Ratings based on 544 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lodi, ca

10 min walk to the beach

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Photos on the website don't match the room. Burn holes on the comforter, carpet ripped up by the door, stains on the carpet, was not happy. Had to pay an extra $104. To upgrade to a suite. I was on my honeymoon. Very disappointed with the 1st room. Worse that motel 6 on a bad day. Nasty. Wouldn't recommend to anyone.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Disappointin

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel charged us a lot of money for a suite then refused to give us what we had booked blaming it on hotels.com. The room was dirty and smelled of cigarette smoke although if was non- smoking. The manager blamed it on people smoking outside. Yeah, we are idiots... When we complained about the room the manager argued with us instead of accommodating us. There were a bunch of guests saying their TV dist work or they had other issues. Our 2 room suite had 2 TVs and one remote. When we asked we were tld we only got 1. Overall good location but terrible service and the management. I'm not sure how that manager still works there. He had one employee checking in 4+ families and he was nowhere to be found. We had to wait till his employee called and texted several times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nicholas Casey-Brackett from Sacramento

Nice

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really enjoyed it. Spacious and cozy. My husband and I wud definately go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Ghetto

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The surrounding area was a ghetto. The first room they gave us was not made up and the second room they gave us was made up but filthy, The carpet was shredded in areas and spotted. The sliding door to the outside did not lock. We cancelled the room. I would not recommend this to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

spacious and simple, better than expected.

Posted May 29, 2014
everything was just fine at this hotel. I had nothing to complain about. it's older, but very close to the beach and the staff was nice, the room was spacious and included a table, desk, balcony, micro & fridge. nothing was plugged in, which was a little awkward, but we figured it out. overall, I wouldn't hesitate to book again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Max from Las Vegas, NV

Convenient To Most Santa Cruz Entertainment

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is off of the main road (a little hidden), but nicely located not far from the pier and other beachfront attractions in Santa Cruz. The hotel property is a bit dated and hasn't been as upgraded as much as some of the other places in the same price range, although it is completely functional and a friendly place. The hotel staff make you feel welcomed.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Dg

Not Great

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
I didn't expect a four star hotel but I did expect better for the amount I paid for the room. The "non-smoking" room smelled of years old smoke probably due to the old, frayed, stained carpet. The tile in the bathroom was cracked. The shower dripped all night, the latch on the sliding glass door did not lock unless you were willing to wrestle it for five minutes and there was dog feces on the grass right out side our room all weekend. The room was relatively clean. The sheets were clean but stained. The sofa bed was horrific. It was falling apart. The location was great and the staff friendly for the most part. The motel could use a full face lift. Since we were not there to sit in a room all day it served its purpose but I will select better next time as to which hotel to stay at.
3 out of 5
by Paula from california

Walking distance to the boardwalk.

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Close to the boardwalk. Complimentary continental breakfast. Luggage carriers available.
Cons: Need an outside shower to hose off sand from beach so that the sand doesn't get all over in the pool area. Please replace the horrid carpet.
Location: Boardwalk, skatepark, downtown
Hotel is in need of updating. Carpet is in very bad condition and needs to be replaced. Screen was missing from 3rd story window, not enough staff to keep pool area cleaned up. Wasn't worth the price. If it was $100 cheaper per night, it may have been worth it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Rob from Dunsmuir

Great spot for our eighth grade trip to boardwalk

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was worried about our stay at this hotel after reading Yelp reviews, while definitely not a high end hotel, it more than met our needs. The staff were all very courteous and responsive, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The walk to the boardwalk was about ten minutes down a street that we felt was very safe for the kids to be on. The kids had a blast at the pool and hot tubs. We were very satisfied with our stay in every way.