Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orange county ca.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
The service was fantastic, great breakfast service. I wish the tub could be a little bit bigger:-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grass Valley, CA

Clean, safe hotel.

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: The staff was very nice, the hotel is well lit at night so it feels very safe, there was a free breakfast with lots of items to choose from.
Cons: Beds are a little hard and pillows a bit too flat.
Location: The hotel is only about 10 minutes from Cannery Row and cheaper than staying in Monterey.
We had a nice stay. We had room 206 and we liked it because it was at the end and slightly tucked away so you only have one wall adjoining another person's room. Since it is an upstairs room, there is no one staying above you so it was pretty quiet. The room was very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Everything was fine except the beds were a little uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Excellent value...nice clean rooms...helpful staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

Better value for the price

Posted Jul 27, 2014
I've stayed in several hotels/motels in the area and found this one to be as good as others that cost more. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and comfortable and although it is directly in front of a gas station I felt safe. I would return from work in the evenings and find people/families chatting out front. The continental breakfast was adequate though there is limited, tight seating. My only complaints are A. the A/C filter was really dirty; as a person with allergies this is a problem. I've noticed however that it is common among nearly all of the places I've stayed so that before I turn on the A/C I remove the filter. B. even though there were several placards regarding their ecofriendly initiatives (ex. "reusing your towel? hang it up! want a new one? Leave it on the floor", etc.) they didn't follow through. Overall I certainly recommend this motel to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sonoma County

One night

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Quick stay over in area. Staff great and vey helpful. Room quite clean and cozy. Breakfast hit the spot. A great find!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, Ca.

Improvement recommendation

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Pleasant personnel.
Cons: Signage.
Location: Worked well....short trip to Cannery Row.
Traveling west there was no signage....the hotel was blocked by the gas station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Karen from Novato

Friendly Service

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay at the Howard Johnson motel. We liked that we were able to walk a couple blocks to some decent restaurants. The people in the front office were very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Turlock

Clean and neat hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: It was clean and close to alot of shopping areas.
Cons: The connection between the gas station market and the hotel was very odd and a little uncomfortable.
Location: It was close to Marina Beach and several shopping areas and food restaurants.
Hotel was nice. It was very clean and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. Guest check-in staff was very friendly and helpful!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Comfortable and clean

Posted Jul 13, 2014
The motel is just behind a gas station, so initially it's a little confusing. Staff were all really nice, and the breakfast was the standard good american continental breakfast. Our room was in a good condition and very comfortable. Getting food in the immediate vicinity isn't particularly great, with your options limited to a Korean BBQ or a pretty pricey Italian.