Ratings based on 1,688 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom SF, CA

Ant problem

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Hotel staff was pleasant. We had a first floor room which was small but adequate. The rooms and furniture are a little tired but the bed was pretty comfortable. Carpets were vacuumed but looked like they could use a steam cleaning. My big complaint was a steady stream of Ants that stayed with us in the room. We put out some dry dog food in a bowl and it was quickly overrun by ants. It was frustrating since we also had a newborn, were feeding her formula and essentially had to keep her bottle from sitting on the tabletops very long for fear of attracting the ants. I didn't complain to the front desk because we didn't really feel like repacking everything to move to another room. I'm sure many other rooms have ants because the door jambs are not well sealed with ample space for bugs to crawl in. Only other complaint was the parking situation. Very crowded on Sat night - likely not all spots were guests since they don't have placards to denote guest vehicles. We had to park quite a distance away which made loading our crib and other stuff a pain in the butt upon checkout. Wouldn't stay here again. I'd rather pay less and stay at the Motel 6 in Monterey. Much better value.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Very old room. No lifts. Parking is far from rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Great deal and ver well-maintained. Convenient location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2015
very nice great location, i deffinatly will tell others
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: The location seemed good. Walking distance to all the sights.
Cons: Don't put hotel guests in the rooms adjacent to construction sites.
The hotel had a lot of promise, but our room was in a terrible location. We were directly adjacent to a construction site at the hotel and had to endure all the noise that goes with it (shouting, chainsaw, hammering, loud music, etc). That was during the day. At night, there was a really loud piece of equipment running next to our room ( a fan, maybe?) that made the most terrible high pitch noise all through the night. So we did not find this hotel very relaxing at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Brentwood, CA

Hotel In Need of some Loving Care.

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: See what I wrote earlier about our experience.
Cons: Same thing; see what I wrote under "Write about your Experience."
Location: Nothing to convey as we weren't there to participate in tourist type activities.
Our recent two night stay was alright except the first room we were given had a musty mildew smell. We thought perhaps moving from a first floor room to one upstairs would help but it too had the same smell. We opened the window to catch a cross breeze which helped plus we used the stand up air purifier that was conveniently stored in the room closet (leading us to think they already knew about the moldy odor [not good for guests with respiratory issues like asthma]). Our beds were super comfortable with nice duvets and lots of pillows, so no complaint there. Parking our car was tricky because hotel parking spaces were limited due to some sort of construction taking place. We adored/enjoyed meals at a small unique organic cafe called "The Wild Plum" located across the street from the hotel (recommended by friends) so we never tried the hotel restaurant however we did order a glass of wine one evening and it was fine. The cafe latte we ordered each morning at The Wild Plum was rich and velvety (a wake up treat!). The hotel staff were very pleasant. We happily give them five stars. The hotel grounds were well maintained (blooming flowers, grass, a fountain, etc.). We didn't spend much time in our room so no harm done but if you want Marriott Hotel type ambiance, or an upscale boutique hotel, this probably isn't the best place for you however the Expedia price was reasonable and other than the moldy odor and dated bathroom it was doable/livable for a few nights stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2015 by InnsofMonterey, Hotel Management
We are very appreciative of your review and are pleased to share that we are in the process of phase one of extensive guest room renovations, with 32 rooms being fully renovated by mid-March and three additional buildings by mid-May. The scope of the renovation plan for the guest rooms include upgrades to the plumbing and electrical systems, and significant upgrades to the insulation in the walls and ceiling. We will also be installing double pane windows and all new furniture, flooring, 42” flat screen televisions, ceiling fans and air conditioning in many buildings. We hope that the items included in our guest room renovations will address your room concerns and that you will be pleased with the final product. Sincerely, Management of the Inns of Monterey
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Friendly staff, room was very clean and even has a fireplace inside the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Millbrae, California

Decent hotel close to everything.

Posted Mar 7, 2015
My wife and I spent three nights at Casa Munras. This was our second time to stay here. The first time, we upgraded to a large corner room with a king bed and fireplace. This time we settled for what we had reserved: a standard cozy queen without a fireplace. The room was clean but the carpets seemed old and musty so we just kept the windows open a lot. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We didn't use the pool but it looks very nice and clean. We used the fitness room daily, which had minimal equipment but adequate. It was also very clean. The Spanish restaurant on the property is nice and has outdoor patio seating and a fire pit to sit around. We had dessert and coffee there one night during their dessert happy hour (buy one, get one free) and we really enjoyed it. There were some landscapers or renovators outside one morning who were talking quite loud. A few of the hotel guests were quite loud as well. We asked one lady to please talk and smoke somewhere other than near our window. The other guests were yelling and we had to call the front desk. It got quiet right away. What we like most about staying here is that the price is reasonable for the area, the location works for us because it's close to downtown and there are plenty of things to do and plenty of places to eat all within walking distance. The rooms are not excellent but adequate. Would we stay there again? Sure, but we do hope they change or deep-clean the carpets!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom martinez, california usa

was close to the convention center for a kiwanis

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: ambience
Cons: tv log regarding the channels
Location: like i said. it was close to convention center for a kiwanis district conference
was a nice place.. would you please send me a copy of the invoice. !!!!!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom o

Setting nod hotel theme

Posted Mar 2, 2015
I like the hotel theme and the rooms are nice. The hotel was close to shops around downtown area.