Ratings based on 453 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Modesto, CA

Surprise in heart of Santa Cruz

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Loved the size of the rooms.
Location: Walking distance from beach, boardwalk…a long walk, but still a walk. A great foot massage place around the corner!
We were happily surprised with the hotel. In the middle of a bunch of nasty hotels, lies a gem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel near the beach

Posted Aug 12, 2014
its worth the money to stay at this hotel. rooms are updated and contemporary, clean and comfortable. lots of cool things to do there. nice pool and great restaurant. enjoyed it very much.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

70's hotel with a makeover.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: New makeover of the hotel was attractive and perhaps a bit trendy. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable and seemed brand new.
Cons: I think there could be a more competitive price point.
Very clean, nice staff. Room service forgot to bring us a menu. I wasn't upset, but do recall that point. Hotel was located centrally, but not really within walking distance to anything. Hotel appeared to be built in the 60's 70's. That said, had a nice new make over that attempted to justify rather pricey stay for one night. I thought it was too expensive for what I got, would have preferred something where I didn't have to drive to my destinations / beach. Seems like a good destination if you don't plan on leaving much and just swimming in the pool/hot-tub. I think there could be a more competitive price point. If you put Doilies on the table at Arby's, does it justify a $10 premium? The rooms were very Small, the bathroom was separated by a sliding door. Wasn't too thrilled with that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Lipstick on a pig!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Surface upgrades to old motel doesn't make it a boutique hotel. And, agree with other reviewers that rooms are very small.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Rude staff. Mediocre attempt at converting an old motel to a chic hotel. Pool area made up (somewhat) for the negatives.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from k

I've had better

Posted Aug 5, 2014
We paid 200$ to stay in a room that the AC didn't really work and we had to pay an extra 10$ for parking. The next day we checked out went to the comfort in down the street. Didn't pay 10$ for parking AC worked had a complametry breakfast and for 200$ a night we had a hot tub in our room. The paradox is over priced for what you get and the hotel staff is cold and in friendly! You couldn't pay me to stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San ramon

Great location, walking distance to downtown.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay at Paradox. It has been updated with a great pool area, which is hard to find in Santa Cruz. The standard room is a little small, but we don't spend much time in the room. The Restaurant, Bar and Pool service was fantastic. The front desk is on top of their game and really went out of their way with recommendations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Second Stay

Posted Jul 31, 2014
I added a night to my room and they offered me a room without air conditioning for a discounted rate of $300.00! I had to ask if the window opened and they reluctantly told me "no"! I had a reservation for four nights and after the first night they called my on my cell and asked I would be checking out!! I was an hour away and they had already assisted me in changing rooms and keys that morning! Apparently they don't communicate with each other. The hotel is nice but the staffing is lacking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Alameda, CA

Best and nicest hotel in Santa Cruz

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Location: Boardwalk, beach, Pacific Avenue
I’ve had trouble finding nice places to stay in Santa Cruz. I normally stay at the Dream Inn but they have a two night minimum and I was only able to stay for one night. I booked this hotel on Expedia (cheaper than on the hotel website). They were almost sold out. I called the hotel to make sure if I booked a king that a rollaway would fit. They told me yes so I ordered the rollaway. When I went to check in, they told me I was misinformed and they were sold out of rooms. John and Nicole, the managers, ended up making it right and getting us a room with two beds in a very timely fashion. We were there for less than 24 hours but we hung out by the pool (lovely and amazing drink service, attentive lifeguard staff), ate dinner in their café (amazing selection and reasonably priced), and had a wonderful night sleep (comfortable beds and clean rooms). 5 star service. Everyone was great. This is my new go to hotel in Santa Cruz!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Nicely renovated

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Cons: The hotel was very nice overall. We had 2 rooms and both had hair on the bathroom floor. Reason for lower scores.
Very comfortable atmosphere. Breakfast in the restaurant was very good.