Ratings based on 849 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great getaway!

Posted Apr 11, 2014
We were in town for a college tour at UCSC. The location is great and the view was fantastic! Our only complaint: lesser quality towels and bedding- rough, not soft.
1 out of 5
by Jack

Hotel is well located and the rooms are nice.

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Setting is very nice
Cons: See above. DISREGARD for their guests
Location: Dining and sightseeing is very good
Experience was unacceptable. We had a power outage for almost our whole stay. The hotel staff never advised or apologized about this problem even when we checked out and it was still going on. We had no power, television, hot water, coffee, etc. I have written to them. Also this was their problem and not P.G.&E's.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento CA

Nice Hotel with the best view

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: It has been newly renovated.
Cons: The third floor that is the same floor as the lobby is noisy. Best view, but noisy.
Location: You can take a wonderful walk on the pier from your room. the drive up and down Cliff Drive is spectacular.
This is a great place to take your visitors who are new to Santa Cruz. They loved the view and placement of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LCJ from Seattle

Expected More for the Money

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Location, large suite with balcony, pool area is exceptional, entertainment in the restaurant on weekends
Cons: More than 1 microwave for ALL to use. Provide cleaning supplies for it. Upgrade the art work to match the upscale room rates. Lose the bean bag chair.
Location: Take the Caltrain to San Fran. Drive to Big Basin State Park to see Redwoods. Check to see who is in concert at Kuumbwa Center. We saw Hugh Masekala
Next time we visit Santa Cruz, I might prefer to stay nearby instead. Yes, the location and views are spectacular. They outshine the indoor environment. Did not meet my expectations. We figured out a way to avoid paying $24 for daily parking by using the very nearby public meters and planning our day to end close to the 8 pm-10am free parking time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Beautiful views. Nice rooms

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Great accommodations with ocean views in every room. A little disappointed that when we arrived at 4:30 the rooms were not ready. Check in time is 4:00. We reserved 2 rooms for our family of 5 and they had the rooms in 2 different sections of the hotel. Talked to the front desk and got it straightened out, but I could've done without the extra hassle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with wonderful ocean view.

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Location and very comfortable room.
Location: Beach, boardwalk, pier, downtown.
Our room was clean, comfortable and spacious enough for the two of us. Great central location to the Santa Cruz wharf, beach and boardwalk and walking path along the ocean. Very scenic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S from Edmonton

Excellent Hotel to get away from city life

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: The ocean view
Cons: The mattress
Location: dining, night life
Love the location!!! Excellent service from staff. But the bed is not very comfortable otherwise everything is great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Luke from SFO

Nice hotel.

Posted Feb 24, 2014
It would be better if the rooms are provided with microwave ovens.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Seattle

Wonderful hotel, but noisy maintenance going on.

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Perfect location.
I have stayed at this hotel many times and love it. The rooms are great, the view is remarkable, and the staff is generally unexcelled for the size and class. There was one hair in the pudding. They were replacing all of the iron balcony railings with glass. The upgrade looks great, but the construction noise was continuous loud. I think the hotel or booking agent has a responsibility to advise a potential customer when they can expect something exceptional when they arrive......and I don't mean a dozen roses and a bottle of bubbly. It is sort of like showing up and finding out your hotel is hosting a soccer tournament for several hundred pubescent young men without adult supervision. It is just not what the hotel advertises. I love this hotel. It is a few blocks from my family's home, and a perfect place to relax.....except for the rail replacement and/or the soccer team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike & karen from Northen ca.

very nice view, walking distance

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Great view, walking distance to the board walk, pier, and beachs.
Cons: incidental charges
Location: surf,swim, hike ,bicycle,
p recharged us for incidental charges and parking on check in,Took the money out of our bank account instantly, had no access to that money for any thing else. We had two nights of parking and one breakfast charged to our room, about one third of what they took from our bank. Two days later we still have not had our money released.We had to cut our vacation short. If you want to stay there you need more money than you think you do.