Ratings based on 600 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom California

Just the right spot

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Courteous Staff, well managed property. Hotel was going through upgrading / repairs but done in a way not to disturb guests.
Cons: Court yard Water Fountain needed cleaning
Location: Short Walk to Beach access, Boardwalk & Shopping. Location defiantly felt safer then Saturday evening downtown.
Great family trip. Hit the Board walk, Shopping & Mystery Spot. Also enjoyed going for short drive to Capitola great shopping location with lunch on the Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Nice and clean

Posted Nov 4, 2014
For the price it is a really good option in Santa Cruz
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Definitely worth it!

Posted Oct 29, 2014
We wanted to get away to Santa Cruz for a night and didn't want to pay a whole lot for a room. We weren't looking for a 5 star hotel, but also didn't want to stay somewhere we'd regret. This place was a great deal for us! The room wasn't outdated and surprisingly clean. From the other reviews I was worried about the cleanliness of the place, but I was very happy with the condition of the room once we got there. The pool area was also clean AND there are 2 hot tubs so you don't have to crowd into one if there are other people down there. Breakfast was decent, waffles are always a plus in book! The staff was polite. We were able to get late check out. The only negative thing I could say is that the location is kind of sketchy, but as long as you aren't walking around late at night you'll be fine. However, it is pretty close to the boardwalk and downtown area so I can't really complain. It was only like a $5 cab ride to the bars downtown. We'll definitely be staying here again next time we're visiting Santa Cruz! Well worth it for what we paid.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom los Angeles, c a

Posted Oct 21, 2014
This hotel looks like more luke a motel, the room doesn't have heater, not extra blankets, it was so cool, the window has a hole like a gun shout, the neighborhood dosent looks safe and the front desk girl at night time she wasn't welcome us, not nice a all
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Stockton ca

Nice hotel not too far from the beach

Posted Oct 20, 2014
It was a very nice hotel with clean facilities. It was close enough to the beach to walk but not too close as to have all the crazy traffic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Good for tourists who want price over luxury

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Price and location
Cons: Room refresh on carpets, etc. Additional feeling of safety.
Location: Santa Cruz beach boardwalk. Tons of restaurants, bars, cafes shops. Beaches galore. Surfing.
The hotel was conveniently located to the Santa Cruz boardwalk, Cowell's beach and restaurants. Walk was a not super short, but definitely manageable stroll to the boardwalk (15-20 minutes depending on your pace). Younger kids might complain. The rooms are decent sized, especially if you get two queens. The rooms are a bit tired, and you can tell kids, partiers, beach-goers, etc. have taken their toll on the carpets, etc. The beds were comfortable, sheets clean, bathroom clean. Water in shower was hot, although flow not very strong. Staff was very friendly and there was a basic, family friendly breakfast provided. The pool was pretty and clean. There were some partying 20 year old boys and lots of families with kids, so FYI, know what to expect. If you have a ground floor room as we did, definitely recommend keeping it locked if you are not sitting right there enjoying the fresh air, as pretty much anyone could stroll in off the street and grab your stuff if you are not paying attention. No screen door.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Wis.

Don't do it pay extra elsewhere

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Cons: Major Overall
Location: Board walk and wharf, but all closed "off season"
Dirty, Dirty, Dirty. Neighborhood felt unsafe. Needs a lot of work.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Shabby but not chic

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Good position compared to others across the river nearer the front, good parking, breakfast reasonable selection, elevator was welcome.
Cons: Invest some money in improving the overall standard.
Location: Near front and wharf, all easily walkable but not great at night.
Santa Cruz was great and there were worse places to stay but the hotel was tired and shabby, needing some maintenance. Room door stuck, sockets not working, one bathroom light not working, balcony door broken latch, just a security chain, only one wardrobe door slid, other fell out of runners if moved, wi-fi was a joke unless you were in the lobby, carpet dirty. Balcony overlooked the car park and bins where locals would root around for plastic bottles and cans on a daily basis. Reported some items to desk but nothing changed. Way overpriced for a Friday night, Wednesday and Thursday rates reasonable for the condition.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Oakland, CA

Noisy unclean but close to the beach.

Posted Oct 5, 2014
We turned up on a Friday evening,we really wanted a dip in the pool but unfortunately it was over run with drunk loud people who eventually got kicked out. The room itself was pretty dirty, and had a funny smell like old smoke and vomit. The carpets should be steam cleaned. I won't be staying here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not again

Posted Sep 25, 2014
As I took the full glassed back elevator up to the third floor and our room, was able to watch a double pool area being pumped of it's Green Water. How could you have a pool in a public area in the To Late Stag. Will no way ever stay here again.