair by the entrance had something splashed and smeared on its seat cushion. The furniture showed its age, but it did have a flat screen TV- the first room had an old tube TV.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SF

Really convenient location for downtown

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: it was quiet, clean and really convenient
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Cooper-Molera House, French Hotel
If you want to stay Downtown and there are things to do there and be out of the Cannery Row area, this is a good place to stay. Easy walk downtown to local shops and restaurants. Very near the Cooper-Molera Adobe which is a wonderful house to see. Budget cuts mean there is not always a guide available but the docents are well versed too. There is a Trader Joe's a block away, nice cafe across street. I try to find other places to eat than the hotel as I like to try lots of places when visiting. There were lots of people eating in the place so made it at least companionable
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Did I get my money's worth?

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: Room was clean and quiet.
Cons: Staff was friendly - but only superficially. We felt like she had something else on her mind or had been at the same job WAY too long?
Location: Aquarium was EXPENSIVE but worth it! Cannery row has gotten SO touristy. Lots of fast-food restaurants - took a while to find a local (cheaper)spot.
Room was nice/clean. Front staff was lackadaisical. Nothing was ever ready - coffee/water in lobby, etc. We felt like we could have stayed in a cheaper hotel and gotten better service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2014 by Inns of Monterey, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It has always been our mission to provide our guests with a welcoming atmosphere and we are sincerely sorry that your check in experience was less than entirely wonderful, as we constantly strive to provide personalized and attentive service. Rest assured that your feedback will be shared with our Front Desk Manager for further review. We truly hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to provide you with the warm welcoming hospitality that we are known for. Thank you again for your detailed feedback as it will truly be used to help us improve. Sincerely, Management of the Inns of Monterey
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Madera ca

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Very cozy. Walking distance to restaurants and wharf. Only negatives were parking being a hassle due to construction and walls a little thin.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Joaquin Valley

Nice hotel a reasonable walk from most sites

Posted Dec 8, 2014
The hotel is comfortable, easy checkin, helpful employees and best of all, only about a 10-15 minute walk from the wharf. Rooms are a bit small but we didn't come to hang out in the room. Only complaint I have is the noise from other guests upstairs apparently having a pro wrestling match and others stomping up and down the stairs. Would definitely ask for an upstairs room next time. All in all a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Courteous staff. Historic hotel undergoing renovation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Inglewood, CA

Anniversary getaway

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: The location was good.
Cons: Front desk customer service speed and skills to make it a good experience from the moment we arrive in lobby.
Location: You can go to Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, whale watching, ice skating during fall/winter.
As soon as we got in line to check-in I was very disappointed with the staff at the front desk. The guy was chit-chatting too much with the couple in front of us and we waited for about 15 minutes until someone else came to help. The front desk guy didn't even say "I'll be with you guys soon." He was giving that couple awesome customer service but to the extent of making the rest of us in line, upset, frustrated, and annoyed. The guy that did come get us check-in was helpful and did not take long to get the process done. One con to this experience, besides long wait at check-in, was the lack of parking due to construction. We had to park far from our room and take our luggage and carry it upstairs (no elevators) to our room. The location is great but they do need to update hotel and train staff on having overall great customer services with ALL clients.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lodi, CA

Staff/Parking/Condition of Hotel Property

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Upon completion of the remodel, I am sure this will be a fine property.
Cons: Hotel staff should be more aware and take action to supervise parking and small children especially during construction.
Location: The property is near several shopping and eating establishments.
The cleaning and maintenance staff should not use the Handicap parking stalls to park their service vehicles. This takes away from those that need these spaces. (across from the maintenance office) I don't see where you notified guests that the property was under considerable construction phases when making reservations. Knowing this in advance would have impacted the cost/value. Unfortunately there were several unattended children running throughout the hallways. Even though the noise stopped before 9:00 p.m., the doors slamming shook nearby rooms. I rented two rooms and was surprised of the significant difference in quality and size between the two.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sonoma, CA

Less expensive hotel for attending a conference.

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: Price, people, ambiance.
Cons: Accoustics were bad...people in my tiny wing of 4 rooms sounded like they were in my room when their door was open.
Location: Downtown, 1.5 mile from Cannery Row
Arrived in the dark and not a clue where it was...the clerk guided me in on cell phone with wit and a keen sense of direction. Rooms very nice but buildings are poorly sound-proofed...across hall party had to talk for about an hour with their group before shutting the door. Accoustics of people walking near room very loud. Otherwise, lower cost, very clean, comfortable. Parking difficult as doing some major renovation. Very large hotel/motel. Outdoor accommodations at restaurant very nice. Also a Denny's and a Thai Restaurant directly across the street. The people at Denny's are having a good time and if you are a breakfast at night person, they do it well. I'd give Munras 3.5 with good value for your money. I paid half of the price for the room than my conference mates on Cannery Row. If you are an up and at 'em person go here and hang there. If you are a sleep til noon and look at the ocean from your room person, go to Cannery Row and stay.