Ratings based on 638 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Needs paint

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Arrived late at night. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Each "villa" has assigned block number which is not lit at all and very hard to see. Made two laps through the completely full lot to locate our building. Had to unload my tired family and luggage into roadway to haul in. Then to park 1/4 mile away to hike back to room. Room needs paint and and small repairs. Walls were thin enough to hear all the dogs yapping and the herd of drunk buffalo that came in at 3 am and their ensuing party upstairs. No refrigerator in room as well. For $300 I was less than impressed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Chaminade Resort & Spa is misrepresented.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Nothing, I highly recommend avoiding this place.
Cons: Everything!!!!!!!!!!
Location: Mostly homeless people ranting and yelling. Of course there is the beach but here too many homeless make the place not very enjoyable.
This was the most overpriced and disappointing hotel I have ever stayed in. After extensive travel for the past 20 years this is really saying something. The spa services are grossly/extremely overpriced. The rooms are not much better than a Motel 6. The website greatly misrepresents the actual quality of the rooms and property in general. Do not be fooled keep looking....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice place

Posted Aug 18, 2014
It's a nice place to stay. It's set back in the hills a little which adds to it's beauty. The grounds are nice and surrounded by trees. There are a couple of hiking trails on the property, which was cool. The view from the bar and grill is amazing on a clear day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Anniversary weekend

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Clean, calm, serene atmosphere... lots of room in the room.
Cons: small mini fridges for the rooms. we brought some health items that we had to throw away not knowing there wasn't one provided.
The facility was really nice and clean! The staff wasn't the most helpful, we asked about going downtown after our dinner there and they gave us 2 places to go that they disagreed about. They told us 'sorry there isn't much'.... Just wasn't what we expected from the staff, although we understand now there isn't much to offer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

So So

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Swimming pool was great. Room was not bad but, I saw lots of black feathers out side of window. It was made me with bad feeling.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The 70th and 40th BD Santa Cruz Get Away

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: The grounds are lovely.
Cons: Rooms need upgrading. Staff training, w/attention to detail, whether it be large or small, regarding guests. Thoughtfulness and kindness go a LONG way
Location: Anniglass, Gayle's Bakery & Café, Lundburg Glass Studio, Wilder Ranch, Seabright Restaurant (breakfast) El Postal (dinner) MacKenzies Chocolates
This was to be a BD get away for me and my daughter. We had lived in the Santa Cruz Mountains for 20 years, so this was going down memory lane for both of us. I had called Chaminade to confirm our reservation, and mentioned the BD get away, upon arrival and checking in, no one said it's so very nice to have you both here with us, and hope you enjoy your stay & celebrating your BD's. It would have been so very nice, and such a simple thing to do, if someone at the front desk would have said something thoughtful regarding this. We found our room to be just okay. Melissa (at the front desk) told us that she was giving us a nice quiet room, and it clearly was not. The room backed up to one of the roads at Chaminade, with traffic going back and forth at late hours, and garbage trucks making their early morning rounds. The room rate for two queen beds, at a four star hotel, clearly wasn't what it should have been, & a big disappointment to both of us. There was also an extra $25 per day, resort charge added on, which I paid upon checking out. Upon checking out, I mentioned that it would have been nice, if someone had wished us a happy BD get together, and Melissa, said to me, well we have some new people on staff. I told her that they should be informed about little details like this, that make a persons stay a lot more enjoyable/memorable. There is also no elevator to the rooms upstairs, only stairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clovis, CA

Great place to stay!!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Santa Cruz!
We enjoyed our stay and wish we could have stayed longer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from valley

cant wait to return

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: the property
Cons: check in when busy
this place was so beautiful we had a wonderful 20 th anniversary here and we cant wait to return. couples massage was awesome
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S.

Awesome

Posted Aug 1, 2014
When we got out of the car the first think we smelled was the fresh air. The rooms were great and the breakfast was to die for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This is a really great place to stay w/kids too.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Great staff, nice pool area, excellent bar and patio service, great views, peaceful setting.
Cons: The outside patio upstairs in our building didn't have any furniture or plants or anything. Ambiance could be better in the rooms.
Location: Close to everything including the freeway.
When we arrived with our group of 4 adults and 2 children we were told there was only one room on our reservation. I had my printout from Expedia showing 2 rooms. The staff was extremely polite and offered for us to go have a drink and appetizer, on the house, while they worked on finding us another room. By the time we were done with our snack and drinks, they called me on my cell to say they had two rooms for us and they even got them next to each other as we had requested. Nice Save! The pool area was great and the kids loved it. You do have to take towels from your room, even though I read on another review that you don't. The rooms are comfortable and clean- no as fancy as I expected, but perfectly adequate. Overall a wonderful setting and a great staff. The views from the restaurant, bar and fire pit are worth the stay on their own.