Ratings based on 1,636 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK

Good spot out of the way

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: good quiet position - easy to find and short walk into town
Cons: Pool was on small side with only a few loungers
Location: Carmel is a short drive away and Monterey town is a short walk ... longer if you want to go down to Cannery Row
Hotel is in good spot just out of the town centre with just a 10 min walk to the front - stayed 2 nights on trip and was a great position
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Durham

Lovely hotel, very comfortable

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Room size and comfort
Cons: Air conditioning.
Location: Location not bad but need a car to get to the cannery. Quiet location but Denny's close by
Nice hotel, very clean. staff pleasant. Hotel room a good size and good facilities. Pool and spa very nice. Lovely coffee in the morning. Monterey fantastic, scenery superb. Had a great bike ride and can recommend Blazing Saddles.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Would not recommend

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Conveninetly located. Pretty to look at
Cons: Customer service.
First of all, I traveled with my 92 year old mother. I had asked for a ground floor room to accommodate my mother but the front desk said all ground floor rooms were taken. (We spoke to Front Desk at 9 am but could not register until 4pm that day- by then all the ground floor rooms were assigned). The building had NO elevator and there were 15 steep steps to climb. We had a terrible time trying to carry our luggage up the 15 stairs. My mom almost fell. There were no bell hops around to assist. Second, although the bathrooms look pretty, there is absolutely NO counter space. We had to put our tolietires on top of the toilet or on the floor beside the toilet. Who designed this? A Man, I'll bet. Third, there are no vending machines. If you want a soda you have to go Building 1 to buy from the front desk. (We were in Bldg 4). Not convenient at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Close to town

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Not close to water but convenient to town and restaurants. Tiny rooms but very nicely decorated. Spent until midnight listening to footsteps on 2nd floor, not much soundproofing. Nice looking property but on a main street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Nice hotel in a motel style. Room was very clean and modern, but a bit small. We walked to the downtown area, but it does take about 10-15 minutes. Loved the second sink (bar sink?) and mirror in the room because it made getting ready for the day super fast. It was too warm to use the fireplace, but it looked lovely! We could definitely hear neighbor rooms' doors slamming in the morning, but otherwise we couldn't hear the other rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire, UK

Good hotel close to the harbour

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Good, clean accommodation with parking at a good price. Pool and hot tub.
Location: Walking distance to harbour/pier but longer walk to Cannery Row.
Stayed here one night as travelling down the coast from San Francisco to LA. Good quality hotel with pool, hot tub and free parking. Room was clean and comfortable and a good size. Helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from fresno, ca

Great family & pet friendly hotel close to wharf!

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: We loved the beds, rooms, location, Great hotel!
Cons: There is a great full mirror outside the bathroom. If they put a smaller mirror with a vanity it would be great for getting ready.
Location: Great short walk to downtown for shopping, nightlife, restaurants. You could walk right to Fisherman's wharf. Short drive to aquarium & cannery row.
Loved the pool and jacuzzi! Rooms were spacious and had nice fireplaces! Beds were comfy! Rooms were nice. Only slight complaint would be bathroom was very small and had no shelf area at all for setting all of your toiletries etc. Rooms were quiet. We walked into downtown twice and went right to the wharf! Great central location. We will be back!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Banos CA

Nicely remodeled

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Very clean and upscale!
Cons: attention to customer service. Asking guests if they want a room with air and heated ! Was not aware they didn't have it!
Location: Great location! Used to always stay here when it was the sand dollar! BIG improvement now!
Room had no air conditioning ( its July) so didn't get much sleep. Found out at check out that the room they gave us had no air conditioning (actually that side of building has none. Only main building where you check in has it) desk clerk at check OUT was very sorry for inconvenience and said she'd make a note to have us stay in main building next time. Check IN clerk was not very courtious. HE spoke to a man who came in while waiting on me congratulating him for Germany winning world cup soccer! Which is rude when you're waiting on a customer!(needs more training). This was second stay for us and with all that happened I still recommend staying here! Very clean very upscale! Nice weight room! I'm just better informed now on what to ask for to get the right room Next time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Porland

Monterey stay

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Location was convenient to travel to Carmel, 17 mile drive,... We appreciated the quality of the room and cleanliness.
Cons: AC
Location: See above
We enjoyed the clean and nicely maintained Hotel Abrego. It scored all 5's from us with the exception of a 4 for comfort. We had very warm weather during this particular week in July, and this hotel doesn't have air conditioning. The friendly fellow at the front desk did immediately send over a fan and with the exception of one night, it cooled down in the evenings for the most part.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Walking Distance to Cannery Row

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Had a great area to have breakfast with good food.
Very suprised that we were within easy walking distance to Cannery Row. Nice walk to have a great dinner.