Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, Ca

Overpriced

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff were friendly.
Cons: Noise reduction.
The hotel looked promising from reviews and other internet research. The highlight of the hotel was the super friendly staff. There were however too many downsides. First, it was right next to the freeway and Denny's. Coupled with paper thin walls, traffic was loud at night, I could hear arguments going on in the Denny's parking lot, and I could hear the guy in the next room grunting while in the restroom. Speaking of restrooms, the shower was dirty and the soap dish was grey, not to mention that the under sink storage looked too filthy to put anything there. The facilities were way too small, and the kiddie pool was not as lavishing as the pics. Overall, thumbs down.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Noisy and sticky!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, nice front desk staff
Cons: Noisy areas!
Location: Close drive to boardwalk
The hotel room is beautiful once you walk in. However, as soon as you settle in to sleep, the nightmare starts... Our room was right next to the kitchen room on the first floor. There were loud elevator-like noises, frequent and excessive wall-banging all throughout the night which made it impossible to get a good night's sleep. In addition, the bathroom floor was sticky! Very disappointed in the lack of attention to guests sleeping (or not able to, in our case!).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Calif

Disappointing

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Breakfast bar was as always for Hampton's, outstanding, saving the need to get up early to find a restaurant. One can eat then go back to freshen up.
Cons: Read Experience comments above.
Location: We had a specific event we were attending, but lots of restaurants, the famed Boardwalk and downtown activities plentiful
I am a Hilton Honors member because I enjoy the stays at their many locations. That said, I was very disappointed with the recent stay at the Santa Cruz location. It was $278 (incl tax etc) per night and the room was fair for what we paid. I was placed directly across from the breakfast diner and when asked if we could move, told no because we had booked through Expedia.com Also, when we arrived, the front desk lady was on the phone making us wait for 5-10 mins never acknowledging us. When she did, it was may I help you, while looking down as she asked, no eye contact. Found the bathroom tub had stains around the trim as if getting old and should have been addressed well before, again for the price asking per night. Location is good coming off the freeway, but the parking is tight for a vehicle with any size. Surrounding neighborhood is questionable for one wanting to venture out for a walk after diner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to the boardwalk and mystery spot

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Nice Hotel close to the boardwalk and mystery spot
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento ca

nice hotel near to beach

Posted Jun 21, 2014
really like this hotel.room is very clean.everything is perfect!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cleanliness

Posted Jun 9, 2014
short stay but please that had breakfast and clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Family of Four from San Francisco, CA

Comfortable and Easy

Posted May 27, 2014
Hotel was easily accessible to and from main highways. It was also closely located to our child's sport tournament site. The room was clean and comfortable. The only thing I personally would have wanted different was our room was on the ground floor or first floor with the only window/view facing a Denny's. Patron's of Denny's were somewhat loud during late night hours. The people coming and going were somewhat noticeable from our hotel room as the Denny's main parking was in the back of the restaurant. It seemed like there was someone walking by our window on a regular basis. Not being located on the 1st floor facing Denny's would have made the stay go from good to excellent. Otherwise the amenities were lovely. Also the pool was smaller than the pic shown on the website reflected. But nonetheless, our children had fun swimming in the mini pool. Would consider staying here again, but requesting to not be on the first floor...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from San Bruno, CA

Away from all the hustle and bustle.

Posted May 27, 2014
Great location away from the hustle and bustle of the boardwalk. If you want to be away from the crowds this is the place to be, my 3 kids, wife and I spent the day at the beach this past Memorial Day Weekend and after the crowds there it was great to get away from it all at the Hampton inn, Santa Cruz. It's only a 5 minute drive from the boardwalk and close to restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barb from Ottawa, On

Convenient off highway

Posted May 5, 2014
We know what we will be getting at a Hampton and were not disappointed. Room, breakfast & helpful staff were atre part of a comfortable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

surprised at what we didn't get

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Very clean, very comfortable
Cons: Don't know if the things we didn't like were policy of this property's management or oversights
Location: Location isn't near downtown, but it's an easy drive.
very pleasant hotel, very clean and comfortable. Things we expect from other Hamptons were not here - the welcome bottle of water, cup of tea in the lobby in the evening, an extra hour to get packed and checked out, daily USA Today. The location seemed to attract a lot of homeless people and there were prominent signs in the parking lot advising "Park at your own risk." That said we would stay there again should we need to visit Santa Cruz.