Ratings based on 327 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Cali

Don't Stay there

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: spa
Cons: all
No A/C. There was a not at check in that the cool air is the a/c. Was told to keep window open. but not much air came in and so went bought fan to stick in window. Then the Non-Smoking rooms are right next to the smoking rooms, so guess what came into our room, yup smoke. The heated pool is NOT heated, it was almost as cold as the ocean water. The spa was nice and big. The bath towels were really ruff. Breakfast was only till 9am, almost all hotels on weekends especially Sundays are till 10am or even 9:30am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa cruz

Close to beach

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Nice overall- served breakfast , pool was nice- management was courteous. Parking was too crowded, but i'm pretty sure it was because we were so close to beach and it was a holiday. I liked the separate bedroom layout- but bedrooms could've had better blankets and extra pillows. Again overall it was okay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice motel - affordable price

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Room was clean and well equipped, painted recently hence a pretty strong smell
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Modesto Ca

Disappointing I can believe you have this hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Not a thing
Cons: Need to finish and then rent them
Location: location is good
Disappointing and disgusting no air conditioning is in the process of remodeling they should not book nobody
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not what i expected

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: the staff was accomidating
Cons: too much to list
Location: the location
the room was remodeled yeah but the was no A/C, the price was too high, they had the excuse that it was never stated on the add, but who wants to stay at a hotel with no A/C ?? The hotel across the street was much nicer & cheaper but i could not get a refund?!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, friendly staff.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Clean, big and comfortable rooms, Close to the beach just 5 block. I will go soon again. Good price too, available parking space 24hrs for multiple cars. .............,,,,,,,,,,,,,..,,,,,,,;;,,,,;,,,,,,,,,.,.,.,,,,,,,,,;;(,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,?:(:((?;,..,.,((;);((:((:(;((;;));$(())6($)74;):(;;;;::;;;;;;;;;
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Redding CA

Do not choose this hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2014
When I arrived at this hotel, it was not as portrayed on Expedia. I did not get the room that I paid for. It was not a suite and did not have a microwave or refrigerator. The heater was also missing from the room. The grounds were dirty and the bathroom was not clean. Additionally, they ran out of breakfast food before the 9:00 am deadline and refused to get more. This hotel does not deserve the 2 star rating it has. Pass on this one.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't go there

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Jacuzzi
Cons: Everything
The room stank so bad we had to spray air freshener every hour. There was primer white paint on half of the walls and the other half were mustard yellow. One of the worst hotels in Santa Cruz and I have been to about 20 of them over the years.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Sketchy

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Hot water didn't work at all. As in nothing came out of the tap. Rooms are dingy and smelly and there were sketchy guests coming and going at all hours. I think my neighbors lived there. Front desk staff was very nice and friendly he did allow me to use a different room to shower but no offer to discount my stay or even an apology for that matter. As the saying goes, You get what you pay for!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Filthy and horrible, ran out of breakfast food by 8 am, poor staff, tried but motel is terrible
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2014
Dear Guest, I would like to apologize for your unpleasant stay at the Econo Lodge. Our #1 priority is guest satisfaction, and will continue to work hard to ensure all of our guests have a great experience.