Ratings based on 288 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The room is too smal

Posted Jul 23, 2015
The room is too small,I won't recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, good location

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: Good size room with a view, comfortable bed, great breakfast and lovely patio deck
Cons: More car parking
Location: Ocean St for restaurants and shops, close to the beach,
Great hotel, felt very intimate and cosy even though there are many rooms. Staff were very helpful and little luxury touches were nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Beautiful hotel, close to beach and shopping

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Hotel and grounds are beautiful! The beach in 2 blocks away and everything is walkable. They provide a shuttle service to anywhere you would like to go in Carmel which is wonderful! Beds are so comfortable and you can hear the ocean waves at night!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Very charming hotel. We liked everything - gorgeous view, very friendly staff, delicious breakfast. Location is superb.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pismo Beach Ca

Unpleasant stay at La Playa

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: Attractive hotel and grounds
Cons: Better equipped rooms for handicap or people with special needs.
Location: the location is fine except it makes parking a problem
The hotel and grounds are attractive. The parking is limited and I didn't see parking for handicap. My husband has several medical issues which made getting around the very small room we were in very difficult. I had to move furniture to help him out of bed to use the bathroom and the bathroom door blocked part of the toilet seat. He couldn't take a shower because he couldn't get in the tub. Our pet spent the night growling at sounds from the hallway and the floor above us. The price we were charged for what we received was outrageous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Breakfast, complimentary wine, cookies and the friendly helpful staff where the best part of this hotel.
Cons: Room size.
Location: Restaurants and the beach were very close.
The hotel and grounds are beautiful. There is no elevator, so the 3rd floor meant two flight of stairs. Our room was very small. The end of the bed was about 12" from the desk, so when the chair was not tucked in there was no room to pass. This also made it difficult getting up in the middle of the night. The breakfast was fantastic. The staff very, very friend and helpful. Complimentary Sangria and wine each night was very refreshing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ted from Oklahoma City

Our new favorite!

Posted Apr 19, 2015 on Hotels
An unexpected oasis. Rooms are a bit small, but have shuttered windows that overlook beautifully landscaped grounds. This was a large home, at one time. Built by an artist for his wife. It's very near the shore. Don't skip the complimentary breakfast served on the second floor veranda! It is presented artfully. Service is great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Åsa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nancy from NY

Anniversary trip

Posted Apr 18, 2015 on Hotels
Enjoyed our stay.. Checkin process, bartender and food was awesome!