Ratings based on 533 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Benicia, California

Not Impressed

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: N/A
Cons: spend the money for repairs
Location: across the street is a convenient store. Down the road is a Denny's and a CVS and other motels/hotels
The room assigned to me was disappointing. I had to expectations when arriving, but soon changed when I opened the door. the musky smell, the bathroom counter was missing tiles/wood showing. The ventilation in the bathroom was a small window with no screen. The the bathroom door needs maintenance, the TV does not work. If you wanted to make coffee, you would have to place the small coffee pot on the floor so that the chord can reach already full patch chord used by the television that did not work. The bed was OK, in the evening you can hear the traffic of cars driving by on the street where the motel is placed which is right next to the off ramp
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Get what you pay for

Posted Oct 25, 2014
I guess I can't complain too much as you get what you pay for. Def would bring the lady to this place, but, it'll do if in a pinch
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Phoenix, AZ

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Great location. Minutes from shopping, restaurants, and Cannery Row. Worth the time to stay. Close to the freeway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom l.a carli

Great rooms good location

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Really nice rooms. Good location, 5 min from main area. Breakfest was not much..
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Half Moon Bay, CA

Bad Experience

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Decent room, no complaints there. Expected what we got for the money.
Cons: Office staff, breakfast, room coffee. Some tea would have been nice. None in our room or at breakfast. And a working pool would be nice too.
Location: Decent location. Had to drive to go anywhere but that was okay. Lots to do in Monterey and Carmel.
I've already written a response to this question when Expedia asked in the smiley face review. We had a bad experience with the bill. When we got there we were told that our room would be $52.00 including tax per night for our two nights. We were ecstatic and used the extra money to go out for a meal. We were originally quoted with Expedia an amount of $143.00. When we were checking out I asked to see a printed bill and the girl that was in the office this time said whatever we originally agreed to with Expedia is what we'd be charged. We discussed what the check-in girl told us and they said she made a mistake, case closed. Even though that's what we were told by them, she wouldn't budge. Not good business practices, I'd say. Left a very bad taste in my mouth. Also, the pool was closed our entire stay. A sign was on the pool gate stating this. A man was there working with hoses all three days. Another disappointment. Lastly, breakfast was insufficient. Not much to choose from, the worst continental breakfast we've ever experienced.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Extremely old and run down

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything could be improved
Location: Everything around this motel was better then this motel.
Or family had a total of 4 rooms. Mold and rust in showers. Bath vanities broken with tile loose. Spots on walls and ceilings. Spider webs everywhere. NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Malaysia

Posted Oct 5, 2014
The bed sheet and blanket were wet due to humidity. I bet the room hasn't been occupied for quite sometime which is why the lack of room keeping. Air conditioner wasn't functioning well. Breakfast was terrible. Overall, it was a horrible experience that i would not go back to that hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Truckee Ca

motel close to the county fairgrounds

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: close to the fairgrounds
Cons: proper maintenance
Location: close to the freeway and county fairgrounds
The soap dish in the shower was missing only a rusty bracket was left. One lamp wasn't plugged in and another had a bulb missing. The clock was unplegged although we were lucky our friends didn't have one. The sheer curtain behind the drape was torn almost to being shredded. The continental breakfast nook had one 3 foot diameter table with four chairs. When I told the manager about the soap dish she sent the maid with some towels. Also the spindle for the toilet paper was missing. Fortunately the counter was within reaching distance to set the paper on.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom minneapolis

Pretty dismal

Posted Aug 24, 2014
We waited till a week before our trip to book a night in Monterey. This hotel was one of the only available at $350 a night. The room had four walls. That's about it. It would work in a pinch but I wouldn't recommend it. Unless you like hearing your neighbors talk. Like saggy beds. Like burrito stains on the ceiling, or black hand prints on the wall where someone climbed in through the bathroom window.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Vanessafrom Livermore

Overnight Stay

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a last minute trip. Because it was Monterey Car week, our choices for "reasonably priced" hotels were limited. The hotel is older and could use some updating, but I'd still say it was pretty decent. The room was clean, but the windows were single pane. We could hear noise from the parking lot, street, and the airplanes flying overhead. It didn't bother me though. There was a refrigerator and microwave, which was appreciated. Econolodge toiletries were also provided. The continental breakfast consisted of coffee, juice, cereal, and a few pastries. The hotel is right off the freeway, so location was convenient for us, as were headed to different events throughout our stay. This is a good choice if you just need a place for the night and don't a no-frills kind of place.