Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Don from Hemet, CA

Back again!

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: Location, beauty, historic significance.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: Beautiful location on Monterey Bay. Near Monterey Bay Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, 17 mile drive.
Excellent experience, as usual. Everything absolutely first rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by RWS from Pleasanton, CA

superb location, excellent breakfast

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: views, food, friendliness of staff
Cons: bed mattress
Location: walking trail along the ocean; half mile to the aquarium, parks in both directions; drive 5 minutes to the wharf
This Victorian BnB is right across from the ocean where seal lions have their pups and there is a wonderful walking trail to Monterey and Lover's Point (and beyond). Sunday breakfast was very fresh, tasty and well done. The wine/cheese were high quality. Parking is on the street and our room had a shared bath, all in a Victorian setting- very quaint. The bed needs a new mattress- not horrible but not up to current standards for fine hotels. Staff is very friendly and accomodating. Overall a beautiful weekend with one of the most beautiful views in the world..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Ocean view beauty

Posted Apr 4, 2014
We enjoyed the viewing the ocean from the main house as we enjoyed afternoon wine & the breakfast. The place is tastefully decorated with fireplaces making our rainy stay more cozy. Our bed was a bit too soft in rm 11, otherwise I'd give it a perfect score.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kris from Long Beach, CA

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very hospitable staff, very good breakfast and happy hour. Bed was very comfy, fireplace was just what we needed to take the chill off. Overall great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Posted Jun 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice B&B.... a little pricey, but worth the money. Well located to Cannery Row... within walking distance The hidden charm would be the Harbor Seals and Sea Ottters which play in the bay right in front of the house. Get the Balcony Room, you will not be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Reid from San Juan Bautista

75th Birthday

Posted Jun 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Wonderful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Misty

First Class

Posted Jun 8, 2013
Pros: Location cannot be beat. We had a view of the ocean. Very clean and well maintained.
Cons: Put out enough food for all guests at breakfast.
Location: Carmel, Big Sur, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Old Town Monterey.
On past visits we had often driven by this Victorian mansion and wondered what it would be like to stay there. The service is fabulous and our room exceeded our expectations. The only reason why I gave the overall experience 4/5 was there was a couple who checked in shortly after us who brought unruly toddlers. This place is not for kids but I don't know how the staff could have discouraged the family from staying there. With so many lovely antiques around, it is not a place for small children, so people with half a brain traveling with little kids should stay elsewhere. The other negative is there is not enough food put out at breakfast to feed everyone. When we arrived just before 9:00 a.m. the serving dishes were empty. They do put out delicious homemade cookies in the evening along with cream sherry and have coffee, tea, hot chocolate and water available 24/7.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

charming B&B

Posted May 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful views, across the street is the ocean. Walking distance to Cannery Row. Breakfast was good, as was the afternoon wine and the cookies. The room (Sandpiper 11) has a jetted tub, which was a pleasant surprise since it wasn't mentioned in the description of the room. I would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Marie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2013 on Hotels.com