Ratings based on 476 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA-OR-WA and back

OK, reasonable.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Convenient to the Cannery and the Pier. Reasonable accommodation. First time to see vending ice machine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa rosa, ca

Rude staff

Posted Jul 16, 2014
So this place was about 10-15 minutes away from cannery row, it was in a safe area and it was clean. That said it was very outdated and loud because it was next to an airport. You hear planes landing and departing at 6am which was not cool. The staff was also rude and acted as if us checking in was interrupted their day :( Theyre close to a dennys which was good as well as a very good hole in the wall sushi joint next door which was a plus. Overall best part of the stay was the sushi, worst was the hotel staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

It's a place to sleep.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: There was vacancy.
Cons: Take care of your rooms before guests check in!
Location: It's close enough to Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca - the jewel of California.
No soap or shampoo in the bathroom. Non-smoking room had a clear tobacco aroma. Room wasn't clean. Staff was slow and not too friendly. Tons of noise, between guests and landing aircraft.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Location was nice and close to cannery row, but facilities were old and outdated. A little pricey for the quality.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I expected.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
The lobby smells heavily of curry. Facilities are run down...spa is not working. Although pool was heated. My rug was not vacuumed and there was soap stuck to the wall. Coffee pot in room had no carafe although when I asked they gave me a new one. Overall subpar with better options in the same basic area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Close to my destination

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The room was sad, and out of date. The strong smell of sweet air freshener made it uncomfortable to linger. I would recommend family ot friends to stay there
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great way to do Monterey on a budget

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Price Location Amenities (kitchenette)
Cons: Upper parking lot was a tight squeeze Breakfast could use some fruit
Location: Cannery Row Point Lobos State Reserve (AWESOME!) Elkhorn Slough kayaking Whale watching tour Local beaches (Moss landing was great)
The hotel was nicer and cleaner than what I expected for the price we got for our rooms. We were visiting the Monterey area on a tight budget and decided to choose a cheap hotel to be able to spend more on activities and wineries (whale watching and kayak tours -- totally worth it!), and took a gamble on this one because the reviews were fair, figuring that we'd be busy all week and not spending much time in the room anyway, so we just needed something with clean sheets and a working bathroom. They gave us the wifi password when we checked in, the free breakfast was cheap (cereal, juice, coffee, danishes) so we got come cereal and fruit and kept it in the mini fridge in the hotel - having a kitchenette was a real plus (mini fridge, freezer, microwave, sink, stove/oven). The pool looked clean, but it was a little chilly so we didn't use it. If we go back to Monterey, I'd definitely consider staying here again (if we have a bigger budget, maybe not, but we'll see). My favorite part of the hotel was the location - it's right next to Rt 1 so it was very easy to get everywhere. There's a CVS two blocks away that's open til midnight, Cannery Row is less than a 10 minute drive, Point Lobos State Reserve was about 20 minutes, Elkhorn Slough was about 30 minutes, etc. This is a great area to vacation, and a good place to stay for not a lot of money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Easy to find and lady at front desk was nice enough. That's the only good. Our non-smoking room smelled of smoke. There was a pile of dirt on the bathroom floor. The tub did not drain very well, so our very quick showers left us standing in our own pool of filth. The shower curtain was not clean. No, the shower curtain was disgusting! Our towels were apparently so new that the price stickers weren't removed. Guessing they weren't washed either. And the AC barely worked. That's the worst of it. When I pay to stay somewhere I expect, at the very least, for it to be clean. I'm not so concerned by the low flying airplanes over our roof, the power strip on the end tables, the torn lampshades, or scratched and chipped paint on all the walls, I just want clean! I guess I could have complained, but I was too exhausted and the sheets look clean. Overall, I would most definitely NOT recommend this place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Budget hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Change cleaner or use less of it. Check rooms before you assign it to make sure it is clean. Do not charge for ice. Serve fresh fruit.
The hotel room was OK for a budget hotel except for the smell of cleaner. It was so strong that I had to open the door and all the windows for an hour and still my eyes burned all night. The next day I asked them not to clean the room so I wouldn't have to deal with the smell again. There were 2 bedside lamps but only one worked. The alarm clock did not work. In order to use the coffee maker I had to unplug the microwave. In order to get ice from the ice machine I had to pay 25 cents. When I arrived and checked in I asked for only one key but was still given two. When I went to my room the door was open, the bed was unmake and there were food containers and papers everywhere. When I told the front desk, they said they would get someone to clean the room. I left for about 2 hours and when I returned the room was ready. Breakfast was cereal, coffee, and stale pastries.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by K

convenient

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: convenience
The place was good two star experience. Room was big, clean, and equipped for serious cooking. Breakfast did not stand out. Short driving distance from main attractions.