Ratings based on 638 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Wonderful location! Short driving distance to beach and aquarium! Friendly staff. Nice breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, California

Pleasant Hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Worth every bit of money it cost to stay here.
Cons: New mattresses.
Location: 5 minutes from Monterey Aquarium. 5 minutes from the beach. Shopping right across the street. Dennis the Menance park is hop/skip/jump close by.
Friendly, welcoming, helpful staff. Warm, clean pool. Updated, comfortable rooms. Mattresses are a bit saggy and worn out, but loved the comforter instead of the usual "blankets." Abundant breakfast bar. Will definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2014 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the five star review CrazyCalParents! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Comfort Inn. We appreciate you kind compliments of our friendly staff. They join me in thanking you! I'm sorry you were not a fan of our mattresses, but I'm pleased to hear you loved our comforter. We are so glad to hear you will be staying with us again in the future! We look forward to your next visit! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay overnight or a few days!

Posted Dec 17, 2014
We arrived after driving in a storm for 3 hrs, the woman at the front desk checked us in quickly and was very sweet. She gave us dinner suggestions and ideas for things to do with little ones on a rainy day! The room was very clean and had a microwave and refrigerator, plus they serve a hot breakfast (eggs, sausage, waffles, fruit, etc). We would definitely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2014 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
I'm so glad you made it safely to our hotel! It sounds like you had quite the memorable drive. I'm pleased to hear we were able to get you into a comfortable room quickly and give you suggestions for dinner. I'm sure after a long drive you all were ready to get out, stretch your legs, and start having some fun. I hope your little ones enjoyed our suggestions! Thank you for your wonderful compliments and review. We hope you come back and stay with us again! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom orlando, fl

Good value for Monterey

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Location: Well let cared on a Main Street with a mall across the street and con venient to Monterey and its attractions: aquarium, shops, Cannery Row, the bay.
The Comfort Inn has always proved to be a good value for the rate...location and staff are excellent, rooms are nicely sized and moderately quiet. Free continental breakfast is definitely a plus! Parking could be better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2014 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay Sue! We are thrilled to hear we stood up to our Comfort Inn name. We want each and every stay to be as comfortable and pleasant as possible. Thank you for your compliment of our friendly staff, convenient location, comfortable rooms, and wonderful breakfast. I know parking can be a little tricky, but we are glad it did not put a damper on your stay. We look forward to your next visit to Monterey! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Singapore

Very good hotel in excellent location

Posted Dec 7, 2014
We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of November. The location is excellent for visiting Big Sur and Carmel as well as Monterey. The general condition was good and service was excellent. We had a small issue with the wifi but that was quickly solved despite it happening late at night. Breakfast was good but could be improved with more choices.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2014 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for a five star ranking Kelly! We appreciate your compliments of our excellent service and beautiful hotel. I'm delighted our front desk was able to solve your problem with the wifi quickly and efficiently. I hope you were able to enjoy your visit exploring Monterey. We wish you the very best! Kind Regards, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom seattle

Nice hotel close to attractions

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Amazing hotel for the price and location Will stay here again where in town had a really nice free breakfast to get the day started
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2014 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review Patty! We are thrilled to have earned a five star rating in your book! I'm so happy to hear you will be back! We look forward to your next visit! Thanks Again! Janea E. Front Desk Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: nice environment
booked this for my parents and they were extremely happy with their stay. thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2014 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Serene, we are so happy to hear your parents were extremely happy with their stay! We love hearing such wonderful feedback from our guests! Thank you for the five star rating! We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming your parents back as our guests soon! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Cons: This room was was very far away and down some stairs where the rooms were not labeled so just happened to find them.
Nothing great basic room at good price using Expedia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2014 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay at the Comfort Inn - Monterey by the Sea. We are happy you enjoyed our budget friendly rate and all the amenities that are included in the rate. We hope you were able to enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast as well as all the amazing views from our hotel. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back as our guest and changing your three star review to a five star review! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom london

Location ok. Near shopping mall

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Location. Breakfast satisfactory.
Cons: Room odour and extractor fan!
Hotel was ok. Nothing special. If you turned bathroom extractor fan on there was an appalling smell of toilets. Turn fan off then eventually smell cleared and ok. Very strong cleaning fluid smell when first entered room, it eventually dissipated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Russ, I'm so sorry to hear about the smell in your bathroom as well as the cleaning agent smell. We want each of our guests rooms to smell fresh and clean, not like toilets or cleaning solutions. Our housekeeping team works hard to keep our rooms in pristine condition for all our guests. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping and maintenance teams to fix the issues. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and showing you how we can shine! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom d

Hôtel près d'une zone commercial et centre ville

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Chambre très propre petit déj excellent et belle salle de breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2014 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Deb21, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon! Best Wishes, Janea E. Front Desk Manager