Ratings based on 1,454 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Nice Hotel. Walking distance to downtown.

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Beautiful room. Hardwood floors, fireplace, huge balcony and cozy bed. Could have been cleaner. I didn't take a bath because the tub looked like it wasn't as clean as it should be for an upscale hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Modesto

Nice clean hotel.

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Nice atmosphere. Room was comfortable with great amenities. Within walking distance of cannery row and plenty of restaurants. Plan to stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom N. CA

Thanksgiving in Monterrey

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: location, friendly staff
Cons: Cleanliness of room. Choicer 'pet friendly' rooms
Location: noted above
Good downtown location close to historic points of interest and a stones throw from the pier and the always fun Fisherman's Grotto. Although the staff were friendly we did feel a little disappointed due to our 12lb pooch Rudy. We requested a second floor room away from the road however the only pet friendly rooms are on the semi-busy road two feet away from the pedestrians walking by. We we're thankful for the 1.1 mile walk to Cannery Row which gave us time to work off our Thanksgiving dinner. The room was not as clean as I would have expected and we had to request linen service on the second day of our trip as our room seemed to have been overlooked. Overall we were grateful for the new experience, location, pleasant staff, but we could not in all honesty recommend to our friends
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Able to walk to warf and Cannary Row. Clean room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bigger room than expectes

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Large lounge area & bathroom. Staff was awesome. Visiting for a race & the breakfast opened up early for us. That was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: The fireplace in the room and the balcony were great additions. The front desk staff was absolutely terrific and very accommodating.
Cons: The couch in the room had seen better days, but the rest of the furniture (including the bed) were in good shape.
We stayed at the Hotel Pacific for the Big Sur Half marathon this past weekend. The hotel was perfectly situated w/ large spacious (although slightly dated) rooms. Our room faced Pacific street, which meant a fair amount of noise during the night. Ear plugs did the trick. The hotel was also nice enough to start the breakfast at 4:30am for those of us runners who were anxious to get an early start before the race.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by Christian, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your most recent stay with us. I am happy to inform you that the Hotel Pacific will be going through a major renovation. We were very thrilled on all the positive feedback we got about our early breakfast and we hope to keep doing the same process in the future. I personally would like to thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2014
We have stayed in two other hotels in Monterey that take dogs and the places were not as nice as the Hotel Pacific, plus this hotel is close to the wharf and a lot of walking trails.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Mateo, CA

Close to Downtown Monterey

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: It's comfort
Cons: I don't think the residents should have to pay for parking. Rooms that are set up for two or more people should have two (2) sinks in the bathroom.
Location: Location is terrific.
We've stayed at the Hotel Pacific several times over the years and each time was very pleasent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose

Could have been 5 star

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: The comfort of the bed and the fireplace, nice room altogether. There was plenty of parking available too although we did have to pay $20
Cons: See above in "experience"
Location: It was close to the wharf so we liked the location. Could walk and ride our bikes to town and to the wharf.
Hotel Pacific is an extremely comfortable hotel. The bed is wonderful, the fireplace is great and I liked it that we had a separate thermostat for the bathroom. There is both a shower and a tub which was great. I gave them 4 stars instead of 5 because, based on prior experience at this hotel, I was expecting a much nicer array of items on the breakfast bar, discovered the eliminated the lovely wine hour they used to have in the afternoon, and skimped on small amenities - there was only one bar of bath soap for example. Since my friend was using the bath soap in the shower, I had to take the hand soap into the bath and them retrieve it later when I washed my hands. Also, there was no shower cap. I didn't pack one assuming there would have been one in the room. I was also disappointed because while the hotel was practically vacant and they had lots of options of where to put us, they chose to put us directly across from some sort of outdoor iron cage that had a refrigerator locked inside with food for the morning. Sure enough, bright and early we were awoken to the sound of clanging metal when the workers came to get out the food. With so many rooms available, we didn't get way those chose that room for us. Could have easily been a 5 star with just a few touches. The Monterey Plaza has similar prices and is a higher end place. I will try them next time I stay in Monterey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the wharf

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Staff very accommodating could use air-conditioning and needs to be upgraded which was told they're about to do