Ratings based on 278 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Comfortable and convenient.

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Comfortable and convenient and easy access to the Monterey area. Free breakfast.
Cons: Clean up the facilities better. The stair area and common areas which is easily accessible from the parking lot needs to be kept clean.
Location: Just a short drive to Monterey, Seaside and Carmel. Easy access to Marina Beach
Easy access to and from the Monterey area. Offering the free breakfast is a big plus and makes up for the fact that the place could be cleaner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Very clean facility. Breakfast was good.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, accessible to all Monterey has to offer.
Cons: Don't add hidden charges to an account that was paid for 3 weeks in advance.
Location: Beaches, piers, and the aquarium. Also Cannery row. fantastic!
The only problem was a $75.00 fee for the 2 rooms I used. I had already paid for the room rate and when I got home there was another charge of $75.00 per room added. I was not prepared for this which put my account in overdraft with charges added. Not happy about that.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Virginia

Not Up to Usual Holiday Inn Express Standards

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: I liked the location.
Cons: It could be cleaner and the exercise room could have working equipment.
Location: We did not do anything near by. We were traveling from Napa Valley to Los Angeles and needed a place to sleep for the night, nothing more.
I was not happy with Expedia OR Holiday Inn Express on this reservation. I booked through Expedia and thought I was getting a room with TWO beds, which I requested REPEATEDLY and was assured (verbally) that the room I was booking had two beds. When we got there we discovered it had only one bed (I was traveling with my adult son). We decided to "live with it" and make the best of it. We were also assured the hotel had a functioning exercise room. It did not. The room was there, but the equipment would not work!! Broken treadmill and broken elipitcal, if I remember correctly. We could not use it. In addition, the common areas of the hotel, hallways, outside, etc. were not as clean as I have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. For as much as this room cost, I was very unhappy. I will probably not use Expedia again for booking hotels.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver bc

Checked right out. Black mould.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Tried four different rooms. Front desk was very helpful, but manager went and charged us for a night even though we did not spend the night. Floor was wet near AC unit. Fungus and mould growing underneath. All four of the different rooms had this problem. Desk staff admitted they had a problem but thought it was fixed. Went and paid double to stay one night at Marriott and scrambled to find a place for two more nights. Beware this hotel. I felt awful after breathing that air for an hour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Clean, comfortable, beautiful hotel!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, clean and quiet and the deep and relaxing bathtub!
Cons: Nothing, great stay! Not many places to eat in Marina.
Location: Monterey Ca, Cannery Row is so fun! Less craziness than San Francisco. Great food, Louie Linguini's was awesome! The Aquarium was fun. Beach nearby.
We stayed in some questionable hotels throughout our trip and the Holiday Inn Express in Marina Ca was not only a much needed haven from those awful hotels but it made us trust in the chain all together. We stayed in 2 more throughout the trip and was not disappointed. Great hotel, clean and SO comfortable, and reasonable prices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales, UK

Great hotel.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Spacious room. Clean, Complimentary breakfast was very good.
Location: Just a few miles from Monterey Bay where there is plent to see and do.
This was a great hotel and the room was extremely spacious. Would highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything was great except for the mattress

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Cons: Mattresses
Mattresses were too soft. Staff gave exceptional customer service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Jul 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a nice hotel. It's well designed as far as d├ęcor goes, the room was nice and clean. The only negative was that it was hard to regulate the temperature in the room at night, but all is was great with the room and this hotel. The staff was very friendly, professional, and attentive to our needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A fine stay not fResno from Monterrey.

Posted Jul 4, 2014
A clean and quiet place to stay. Great staff. Not far from the beach. Definitely would stay there again.