Ratings based on 570 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quirky hotel, good food, needs some things

Posted Aug 14, 2014
The gentleman manning the desk during the day seemed smarmy, though the rest of the staff was cool. This place has mosquitos and no screens and no AC, so you have to choose between stuffiness and getting bit -- not cool, given the premium price. They do have fans, but you don't know you need them until after 10pm, which is when the front desk closes. Breakfast is yummy and the rooftop bar is nice. Check-in is at 3pm, which I've never seen so late anywhere before. Take-away: GET A FAN, they have a literal pile of them in the supply closet. I saw them, in a pile, for some reason not deployed to each room. The expensive Dyson ones, too.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chula vista, california

Close to the beach, low amenities

Posted Aug 13, 2014
I didn't realize there wasn't air conditioning. Had to sleep with windows open. Rooftop bar was very nice, overlook the bay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fair price

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Location. Bathroom is environmental conscious: No wasteful shampoo, conditioner, lotion bottles but provided in mounted pumps. Breakfast is great.
Cons: Ventilation. Tub jet is not working. DVD player as on hotel note is not found.
Location: Walk on beach trail to Fishermen's Wharf is very pleasant..
Generally fine. Staffs are friendly. Breakfast is a surprise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Very charming hotel with great staff

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Charming decor, roof deck, cool dining & common spaces, friendly staff! Nice breakfast (melon, prosciutto, poached eggs, coffee, juice).
Cons: Our room (1st floor) had no bathroom window shade or net so felt completely exposed to the alley.
Location: Across the street from the beach path. 10 min walk to the main downtown stretch, 20 min walk to the touristy wharf area. Not much right around though.
Stayed one night on a weekend trip to Carmel. Great little hotel for a couple.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from State College, PA

More of a shabby B&B

Posted Aug 6, 2014
This is not a hotel, but more of an eclectic B&B. The decor is interesting, a cross between "The Adams Family" and Salvation Army refuge. My wife, daughter and I booked a Suite. I guess they call it a suite because it has 2 rooms. The second room has a fold out couch for a bed, but when opened, a 1/3 of the room is gone. The dividing door is a sliding piece of veneer. The main room in the "Suite" has one window, maybe 2' X 4', that you have to step into the tub to open. That's right, the tub is in the room. You can see through the window shade, so closing the shower curtain on the tube is recommended. However, it is freakin' hot in Monteray in July, so you have to open the window and the shower curtain. There is no Air Conditioning and No Parking for the hotel. Of course, they do charge you CA room rates. When calling the Front Desk at 8PM for some help, we were greeted by a recorded phone message saying, "nobody is available right now, please call back." There is a great patio bar, with a nice view. However, when customers are moving furniture around at 1AM, it can be easily heard in the room below. My recommendation, save your money and stay at Motel 8.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2014 by Lance, Hotel Management
Of course you are entitled to your opinion but not the facts! Our furniture is all new in Beaux-Arts style and professionally selected. The sofa bed is a real bed and solid piece of furniture that cost over $5000. True, it has been a very unusual hot summer, we never needed air-conditioning in the past, for that reason we offered fans in the rooms that have been very effective, we wish you inquired. There is reserved parking at $10 /night, although there is plenty of street free parking, after all we are a city hotel and not a suburban motel. The room description including size are disclosed including exact square footage. We agree, if service and details for bedding, furnishings and fixtures are not a consideration this hotel is not for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2014 by Lance, Hotel Management
Of course you are entitled to your opinion but not the facts! Our furnishing is all new in Beaux-Arts style, the sofa bed is high quality piece of furniture. The rooms are small and disclosed as such: Exact square footage is given. Changing furniture on the rooftop is not permitted at any time. This summer was very unusual summer in Monterey, we never needed air-conditioning in the past, we offered fans in the room, which have been very effective, wish you asked. We agree, if service and details to quality bedding and furnishing is not a consideration, this hotel is not for you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Monterey Hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Roof top
Cons: air conditioning a must, especially when on main street.
Location: good
No Air Conditioning, had to ask for fan. Windows open to main street in town, very noisy. Staff was nice, owner was not.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Ca

Great view Close to Cannery Row and can walk!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Great Time!! Hotel was really nice inside and the staff was very nice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stone Mountain, GA

Wonderful boutique hotel close to Cannery Row

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Our stay in Monterey was wonderfully complemented by the excellent customer service, exceptional complimentary breakfast, and uniquely decorated lobby and rooms. Furthermore, Hotel 1110 afforded us easy walking access to Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf. The ultimate perk: wine and appetizers while enjoying the view from the 4th floor bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel - out of the ordinary

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Great stay walking distance to wharf - very close to all the must see's in Monterey. Staff was great and very personable. Roof top and grill..AMAZING! Very clean and comfortable stay. Breakfast was delicious! Would recommend and would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elgin IL

Small and noisy - be warned

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: You will enjoy breakfast and the rooftop lounging area, but that is it.
Cons: Parking space is needed, and an air conditioner could mask some of the traffic noise. Nothing can be done about the tiny room.
Location: On a main street with lots of traffic. Beach is nearby.
The room is very small, so we had no room to move. No air conditioning, so we had to sleep with the windows open. That meant that the traffic noise (this hotel is on a main thoroughfare) kept us awake. Parking is also a problem.