Ratings based on 563 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wis.

Don't do it pay extra elsewhere

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Cons: Major Overall
Location: Board walk and wharf, but all closed "off season"
Dirty, Dirty, Dirty. Neighborhood felt unsafe. Needs a lot of work.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Shabby but not chic

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Good position compared to others across the river nearer the front, good parking, breakfast reasonable selection, elevator was welcome.
Cons: Invest some money in improving the overall standard.
Location: Near front and wharf, all easily walkable but not great at night.
Santa Cruz was great and there were worse places to stay but the hotel was tired and shabby, needing some maintenance. Room door stuck, sockets not working, one bathroom light not working, balcony door broken latch, just a security chain, only one wardrobe door slid, other fell out of runners if moved, wi-fi was a joke unless you were in the lobby, carpet dirty. Balcony overlooked the car park and bins where locals would root around for plastic bottles and cans on a daily basis. Reported some items to desk but nothing changed. Way overpriced for a Friday night, Wednesday and Thursday rates reasonable for the condition.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Noisy unclean but close to the beach.

Posted Oct 5, 2014
We turned up on a Friday evening,we really wanted a dip in the pool but unfortunately it was over run with drunk loud people who eventually got kicked out. The room itself was pretty dirty, and had a funny smell like old smoke and vomit. The carpets should be steam cleaned. I won't be staying here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not again

Posted Sep 25, 2014
As I took the full glassed back elevator up to the third floor and our room, was able to watch a double pool area being pumped of it's Green Water. How could you have a pool in a public area in the To Late Stag. Will no way ever stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too expensive for what we experienced

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Nothing really
Cons: bedding, linens, amenities, overall aesthetic.
Location: It is within walking distance to downtown Santa Cruz and the beach if you don't mind a 20min walk. restaurants, movies, shopping, boardwalk, beach.
Everything was very worn. Fountains full of algae. Towels and bedding thin. only 1 screen on any of the windows. Breakfast line was 25 minutes. Food was not appetizing. Breakfast area was a wreck. Hotel was in somewhat of a questionable neighborhood. I realize it's in Santa Cruz but definitely NOT worth the $200 I paid. I've paid $69 in other cities and stayed at a much nicer place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno Ca.

Hotel stay

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: the outside appearance looked ok
Cons: The interior needs cleaning, and carpet needs to be replaced
Location: location was fine, many things to do and good restraunts near by.
Hallway carpet and Room carpet dirty! Room Smelled and had dog hair on furniture, Bathtub painted white, with ruff surface and not really clean. Breakfast very skimpy! entire hotel poorly maintained, not like the pictures or ad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chelan , wa

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: We had a nice large room that was clean and comfortable.
Cons: The hall carpet is old and dirty, time to remove it and install tile.
We have stayed here three different times and always had a good experience with a pleasant staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in OK location

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Overall very satisfactory hotel, nothing to complain about and was a pleasant one night stay, any longer may have been a bit more trying.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbia, ca

Nice hotel fairly close to beach & Boardwalk

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Staff very friendly and accommodating ! Nice pool and hottub. Breakfast not so good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Poorly maintained, poor water pressure

Posted Aug 20, 2014
This was one of two Days Inns we stayed at during a college tour with my daughters. The first, in Davis was fine. Basic, but that's what you expect from a Days Inn. This one was really bad. The only reason it gets one star is that the parts of the room a housekeeper would clean (sheets, bathroom, dusting) were fine. The pool area was also clean and well maintained. Everything else was awful. Lobby chairs are stained and dirty. Elevator floor covered in stains and old black gum spots. Hallway carpet stained with sections missing and covered with area rugs. Room carpet heavily stained. Drapes dirty. Mini blinds broken. Burn hole in the lampshade. Greasy stain on one of the bedcovers. Because of the stain I removed the bedcover and asked the front desk if they had another blanket. They weren't sure if they had one(!!!) but looked. What was brought out was an unfolded, threadbare blanket covered in pills. It was probably clean but it was hard to tell. The water pressure in the shower was very weak. Probably shouldn't have stayed but it was only one night. It was relatively quiet at night. It's a pet friendly hotel, and that is the only reason anyone should stay there.