Ratings based on 876 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient to the Boardwalk

Posted May 30, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: The hotel suffers from a poorly designed reconfigurations of rooms to cram in extra bedrooms and carpeting installed over floors without leveling.
Location: 3 blocks to the boardwalk, 4 blocks to downtown
This hotel is on a quiet street just a few blocks from the Santa Cruz beach and boardwalk. It's also an easy walk to downtown Santa Cruz (Front St/Pacific Ave.) The location is fairly quiet too. However, the rooms have bizarre extra 'suite' rooms carved from bathrooms. In all rooms for our group the extra bedroom had a bathroom-style ventilation fan while the bathrooms had none. At least one of the bathrooms had visible mold on the ceiling. In the bedrooms, broken mini-blinds and mysterious bumps under the carpet were features. Also, one room had a laminated card cautioning against using the hair dryer while the room heater or A/C units were running. Overall it was clean but functionality was off. This place has the potential to be a very nice spot but it's in need of a complete remodel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sauberes Hotel in guter Lage

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: Lage
Location: In direkter Umgebung zum Boardwalk bzw. Strand. Bei der wharf befinden sich einige gute Restaurants
Sehr freundliches Personal, sehr saubere Zimmer Hervorragende Lage (nur 5 Minuten zu Fuß bis Boardwalk, Strand)
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Eureka, Ca

Positive: Close to Broardwalk

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: We did have 2 rooms which was sort of fun for the kids. Only one TV though. We felt comfortable with its location even though it was "older town."
We wanted to be close to the Broardwalk and were, but ended up driving to the big parking lot anyway. I knew the place was older, but I think it could use a bunch of cleaning and new mattresses! Warning, no hair dryer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oakland, CA

Convenient & Quiet

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Location: Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk
We arrived late and the night manager was extremely nice. The room smelled fresh, and the beds were comfortable. There was plenty of room for our stuff. On-site parking was lacking, but because it was off-season, street parking was no problem. No frills, but we needed a clean place to bunk and this was fine. The personal service kicked it up for me.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Northern California

Clean but basic hotel close to the beach.

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Proximity to the beach. Quite
Cons: Could use: bedside reading lamp, more than one wastebasket.
Location: Wharf 2 blocks away.
Staff was pleasant and helpful. Room & linen were clean. The beds were OK. Be aware that there is no bedside light - we asked the manager and he brought a small but adequate table lamp for our use. Also, there was no hairdryer, but the manager provided when asked. We appreciated the quiet in the evenings, and the proximity to the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom south lake tahie

Nice hotel close to the boardwalk

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Not really
Location: Walk to the beach and the boardwalk
Stayed just for one night but loved it ,I walked to the beach and then to the boardwalk
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom G

You get what you pay for.

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Distance to Boardwalk is great but hotel has very limited parking and the rooms need updating. And there was no continental breakfast as they advertised.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom a

It was okay.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
First day they didn't let us go into their swimming pool,because they were cleaning it. Then they didn't let us go in until the second day,until it was clean,which was very late in the day that we got in the pool.Room number 206 smells horrible and it was damp.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lodi ca.

Hotel for large family

Posted Mar 17, 2015
This was our second stay with this hotel. Our first experience was good because I have a large family and not alot if money. This trip was not as good. The employees were unfriendly except for the owners and the house keepers they were very friendly. I felt that the room was not very clean and they went out of their way to make that right. My biggest problem was when we came back at night and could see right in the bathroom windows. I was appaled o felt violated like people had been watching my family showring and everything else. I feel bad about leaving a bad review because they really tried to make it right but I need to vent my feeling. Im very sorry. I do like the fact that they can acomodate a large family at a fair prive. Thank u for that.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unpleasant

Posted Mar 15, 2015
The air conditioning didn't work well. It was very hot through out the night. Did not sleep well at all. Bed was so uncomfortable. Paint peeling off in the rooms and bathroom. Looks like there was mold near the shower and looks like it was painted over. Will never go there again!