Ratings based on 795 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2015
Cons: The room walls. Very thin. We stayed in room 103. Guests above got up at 7AM and it was impossible to sleep after that.
I had a great time with my 5 year old. We stayed in the first building next to the reception. The property is very large and provides everything we needed. Good food, pool area, great brunch on Sunday morning, etc...
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Pebble Beach, CA

The worst hotel experience we have ever had!

Posted May 24, 2015
As background, we have traveled extensively and stayed in many different hotels throughout the world, and this was by far our worst hotel experience. The rooms and common areas were filthy and looked like they hadn't been updated since the 70's. The hot tub wad luke warm and had brownish stains everywhere, and the food in the restaurant was by far the worst that we have experienced in our travels. Bottom line - DO NOT STAY HERE!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom san francisco

eWorld not recommend

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: Landscaping. Outdoor deck with views
Cons: Rooms
Location: Good location
We found the hotel to be very expensive for what it offered. The rooms are glorified motel rooms with tiny bathrooms. The spa fee of thirty dollars per person per day is high for what is offered. The complex is spread out and disjointed. There is a nice restaurant terrace and the landscaping in very well done.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in need of updating

Posted Apr 23, 2015
I HAVE BEEN COMING TO THE CHAMINADE for at least 20 years to visit my family in Santa Cruz I have made the same suggestions for all my years The rooms are too small There is NO place to put your personal cosmetic and cleaning items anywhere in the bathroom NO counter space It is still straight out of the 1970's----- There is STILL NO BAR---for a fairly expensive hotel, they give you few amenities The restaurant is expensive…….. The place is beautiful and charming but the Hotel itself needs improving
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

gorgeous Hotel and grounds!

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: style, old school, California...
Cons: bathroom shower, old & outdated. Hand held thing didn't work, lighting all florescent.
Love the style of this place; it's gorgeous and old school, similar to Four Seasons in Santa Barbara but smaller and not so posh.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom san francisco

Don't waste your money

Posted Apr 13, 2015
A sad hotel and total ripoff. Small, dirty, uncomfortable rooms. No parking. Laughable "pool". No fridge or safe in rooms at a self proclaimed highend resort? Really? Read all the reviews, it is as bad as they all say.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom pleasanton ca

Resort fee hell!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Pretty drive up to the resort.
Cons: Re decorate ,soundproof rooms and update windows so you can't hear the plane flight path your in.
Location: beautiful area once you pass the cemetery. Close to ocean and hiking areas.
Old 70'decor. Sound proofing needs upgrades between rooms! And if you want to eat on site you get to be surprised with a $30 resort fee on top of the $100 bill for appetizer 2 drinks and salads if you make reservations through Expedia! Food and service great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2015
i asked for room with a view and i was given one facing the pool not the forest. a little bit disappointing, but it is ok we were just there for the night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Quiet resort, comfy bed. A little overpriced over all. $30 daily resort fee seems a little excessive. Older rooms
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom newport beach, ca

Chamimade

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Santa Cruz is not that great first of all. It's not a clean place. This was one of the nicer hotels there but it needs maintenance. I could hear rats in the walls at night. The rooms are decorated in 70s decor, or haven't been updated since the 70s. They charge a lot compared to what you would get in other cities. Stay in Monterey if you can. Staff is very friendly, though.