Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sonoma County

One night

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Quick stay over in area. Staff great and vey helpful. Room quite clean and cozy. Breakfast hit the spot. A great find!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, Ca.

Improvement recommendation

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Pleasant personnel.
Cons: Signage.
Location: Worked well....short trip to Cannery Row.
Traveling west there was no signage....the hotel was blocked by the gas station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Turlock

Clean and neat hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: It was clean and close to alot of shopping areas.
Cons: The connection between the gas station market and the hotel was very odd and a little uncomfortable.
Location: It was close to Marina Beach and several shopping areas and food restaurants.
Hotel was nice. It was very clean and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. Guest check-in staff was very friendly and helpful!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Comfortable and clean

Posted Jul 13, 2014
The motel is just behind a gas station, so initially it's a little confusing. Staff were all really nice, and the breakfast was the standard good american continental breakfast. Our room was in a good condition and very comfortable. Getting food in the immediate vicinity isn't particularly great, with your options limited to a Korean BBQ or a pretty pricey Italian.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Good night sleep

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Room cleanness and updated bathroom.
Location: Carmel, Monterrey, Big Sur, Point Lobos, beach
We only needed to sleep one night, the bed was comfy, the room was clean with the updated bathroom. Decent hotel to stay for one night. Breakfast was ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Staff was pleasant and the room was clean and fairly new. Lots of room, easy parking, good location for on off the freeway for Monterey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sade from VA

Great value

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: The spaciousness of the room and the large vanity mirror which was great for two women getting ready in the morning.
Cons: The carpet had a few buckled areas, plus I thinkg it could use a deep cleaning.
Location: About 20 minutes from Monterey. I didn't do much in the actual city of Vallejo, but I there seemed to be nice places near by.
I stayed here this month while visiting a friend in Montery. My friend and I shared a double room and there was plently of space for both of us to feel comfortable. The hotel manager was very friendly. Also, the continental breakfast was very fulfilling. I woud stay here again if ever in the area. Great job!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Most everything.
Payed for a room with 2 double beds, was given a room with 1 double. Moved us to a room with a king and a roll away.Cable tv quite for a while. Not a good experience. Would not stay there again. Was told that Expedia messed up the reservation. Print out said 2 double beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from woodland, CA

Nice, clean, and affordable.

Posted Apr 26, 2014
I booked two rooms (108 and 109, I stayed in 108) my friends said their room was nice and I didn't hear of any complaints. My room was very clean and had complimentary mints by the bedside and a nice window that you could actually open up for the fresh marina air. I chose to stay in marina for 3 days because we all planned to go to Santa Cruz and monterey so marina was a good and affordable middle place. The continental breakfast was really nice. They had tasty fresh coffee with an assortment of creamers, sweeteners (even blue agave was an option!), milk, juice, eggos, bakery bagels, wheat bread for toasting, svenhaards pastries, hard boiled eggs, lil smokies sausages, cereals, oatmeal (variety), bananas, yoplait yogurt, and all of the condiments available. Also at check in, there's chocolate chip cookies available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2014 by TerryB owner, Hotel Management
Jamie Thank you for taking the time to write a review and thank you for staying with us. Sarah and her team keep the rooms fresh and clean. They put out a nice breakfast that would cost $$$ but is included. Thank you again for staying with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by emiel from stanley falklands

Clean, comfortable and friendly

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: Friendly, clean and perfect service.
Cons: Don't do anything about it, it was perfect.
Location: Location is a little outside, 15min drive to all the Monterey attractions.
We had a pleasant 3 night stay, no problems. Friendly, clean and safe environment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2014 by TerryB owner, Hotel Management
Emiel Thank you for staying with us and thank you for writing a review. Our team are friendly and keep our large rooms clean and fresh. Our Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey bay is great for business or pleasure. Thank you again for staying with us.