Ratings based on 778 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in need of updating

Posted Apr 23, 2015
I HAVE BEEN COMING TO THE CHAMINADE for at least 20 years to visit my family in Santa Cruz I have made the same suggestions for all my years The rooms are too small There is NO place to put your personal cosmetic and cleaning items anywhere in the bathroom NO counter space It is still straight out of the 1970's----- There is STILL NO BAR---for a fairly expensive hotel, they give you few amenities The restaurant is expensive…….. The place is beautiful and charming but the Hotel itself needs improving
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

gorgeous Hotel and grounds!

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: style, old school, California...
Cons: bathroom shower, old & outdated. Hand held thing didn't work, lighting all florescent.
Love the style of this place; it's gorgeous and old school, similar to Four Seasons in Santa Barbara but smaller and not so posh.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom san francisco

Don't waste your money

Posted Apr 13, 2015
A sad hotel and total ripoff. Small, dirty, uncomfortable rooms. No parking. Laughable "pool". No fridge or safe in rooms at a self proclaimed highend resort? Really? Read all the reviews, it is as bad as they all say.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom pleasanton ca

Resort fee hell!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Pretty drive up to the resort.
Cons: Re decorate ,soundproof rooms and update windows so you can't hear the plane flight path your in.
Location: beautiful area once you pass the cemetery. Close to ocean and hiking areas.
Old 70'decor. Sound proofing needs upgrades between rooms! And if you want to eat on site you get to be surprised with a $30 resort fee on top of the $100 bill for appetizer 2 drinks and salads if you make reservations through Expedia! Food and service great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2015
i asked for room with a view and i was given one facing the pool not the forest. a little bit disappointing, but it is ok we were just there for the night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Quiet resort, comfy bed. A little overpriced over all. $30 daily resort fee seems a little excessive. Older rooms
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom newport beach, ca

Chamimade

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Santa Cruz is not that great first of all. It's not a clean place. This was one of the nicer hotels there but it needs maintenance. I could hear rats in the walls at night. The rooms are decorated in 70s decor, or haven't been updated since the 70s. They charge a lot compared to what you would get in other cities. Stay in Monterey if you can. Staff is very friendly, though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Beautiful scenery, perfect place to relax! Food was great both breakfast and dinner with an overview of santa cruz. Bed wasn't to comftroble but then again we have a themperpedic. overall good beautiful resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel experience in Santa Cruz

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Beautiful wooded campus. Rooms are modern spacious and clean. Very comfortable beds with outstanding linen. Was only a short stay so we did not get to enjoy everything the hotel has to offer. Will be going back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Perfect location and staff

Posted Feb 23, 2015
First time staying here and it was such a great experience. Wil defiantly go back.