Ratings based on 243 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, but older & expensive

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs refurb.
You're paying for the location. This is an older place, reasonably clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything!!! Different management please!
Location: Beach, wharf, Boardwalk and downtown.
We checked in and the front desk girl was ok..not much personality. She told us where the breakfast would be in the morning, where the vending & ice machines are located etc.So we go in our room and wow- the room was tiny, the carpet was disgusting - old and torn up. The bedding was old as dirt! The bathroom was in decent condition. So we went out for the day and when we got back we went to check out the ice machine - well ya there is a machine but didn't work! There were vending machines but empty except 1 old bag of wheat thins. Ok so we were dealing with it all. Thought we are in a good location. Then the morning came. We had to be at the college to move out our daughter so we thought we will go to breakfast but first take showers. Oh wait - there was NO HOT WATER! We called and had to wait a long time for him to fix. I told the lady well now we are late so you need to discount our stay. She said ok. Then we go check out and the man was rude as heck! He was just checking us out then I said wait where is the discount? He said we fixed the issue. I had to explain how we missed breakfast and we're now late to our destination. So he rudely gave 15% and said that's all you get!! We will never recommend this place or go back! The only thing going for this place is location! Disgusting!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2015
Enjoyed Santa Cruz. Really. The hotel was pleasing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland, Ca

Close to the beach, but other than that...

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Late check out, bed/pillow/linen quality
I was in town to run a half marathon, I needed a clean inexpensive place to stay the night. Check in was quick and relatively painless, but when I asked for late check out they best they could do was offer an extra half hour. Then she proceeded to tell me that it would be an extra $10 per hour to go over. Once I finished my race the next morning I was forced to rush back to the room and pack up quickly. The room was insanely tinny and the walls were crazy thin (I may as well have just joined the women in the next room who seemed to be having a great evening!). Between the noise and the uncomfortable bed and bad pillows I got no sleep and wasn't in great shape for the next day. Overall, the room was clean and relatively inexpensive, but next time I'd pay double the price to stay in a hotel that is more accommodating and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach clean too

Posted Apr 13, 2015
A nice quiet hotel,clean and close to the beach. We would stay again next time we come to Santa Cruz . Breakfast room was nice and many options for food. Overall I would recommend to friends and family for sure
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location location location

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Great quiet location 5 minutes from the boardwalk. Beds are saggy. Fans spit dust so thick it coats your belongings with film. No screens but the balcony is spacious and the view is fantastic. Spotless tub/shower.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach.

Posted Apr 9, 2015
If you want a high end hotel, this is not the one. If your looking for a place to lay your head at night, this hotel is ok. Definate walking distance to the beach or Boardwalk. Nothing fancy but worked ok for our needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Chris W from Vallejo, CA

Nice rooms, good location

Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice room in a good location, comfortable beds, nice view. Only downside was the shower in our room didn't really drain. Parking lot is a little tight so I wouldn't stay here if you have a big vehicle, but it wasn't a problem for me. Would stay here again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Vincent from Pittsburgh PA

DO NOT STAY HERE.

Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
We decided at the last minute to stop in Santa Cruz for the evening on our way to San Fransisco. We did not research reviews on line as we normally do. We wanted something close to the boardwalk so we could eat & drink w/out the hassle of driving & parking. This hotel had 2 or 3 rooms left. All the other hotels in the immediate area were full. We checked in about 6pm. Grabbed our jackets, left the luggage in the room & went out. We get back after a night out and our room card keys don't work. The attendant tried several things; nothing works. The manager/owner had to be called from home, arrives 15 min.later w/a device to bypass the electric door lock. It's now 30 min. We're waiting to get into our room. Then we start to get settled in, TV doesn't work. 15 min later mgr. Comes back again to fix the TV and SPICOLI and friends "dude" are having a righteous party next door. Mgr. asks them to keep it down. They continue to loudly party on and we have no tv to drown out the noise. The TV is unable to be fixed. We finally move the only vacant room (below Spicoli) I can still hear him but not as bad w/the TV on. Mgr said cannot refund $ because we booked on line but will comp us a free room next time we stay. I live in Pgh, PA. There will never be another visit to Santa Cruz & I wouldn't stay here again even if it was free.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from American Canyon, CA

Quite and nice hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2015
We enjoyed our stay and staff were nice. Parking a little tight.