Ratings based on 739 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Modesto, ca

Clean , quiet and comfortable.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
For a smaller property I was very happy with my stay. The bed was nice and comfortable. It was very quiet not even traffic. Woke to see deer on the property across the street. All in all a good stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Clean and modern - no frills

Posted Aug 16, 2014
This place is in an excellent location only minutes and a short walk from Asilomar Stae Beach. It is very clean and comfortable. My one complaint was there was nothing in the room to make it feel cozy. There was one tiny picture over the bed but the rest of the room was barren. I did not take advantage of the free breakfast so I can't comment on it. If you are in Pacific Grove to enjoy the beach, this a great place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from china

NICE hotel and near to beach

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: it is enough space for holidy of family there two beds
clearn and small hotel in the forest ,it is quiet and national ,very nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from beijing

it is a good choice

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: clean& quiet
the hotel is quite near the seaside,it is a good choice for short trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

THERE IS NO AIR CONDITIONING!!! I repeat NO AIR.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
My girlfriends and I were on a road trip and booked this room as our first stop. We only needed a place to crash for 1 night but expected a little more. Away from most things in the peninsula. No restaurants within walking distance. We called the front desk to ask why there was no air conditioning and they said they've never had it even though that isn't advertised ANYWHERE and they brought us a box fan. Are you kidding me? And then we asked why the wifi wasn't working and they said they would reboot the router. It was in and out our entire stay. It was only a place to stop for the night but I wouldn't do it again. Plenty of better options around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, great value.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: It was clean, quiet, and well located.
Cons: The breakfast bar was sorely lacking. I recommend either doing away with it or adding options such as bagels, muffins and boiled eggs.
Deer Haven Inn is a pleasant departure from the chain hotels in the area, and way less expensive than the local B&Bs. It's reasonably priced, located in a quiet, mostly residential area away from the traffic and noise, and within a quick few minutes' walk to the beach. Our room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. The one drawback is the continental breakfast, which is pretty sad. Luckily that wasn't the reason for my stay, so it wasn't a major consideration for me. I highly recommend for anyone who isn't interested in frills but appreciates good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Close to everything you need to see in the area. Nice rooms
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 14, 2014
We stayed here for two nights while visiting Monterey. It was in a quiet suburban area and was a short walk to a lovely beach. Very picturesque. The room was huge and we had two massive beds. The facilities were fine, with a TV, fridge and microwave. Everything was clean and there were plenty if plugs to charge things. Parking was never a problem with lots of spaces. The breakfast area was small but there was a cute seating area with real fire outside. Breakfast was cereal, toast etc. The only issue was the painfully slow Internet. Being from the uk we were restricted to wifi to avoid big Internet charges but it took all night to load up anything and we were only googling & sending a couple of emails so nothing major. I attached a couple of photos to an email but had to delete some off because the Internet was so slow it wouldn't send which was a shame.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

Great value, great location

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: I don't see any need for improvements.
Location: Fish Wife Restaurant is within walking distance (you might need a reservation); Asilomar State Beach and Spanish Bay are within walking distance;
We stayed at the Deer Haven Inn for two nights in early June. The entire experience was wonderful. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. The room itself was very clean and comfortable. Loved the fireplace! We enjoyed walking to and dining at Fish Wife, which is nearby. Also, the location can't be beat. Enjoyed daily walks and a jog along the coast. The breakfast was really good and the outdoor seating was beautiful. I highly recommend the Deer Haven Inn! Can't wait to visit the California coast again, and stay at this Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janet from Texas

Great little inn

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Great location close to beautiful beach. Quiet residential neighborhood but close to tourist locations.