Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, but overpriced!

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Service is phenomenal. Very professional.
Our room was advertised as "ocean view", and I payed a significant premium for this. In fact, the room did not have an ocean view at all... it was on the second floor, facing the street. All we got was car noise! They told us that the ocean could be seen "by looking through the trees". Seriously? For a very classy hotel with fantastic service, this misrepresentation was very disappointing. We were celebrating a special event, which made the entire experience even more unfortunate. Bottom line: don't get fooled by "ocean view" and waste extra money :(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2014
The only thing even remotely wrong with this place is the lack of air condition in the room. It is incredible otherwise, and given the weather is typically more moderate it's likely not an issue most times of the year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Very nice European style hotel. Very convenient to the main street of Carmel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Dreamscape

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: We liked the location of the hotel, the amenities and the ambience.
Cons: I we could say anything its that room service could be better. The eggs were cold by the time they got them to us. But, everything else was wonderful.
From the minute we checked in we felt like we had entered a beautiful garden. The rooms were comfortable and decorated perfectly. The food at the hotel was delicious. The service was beyond from the minute you pulled up to the day you left they anticipated your every need. We would go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

CHARMED ONE NIGHTER

Posted Jul 18, 2014
A wonderful one evening stay Great staff Our stay was sheer perfection. Auberge is totally Relais and Chateau worthy! We will be back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

Very nice hotel in downtown with excellent service

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Service was the best. A lot of personal touches and good will towards guests.
Cons: The hotel description MUST mention that some rooms are accessible only by stairs. For some people it might be important to know prior to booking.
This hotel offers most of the things one might expect from a good hotel for a short stay. It's conveniently located close to everything but at the same time it's quiet enough. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The room was clean, nicely decorated, had everything necessary and some extras (drinking water, in-house prepared nuts and candies, coffee). Everything was just right. And what I value a lot: we've never got that unpleasant feeling you get more and more often from various services that skimp on everything. L Auberge Carmel do not do just a bare minimum that "officially" gets them to the certain star rating but actually create comfort for their guests. We'll definitely stay there the next time we travel to Carmel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Susan W. from Upper Saddle River, NJ

Lovely

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything about this hotel was lovely. You enter through an archway in a French paradise. Up a few steps into a courtyard filled with flowers, a fountain, some seating as well as a few tables. I spent a few hours here one afternoon reading with a glass of wine. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Our room was perfect and the turn down service provided fresh milk and homemade cookies. The location is perfect for the beach and shopping/dining. I hated to leave!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Del Mar CA

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Ideally located to experience the village of Carmel. The 10 course dinner was fantastic. Breakfast is simple but adequate.