Ratings based on 676 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel a few blocks from anything in Monterey!

Posted Sep 26, 2014
My room at the Colton Inn was clean and comfortable. My room was on the outside corner and so I had a little more noise than I would have liked. There is a large patio with tables and umbrellas so you can eat your continental breakfast or bring in a meal to eat. Or, you can sit outside to enjoy the wonderful trees and feel the breeze on your face! The staff was very helpful and pleasant to the guests. If you're looking for a full-service hotel, this would not be your choice as there is no restaurant. The Colton Inn is located just a few blocks from the business area of Monterey. There is a wonderful choice of restaurants of all price ranges and many ethnicities. Check-in and check out were easily accomplished. Bottom line, if you're expecting the Ritz, please check in at one. If you'd like to stay at a nice little hotel for a more reasonable rate, I think you'll be happy at The Colton Inn.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom atlanta

just ok

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: location. close to downtown(short walk)
Cons: rooms need to be updated. metal fireplace was all that was wrong from the 70's.
Location: short walk to downtown food bars and shops, long walk or short drive to fishermen waft and bayside parks. short drive to canery row. Dunes state park
The location was good, the place was clean but dated. For example the room had a over stuffed leather chair, very comfable but it also had wear spots aand 4 each split. The staff was not freindly but got the job done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom London

Nice hotel not far from centre

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Pleasant staff. Good sized room. Very clean. Snacks including tea and coffee self service every pm and self service continental breakfast excellent.
Cons: Lighting in room. Only lamps so quite dark
Location: Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row. Saw sea lions. There are whale watching trips, nice restaurant and bars.
Made to feel very welcome. Easy to find. Was most impressed by supply of afternoon snacks _ cookies, which were included in the room rate and self service. Also tea and coffee.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

REASONABLE LOCATION

Posted Sep 5, 2014
THE HOTEL NEEDS TO INVEST IN SCREENS THAT ACTUALLY ARE MADE FOR THE WINDOWS AS NONE OF THE SREENS FIT AND YOU NEEDED TO OPEN THE WINDOWS AS THERE WAS NO AIR CONDITIONING
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, CA

Not Worth the High Ratings

Posted Sep 3, 2014
My husband and I saw high ratings for this hotel so we chose to stay there for our anniversary weekend. The location wasn't within walking distance of Cannery Row as it says. But it is a short and easy drive. The location is nice in that it's away from the hussle and bustle of the tourist area. However, it's across the street from a fire station! Luckily they never ran their sirens, but just the sounds from the station were loud. And there was construction at the hotel. The bed was the worst part. I still have a crick in my neck. It was very hard. The mattress was like a trampoline. Any time one of us moved the other person got bounced around. We got very little sleep. Whenever someone ran water in their room it sounded like a fog horn, minus a few decimals. The staff was friendly. The rooms were very clean. It was fairly inexpensive for the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfect

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: ya…my stay a couple days longer
Location: Catch the trollies to all the places to see…….get up early and head to the fishery….very interesting.
The staff was very friendly. Two blocks from town. Absolutely loved the beds. Very quiet, quaint place. It wasn't a very elaborate place, but for a relaxing vacation…it was great. Loved the "COOKIE HOUR"…..Thanks Colton Inn…….PS-I never give a great review of any hotel, this was the first for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent and reasonably priced for Monterey

Posted Aug 18, 2014
If you don't mind the 15 min walk down to the wharf this is a good option. Nothing fancy but good rooms and pleasant staff. Bfast is a bit crowded but at least its included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Yorkshire, UK

Short walk to Fisherman's Wharf

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Clean, roomy, decent decor, covered parking right next to room, excellent location just 5 minutes from main area.
Location: Close to thw wharf and all the attractions
A pleasant surprise after the first hotel in LA.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and reasonably basic

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Good staff on reception. DVDs for free selection. Room was ok, but we did get two double beds that worked for our one night stay as we are a family. Breakfast was a stroll to reception to pick up what you wanted... not great, but it was just about ok.