Ratings based on 1,392 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Everything was great. One minor complaint--we asked for a wake up call and never got it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burbank, CA

Nice hotel walking distance to almost everything

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Excellent staff, walking distance to all Monterey attractions, pet friendly, fireplace in the room, free DVD rentals.
Cons: Add central air to the rooms. Did have a portable AC unit though. Internet/Wifi was free but a bit slow.
Location: About a 10 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf, and about 20-25 minute walk to Cannery Row and the Aquarium.
Stayed for two nights with my wife for our anniversary weekend. The room was clean and spacious with a king bed, a fireplace and plenty of room to walk around a stretch out. The staff was all very friendly from the front desk to the in house restaurant. Really close to a lot of really good restaurants and a a short walk to most all the major attractions that Monterey has to offer. My wife and I really enjoyed out stay here and would come back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the room rate

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Dirty and uncomfortable. Poor WiFi even though it was free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2014
It was a great experience. Highly recommended, however did have a little difficulty finding it tbh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

They were very accommodating. Nice clean room.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Loved the happy hour choices. Staff was helpful and knowledgeable of the surrounding area's
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything in Monterey

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: The staff were all really helpful. The common areas were nicely decorated. The snack bar in the lobby was a hit with my kids. We loved bike access.
Cons: The rooms could use some improvements and the bathrooms really need new faucets. We could not get any hot water at 10:00am in the morning.
We arrived later in the evening and were glad to know we could take food from the restaurant to our rooms. The staff were courteous and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Found this hotel on Expedia and it turned out to be a great hotel. Had a really nice outdoor area with firepit and a really nice pool. Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Just Somewhere to stay in Monterrey

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The lobby/restaurant is nice but loud at night.
Cons: Reduce the price to match hotel.
Location: Your basic Monterrey tourist things to do, Fihserman's Wharf & Cannery Row. Kids love Dennis the Menace Park. Alvarado Street shops/restaurants
Okay for one night stay. It is close to Alvarado Street shops/restaurants. The rooms and furniture inside the rooms are a bit outdated. The lobby decor is nice compared to the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Fab. Location is epic. Staff, lovely. Will def stay again next time we're in town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

thin walls and plugged drains

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Cons: tub drains unclogged, thicker walls, more respectful cleaning staff
The hotel staff were very friendly and hotel was an easy walk to the beach and Fisherman's Wharf. The walls were very thin, the tub plugged when trying to have a shower, cleaning people knocked at 8:30am to clean the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by Inns of Monterey, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our central location and found our beds to be so comfortable, however, we were all disappointed to find out that your stay was not entirely enjoyable. It is very important to us that our guests feel welcomed and are very sorry you were not greeted in a friendlier manner during the check in process. As you mentioned, we are trying very hard to bring back the luster of Casa Munras after recently purchasing this hotel and will be investing 4 million dollars into upcoming guest room renovations, which will begin in October. We currently have two model rooms complete, which will serve as a template for the continuation of the renovations. We hope that you will consider staying with us in the future so that we might have the opportunity to restore your positive attitude regarding our hotel. Sincerely, Management of the Inns of Monterey