Ratings based on 656 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great place with comfy bed. Only complaint was the blanket. There wasn't a comforter but more like a homeless shelter blanket.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by jaydgee2 from Garden Grove

Good Location and Quiet

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were very impressed with the cleanliness and size of the room. Great beds and our room had a nice view of a "green" area of trees. Very tranquil. The only thing that could have been nicer was the bathroom, which was in need of paint. Very nice continental breakfast and afternoon snacks included. We walked to the wharf for dinners, but it is about a half mile. Overall, a very nice stay. Would return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for just one night, so it was bearable. The hotel had dirty carpets in the hallways and in the room. Although the showers were hot, they were hard to use. The location is walking distance from Fisherman's Wharf, but it's on the outskirts and there are homeless people nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Nice hotel, good location and clean rooms. I gave staff a just OK review because apparently the manager was having a bad weekend and took it out on staff, one behind the counter and one over the phone and a little short with a guest calling in, sure I do not know the whole story but his criticism could have been done alone or at least while guests were not able to listen. Other than that a nice place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lydia

Nice central location.

Posted Jun 15, 2014
We wanted a clean hotel with comfortable beds and central in Monterey. The Colton in delivered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BD

Great value. Near downtown.

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Good quality for price.
Cons: Could hear when room next door was using shower, but otherwise quiet. No hearing or air conditioning in room but had a fireplace and ceiling fan.
Nice sized, clean, modern room with comfortable bed. Hotel is on a quiet street but near downtown. Breakfast was minimal and lobby small but could take food to room or patio in back if weather is good. Even better, the hotel is just a minutes walk from a Peet's coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room

Posted May 31, 2014
Everything was great! But the shower sucked. The head did not spray well. Other than that, we LOVED our stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by flick from perth, australia

Great hotel

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: The warm and friendly vibe/atmosphere
Cons: Nil
Location: Easy drive out of town to do the coastal drive down big sur and the wharf/pier was also only a mike away.
This place was awesome, would happily stay there again. It had such a warm and friendly vibe to it, the staff were chatty and helpful. They provided snacks at the reception that you could help yourself to all the time, the room was comfortable and more than I was expecting for their hotel rating.