Ratings based on 2,337 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, OR

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: Spacious rooms, lobby area good to meet with traveling companions.
Location: Good location for sight seeing area. Convenient Big Sur Marathon participants.
Room was clean, spacious, had options for ventilation. Staff were timely and provided clean linens daily.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom El Cerrito CA

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: no mini bar
Good hotel for the price in this area. That's it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Beijing.

Nice hotel with good golf course view.

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Front desk staff is superb. Helpful, friendly and all looked like models.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom H

Amazing staff

Posted Apr 27, 2015
We generally don't stay at corporate Hotels because they lack personality and feel less personal but the staff at your hotel was exceptional across the board. They were efficient, polite, acted liked they cared and were extremely friendly. The sports bar could use a more creative layout and less TV's after all the surroundings are so beautiful seems a shame to have a bar that lacks character as it could be woodsy and cool. Great stay Thank you!!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Surprisingly Average Hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Beautiful location. My room had a huge desk which was helpful to me. Nice pillows. Room service oatmeal and coffee were great.
Cons: Everything. Someone should buy this hotel and renovate it. Especially the management, customer service, and housekeeping.
Location: MB Aquarium. Peak Performance Massage. I heard Gusto restaurant is great.
Please check out my review on Yelp. The hotel is in a gorgeous location but falls far short of a "Hotel & Spa Resort." However, you do have to pay a daily resort fee. Housekeeping tried to come in at 8:45. They also left long beach hair in my sink (not mine). They are understaffed and disorganized. The room was fine and the bed was comfortable but I could hear all the noise from the other rooms. It was fine for a place to stay for a 2-day conference but I wouldn't recommend it as a romantic destination. For a massage, go to Peak Performance Massage, right around the corner. I couldn't get anyone on the phone at the hotel spa so I gave up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom berkeley, CA

nice hotel convenient location

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: location
Location: cannery row, downtown Carmel, fisherman's wharf, Aquarium
only stayed one night but we had a nice time. we enjoyed seeing fisherman wharf and the Aquarium
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Not a resort

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Bed and bathroom
Cons: The service, the restaurant food, the coffee in the room
Location: Monterey and Carmel are beautiful towns to visit. The 17 mile drive is a must, the views are amazing. Breakfast at Lou Lou's is also a must.
I expected a lot from this Hyatt. The hotel is large and it has a nice golf course, but if you are not playing golf, there is not a lot to offer. The room is modern and has a nice bathroom. The rooms have balconies with chairs but the balcony is so small that you can't seat in the chairs. The room didn't have water, not even to purchase and the coffee is really bad from a very cheap brand. We went to the restaurant in the first night and the food was so bad that we had to return it to the kitchen. The service in the restaurant was also awful, again, very surprising in a Hyatt. The hotel charges an extra $20 resort fee per day and extra tax after you already paid for the room and the taxes and to be honest, this is definitely not a resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Lots of amenities and luxuries. More geared for adults. Super friendly staffs.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom W

Old and Worn

Posted Apr 15, 2015
I'm not sure where 60 million in renovations went, but it did not go to building 14. Our room looked like it came out of the '80s. The elevator was old and slow, the wood trims and wood doors were outdated, worn and gross, and the hallways were depressing. It felt like walking into a motel. The room itself had beat up chairs with ripped seams, and the lamps were all lopsided and the shades were stained (on all 3 lamps!) The nicest part of this hotel was the bathroom, but the towels were rough and thin and the shampoo was like water and we had to go buy our own. I was really disappointed in the quality of this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
The hotel staff is pretty friendly very good customer service.