Ratings based on 698 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Perfect location, about 5 minutes walking to the boardwalk
parking is pretty bad, reservation claims there is a spot for you, however this is not the case. They DO give you a parking pass, but this only allows you to park on the street. So you have to compete with the other people trying to park in the area. Also if you lose the permit they give you they charge you 200 dollars... The room and bathroom were cleaner than expected, and the beach boardwalk is literally just down the street, which was the reason knights inn was chosen over other local hotels. Dont lose your room keys theyll charge if you lose them. Overall pleasant experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

Close to beach and boardwalk

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Close to boardwalk.
Cons: Update the rooms, get better beds!
Location: Very close to boardwalk and beach.
This place is super old! Rooms need to be updated! Bathroom window did not lock. Beds were really uncomfortable!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2014
This hotel is conveniently located near the Beach Boardwalk. There was a refrigerator in the room which was nice because we could have cereal in our room for breakfast. The person at the front desk was nice and helped us with parking and recommendations for where to have dinner.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

would not stay here again

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: it had two double beds in the room
Cons: Beds, coffee and condiments, advertising continental breakfast they should have provided it
Location: location was good. quick walk to boardwalk and beach
Oerall stay was disappointing. Had booked the room with understanding continental breakfast was provided. It wasn't. Bare bones coffee, but not made available at 7am. No tea. Room was small, beds very uncomfortable. No soap in the room, had to get some from staff, only had one bar left. Pool was closed. Staff not helpful with a late check out, which I have never been denied at any other motel. Would not recommend and would not stay here again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Jordan

Great location, shabby (not chic) rooms.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
One night was enough. Great location but very run down condition. Black hairs on the clean? towells. Yuck.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent UK

Well positioned for a walk to the beach and pier.

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: The main plus points were the location and a small pool.
Cons: The decor of the room was a little tired and carpet worn.
Location: The main reason for being in santa Cruz was for the boardwalk, the railroad up to Roaring Camp, the pier with bars and restaurants.
The staff were friendly and efficient, the room clean and presentable, if a little worn. The situation was ideal for a stroll down to the beach, pier and boardwalk. Parking could have been an issue, but the parking pass made it easy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced and rude staff

Posted Aug 26, 2014
the sheets as well as towels were stained. The staff was very rude and acted as if we were an inconvenience to them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regina, Canada

Nice hotel, very close to boardwalk

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Clean and spacious rooms, Close to Santa Cruz Boardwalk, Helpful staff
Cons: Staff was helpful, but maid did not speak English and tried entering the room twice while we slept after we told her no cleaning was necessary
Location: Great location, about a 15 minute walk to downtown bars, 5 minute walk to the boardwalk and about a 20 minute walk to the Santa Cruz Diner.
We stayed a few nights here during our honeymoon tour of the coast and were very happy with our stay. The neighbourhood seems a little sketchy but we felt safe walking to and from the boardwalk and downtown at all hours. Nice clean room that was very spacious, bathroom was also quite large and the shower had good pressure. Main selling feature is how you can walk from here to downtown or the boardwalk very easily. Boardwalk is only about 5 min away.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient location

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Walking distance to Boardwalk. Quiet location. Hotel staff friendly. Cons: Extremely basic amenities and less than comfortable bed for the high summer price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newport Beach CA

top dollar for a run down motel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: the room was a nice size with a fridge and microwave
Cons: the property needs to be cleaned up in general....it's seen better days.
Location: You can easily walk to the boardwalk and rides
We paid $300 for a room in a run down motel in what appeared to be a dicey part of town...I would NOT return to this hotel . We booked it due to its decent reviews as dog friendly ...Ironically, we paid only $75 more for a wonderful hotel in Carmel the very next night.