Ratings based on 769 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Location

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Breakfast and Happy Hour included. The staff is extremely helpful. I left a blouse and they located it and mailed it to me.
Cons: the facilities need to be updated. for example, our bathroom door didn't close well because it was old and warped.
Location: it was very close (5 min) to the wharf and about 10- 15 from Carmel.
It isn't on the beach but it is close to the Wharf, Carmel, and major attractions. It has complimentary breakfast which was good It also has a happy hour in the afternoon. Overall it was nice. The hotel however needs to be updated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel for Monterey and Big Sur

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Wonderful stay.Staff very pleasant . Great location off highway 1. Easy access to other attractions. Great breakfast. Quiet. Nice pool. Would stay again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from F

Fun amenities, shoddy smelly blankets with holes

Posted Aug 9, 2014
The breakfast buffet and happy hour were the best parts. The mattress was uncomfortable for me & I was disappointed to find that blankets I requested from room service had holes & smelled. I asked staff twice for help with this. I was told that the dryer in the hotel made the holes & better ones would be sent. I never got decent, good smelling blankets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san fransisco

not a great location but really good "happy hour"

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: food, space, happy hour
Cons: naaaah!
Location: Monterey aquarium, cannery row, fisherman wharf, highway 1 and pebble beach
WE loved the Happy Hour and the breakfasts! The hotel was perfect as we had an extra room for dad and a door between us. Not the best location, bit out of the central area , not good views,, but over all we loved it,, close enough to the touristy areas!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montgomery, AL

Outstanding Staff

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Proximity to all of the Monterey attractions and the ease of access.
Location: Ideally located to easy access to Cannery Row, the Boardwalk, and the 17 Mile Drive.
The facilities were excellent and the rooms fastidiously clean. Most notable, however, was the warmth, friendliness, and helpfulness of the staff--at all levels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Orange, Ca

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Liked the free breakfast and large hotel rooms. Upgrade highly recommended, you get to stay on the top floor which is very quiet and free snacks.
Cons: Add more elevators sometimes there were long waits.
Location: Definitely eat at Monterey Seafood Restaurant. Reservations highly recommended. Very nice staff there.
Hotel was a bit aged but comfortable overall and very roomy. Hotel was sold out and breakfast was free so it saved me lots of money. Just hated the line for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family friendly

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: The indoor pool, and the complimentary happy hour, and breakfast. The staff friendliness.
Cons: i did not like that we had to pay for overnight parking, however it was not too expensive.
Location: Everything is pretty much driving distance, but short driving distance no more than 2miles to Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, and the beach.
This a nice hotel if especially if are you traveling with a family for a long. they had nice amenities there breakfast layout was very good. They even had a complimentary happy hour time between 5:30-7:30pm that is very cool services they provided when you just spend the day out to come to the hotel lobby and have a free beverages.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Nice hotel/staff, stay away from the 6th floor!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Staff was very polite and helpful.
Cons: Sixth floor rooms need to be revamped so that they don't stink.
Location: Tons of beaches and all of the Monterey attractions, including the Monterey Bay Aquarium.
Good hotel with very nice hotel staff, and overall the amenities are very good. Complimentary breakfast is a very big buffet including omelette bar. Only complaints would be that it's ridiculous that internet isn't complimentary considering the $350/night price tag. Also, we stayed in a sixth floor room....this is their former smoking floor, and wow it was quite obvious, the room absolutely stunk like smoke, it was like walking into grandma's old smoke-filled apartment from when you're a kid. If you stay away from the 6th floor, you're good. The hotel has very nice staff, is clean enough, and very close to beaches/Monterey.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Imperial, CA

outside food

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Cons: That waiter needed to be more courteous
At one point my kids brought in food from Mcdonald's and sat down to eat at tables close to bar area. One of the waiters came over and very loudly and rudely shouted that they couldn't eat outside food here. He could have been a bit more courteous and didn't have to shout it out so that everyone could hear.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

This used to be a nice place to stay...

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: There's a Chili's Bar & Grill in the same parking lot; complimentary breakfast and happy hour are great; it's close to everything.
Cons: Go back to no-charge parking and service the rooms properly.
Location: The hotel is in a great location. Fisherman's Wharf, the Aquarium, 17-Mile drive and Pebble Beach are all within a few short minute drive.
First off, I paid a hefty price for a Friday - Sunday stay and was expecting nothing short of the usual quality I've experienced with Embassy Suites. I've stayed here a few other times and liked it, but it now seems like it is going down hill. Apparently, they decided last year to begin charging $10 a night for parking; wifi is not free either. The shower is great if you don't mind standing in the filth you just cleansed from your body since the tub does not drain. It seriously took 30 minutes after I shut the water off for the tub to empty. The room felt very humid and the carpet felt damp. The thermostat read 68 degrees, but there's no way in hell that is true. I set the thermostat to 65 and the room never did cool off so I spent both nights sleeping on top of the bed with the fan running on high. Don't pay the extra money for the Ocean View unless you get a room on a high floor.