Ratings based on 1,579 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Walking Distance to Cannery Row

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Had a great area to have breakfast with good food.
Very suprised that we were within easy walking distance to Cannery Row. Nice walk to have a great dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from o

Good place to stay

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Nice hotel great staff and good pool but a lot of transmitted noise from room above - could hear every footstep
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I could see the ocean from my bed! Nice room.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Great staff. Helpful and knowledgeable. We arrived before check in on our motorcycles and they were kind enough to hold all our backpacks and bike luggage for us so we could be free to head to the track (Laguna Seca) and then come back and check in later. Great place for breakfast too. I really enjoyed my stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ontario Can.

CALI FAMILY VACATION

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Restaurant served a good breakfast and the staff were nice
Cons: install A/C for rooms next to the main road.
Location: Great location for walks to the wharf
The room was nice and clean. The only reason I didn't rate it higher was because our room was right beside the main road. Since the hotel had no A/C opening the windows to cool the room resulted in lots of road noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Good hotel, excellent staff, sound transfer between rooms excessive. Questionable judgment placing a very large, partying, family on the top floor where it sounded like they were about to come through the ceiling well into the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Derek from New York, NY

Our room was a quiet oasis

Posted Jun 14, 2014
We had the luck to get a quiet room with balcony and fireplace, and a view of trees outside. On our short stay, we felt like we were at a spa. The pool and whirlpool are well maintained, and the staff was amazingly friendly and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Al from Bainbridge Island, WA

Walking Distance to Darn Near Everything Monterey

Posted Jun 12, 2014
On a three day visit to Monterey we made Abrego our home base. And what comfy base it was. The hotel is not new, but is certainly up-to-date, and well cared for. The room are large and have very useable decks. The decor is classy and appropriate. Our interactions with the staff were uniformly friendly and upbeat. The place has a personality! We particularly enjoyed the location which was perfect for walking to downtown, the waterfront and aquarium are as well as Cannery Row. Other that a short drive to Carmel, our car stayed put, but when we did have to drive, the Abrego location is about as good as it gets for access to Highway 1!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by L & J

Nice hotel. Sort of off location.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Hotel was nice enough. Recently renovated and modern. Room was pleasant, but could hear a lot of outside noise. Surprised to find our building had no air conditioning. They sent a fan; that was helpful. Given the mild temps we we ok. Not sure what you would so on hot days. Certainly they have a few. Staff was friendly. Room was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sam from w

Windows

Posted Jun 6, 2014
This is a fairly new hotel, I could not understand why they were using old single pain windows in the bathroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrea from Sacramento, CA

Pleasantly Surprised

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: The motel was beautifully decorated and modern. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The price was very reasonable.
Location: Close to downtown, Trader Joe's and Peet's Coffee
Although this motel received some mixed reviews, we were pleasantly surprised by our experience. Our room was a great value considering that hotels in the Monterrey area are more expensive than in many areas. Although Monterrey has an abundance of motels, most have not been renovated up to this same standard. The biggest two complaints we read about in the other reviews were about the noise and room size. We found that our bedroom was very quiet. In the bathroom the noise of voices carried down from the upstairs room. This did not bother us as we did not spend much time in the bathroom. As for the reviews that complained about the room size, the important thing to remember is that there are three different levels of rooms (Premier, Deluxe and Standard). The deluxe and premier rooms are very spacious with spa style bathrooms. We did not see a standard room but were informed that the main difference is that the standard rooms have standard bathrooms instead of the upgraded spa style. In general, Monterrey motels are old, smell musty and have only been upgraded superficially.That is why we were so pleasantly surprised with this motel and would highly recommend it.