Ratings based on 328 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Location, price, breakfast, free parking, free wi-fi
Location: Close to Cannery Row and Aquarium
We were in Monterey only for one night on our way back home. Great location...close to the quaint Cannery Row and Aquarium. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Wine and cheese in the afternoon was a nice treat. Good breakfast. Room was basic but good size for our family of 4. Great recommendation from staff for dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento, ca

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Nice place. Older building but renovated nicely. Staff were great. Proximity to beach, aquarium, and cannery row was great. We were able to leave the car at the hotel all weekend and walk everywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Difficult

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Location
We are in our 60s and found the hotel very hard to manoeuvre with luggage. Too many stairs. Great location and very friendly staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N. Cal

The WORST layout of any hotel I have ever stayed!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The desk clerk was apologetic for the "Bad floor-plan" his words.
Cons: Not list it as Cannery Row. State the fact you have to lug your cases up and down stairs.
When you exit the elevator you have to descend steep steps? Then climb steep steps to get back to the elevator level...your room! It's just stupid. I want my money back! Also, it's NOT on Cannery Row!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Stayed for one night on the way down the coast.

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Location is close to the aquarium and Cannery Row
Location: Aquarium and Cannery Row are close by. There is a good supermarket a few streets down for food and drink.
Very nice hotel. Room was big enough for a family of 6. Breakfast was very good with several options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from central california

excellent location. walking distance to everything

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: proximity to canary row
Cons: funny enough, the noise that the bathroom faucets made is so loud!
Location: too much to list. I try to visit several times a year
check in and out were a breeze. never had it so easy. booking with expedia made it a pleasure
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tustin, Ca

Close to Aquarium

Posted Jun 25, 2014
The hotel room was clean, spacious, great view, quiet. The staff was professional and friendly. When a request was made the staff were very prompt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tom from Santa Barbara

Excellent (seriously), but one issue

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a nice clean hotel in an excellent location. We were able to walk down to the warf and aquarium, and also up into the local main street where there are a lot of great local's restaurants. The hotel had parking and we just left our car. The wine and cheese service was a nice surprise and the breakfast was pretty good. As for the "issue," the walls are not insulated. You can hear things in other rooms. We got the room right next to the service desk on the first floor. The lobby restroom is exactly next to where you head is trying to fall asleep. You can hear the toilet paper rolling. Fortunately, the front desk clerk locked the restroom door upon my complaint-- obviously I was not the first to complain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com