Ratings based on 1,547 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Pleasant Surprise

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: The fireplace and large rooms are the highpoint of this hotel.
Cons: They should add central air conditioning. The hotel restaurant should provide food allergy options.
Location: The location is between the major highways and downtown, the Wharf, the Aquarium, and Cannery Row. A Trader Joe's Grocery is only a block away.
My wife loved the gas fireplace. It is the only source of heat for the room and since we did not see any A/C vents, I expect the rooms might get a bit warm in the summer but we visited in the early Spring. The room was very large and quite clean. The location is convenient. The building exterior is well maintained. There is only one customer washer and dryer and they are a bit overpriced. If we visit Monterey Bay again, this hotel will be at the top of our list (except in the hottest part of the summer).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Oliver from Georgia

Very nice hotel.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: The bathroom was spacious and well appointed.
Cons: I could not get the wifi to work, it was late and I did not call for assistance.The directions could have been a little clearer on how to connect.
Location: Big sur! The coast is beautiful. Drove the Old Coast Rd, a dirt road that turns off the 1 to the left, just before the bixby bridge. Amazing ride!!!!!
We made a last minute reservation and everything went smoothly. Check in was a breeze and the Man at the front desk was very friendly, and offered some suggestions for local attractions. The room was spacious, and the fire place was very nice. The bathroom was very, very nice. Probably the highlight of the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

decent find near Fisherman's Wharf

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Location: Fishermans Wharf and beach. Dennis the Menace children's park, a local landmark for 40 years Fil-Am Club hall
Stayed here in early April 2014. Overall, a pleasant place to stay. Off the main drag so that it's quieter but still a quick drive to Fisherman's Wharf and the beach where canoes/kayaks launch. Pro: Easy drive from the freeway down Freemont St. There is outside dining (Chinese, Thai, Mexican, Dennys) across the street and two gas stations. Looks recently renovated. The main lobby is joined by a cafe for inside dining, which is pretty good. There is a pool and jacuzzi at the second building. Good sized fitness center for a relatively small hotel. Friendly and attentive staff. Good cleanliness not only in the rooms but all throughout the hotel grounds. Con: Wooden frame construction, so noise between rooms/hallway can be a problem. No convenience shop, but there are two minimarts at the gas stations across the street. The business center is very small, like closet size. Three guest computers and a laser printer. The elevator in the #2 wing is at the very end, so unless you get one of the few parking spots at the back, you are in for a trek up and down the stairs with your luggage.
2 out of 5
by Vivian from San Francisco

Terrible experience

Posted Apr 8, 2014
The hotel overall is nice. Quite new and close to the downtown area. The only thing that disappointed us is the check in time. We arrived at about 2:00 pm but was told that no room was available until 4:00 pm. We drove a long way to Monterrey that day and my two year old son needs a place to take a nap. We really didn't want to go anywhere but wait. We waited at the hotel until 3:00pm but still no room available. We were told that we could go to other places first and they will give us a call when rooms are available. We had to go to visit the downtwon area which is close by,hoping we can get a call soon. But nothing happened until we were back to hotel after 4:00pm. What a terrible experience! Will never book Hotel Abrego again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 7, 2014
We had a great stay and was very close to the bike trail going north or south.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to wharf

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Very comfortable. Very clean. And very friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by janine from vacaville, ca

Nice, close to cannery row & the aquarium

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Front desk made reservations for us (large group of 13) on fishermans wharf after we had tried ourselves and failed to get in anywhere with a view on a Saturday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Value

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Hotel was clean, nicely decorated, updated. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from Turlock Ca

Everythihg was great.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Location and price for the room. Room was spacious.
Cons: Not sure if you could insulate better from others noise.
Location: Great resturants within walking. Close to Pier.
The only complaint we had was the people walking around above us. But the hotel was very nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well managed hotel, attractively Decorated

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: The location was convenient and the staff was good. The price is very fair as well.
Location: You are conveniently located to visit historic Monterey, Fisherman's Wharf and the Aquarium.
I got a room for my aunt and my step-mother to stay in while they were visiting us in Monterey. The hotel staff was very professional and helpful. The breakfast was great. The decor was attractive and the room was clean. They reported that the beds were very comfortable as well.