Ratings based on 644 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Great location!

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The staff was very friendly and the hotel is in a quiet, convenient location.
Cons: The mattresses were a little firm although acceptable.
Location: Fisherman's Wharf, Big Sur, Point Pinos Lighthouse, Carmel, Pacific Grove, Cannery Row, Santa Cruz Boardwalk... Lots of great things to do and see!
Colton Inn is in a quiet location just a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. Parking is a little tight in the parking lot, but there's more parking curbside. Overall, our experience at Colton Inn was great. We would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chuck from Ontario

Good value for the price

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Quiet, clean, great location, comfortable bed
Location: Beautiful beaches, visited Salinas and the John Steinbeck museum - impressive Big Sur drive to the Hearst Castle, then back on Hwy 46 and 101 N.
Great location - walk to downtown and the wharf, also a close drive to a decent size shopping mall with restaurants, movies & Macy's. This hotel is on a quiet street - it is right beside the city library. Older but clean hotel, good parking, all the basics including free wi-fi, fridge, microwave, quiet room - big windows that you can open to tree top breezes. Good selection of free DVD's and their coffee and breakfast made mornings easy. Loved the back deck - had a glass a wine each night and listened to news from home on my tablet. It doesn't have a pool but otherwise it is an OK walk or drive to amazing beaches. Expedia offered the best rate and the process was easy and accurate. Would book again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin from Norwich England

Monterey hotel stay

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff and room was clean and ample. Easy parking out front and a short walk to Fishermans wharf .
Cons: No air conditioning but because it wasn't super hot this was ok for us,maybe an issue in the height of summer
Location: A short walk down to the pier and a free,yes free trolley bus takes you up to the aquarium and Cannery Row which was brilliant .wonderful place,loved
Hotel was easy to find from the highway and although we arrived early it was no trouble to go almost straight to the room.Free maps of Monterey available in the lobby very helpful and both desk attendants I spoke with were very pleasant and helpful. Room was clean and big enough.Breakfast was able and served in the lobby so it was either back to the room to eat or out on the decking out back of the hotel.Overall I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Nice hotel, good location and clean rooms. I gave staff a just OK review because apparently the manager was having a bad weekend and took it out on staff, one behind the counter and one over the phone and a little short with a guest calling in, sure I do not know the whole story but his criticism could have been done alone or at least while guests were not able to listen. Other than that a nice place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lydia

Nice central location.

Posted Jun 15, 2014
We wanted a clean hotel with comfortable beds and central in Monterey. The Colton in delivered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BD

Great value. Near downtown.

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Good quality for price.
Cons: Could hear when room next door was using shower, but otherwise quiet. No hearing or air conditioning in room but had a fireplace and ceiling fan.
Nice sized, clean, modern room with comfortable bed. Hotel is on a quiet street but near downtown. Breakfast was minimal and lobby small but could take food to room or patio in back if weather is good. Even better, the hotel is just a minutes walk from a Peet's coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room

Posted May 31, 2014
Everything was great! But the shower sucked. The head did not spray well. Other than that, we LOVED our stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by flick from perth, australia

Great hotel

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: The warm and friendly vibe/atmosphere
Cons: Nil
Location: Easy drive out of town to do the coastal drive down big sur and the wharf/pier was also only a mike away.
This place was awesome, would happily stay there again. It had such a warm and friendly vibe to it, the staff were chatty and helpful. They provided snacks at the reception that you could help yourself to all the time, the room was comfortable and more than I was expecting for their hotel rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Time from Traveler

Good for downtown attractions

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean room, friendly stuff. No air conditioning, although they claim that it is there. Next to the library. Parking is ample, and some of it is covered, too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wes from Citrus Heights Ca.

Nice quiet location.

Posted May 26, 2014
Location: Near Cannery Row, Aquarium and Fishermen's Warf.
We had a very nice visit to Monterey and the Colton provided a great place to relax after a long day of adventure. Nice quiet location for unwinding. Would stay there again.