Ratings based on 330 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2015
Nice hotel, that is being remodeled. Only item I didn't really like is the bathroom doors are on a roller track (the barn door type look) so when you close the door there is a gap, you could see into the bathroom still from the sides. We felt there was no privacy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Slightly updated room at a budget hotel

Posted May 4, 2015
The updated room at La Quinta Monterey is pleasant enough but by no means upscale. It is still feels like a budget hotel/motel with very limited service. It is a good place to stay if you only looking for comfortable bed in a roomy clean room. Look elsewhere if you want a fancier hotel for your vacation. The location is a little out of the way from most attractions. There are no shuttle service so having a car is a must. The only problem I had with the room is really the noise. La Quinta is seated right by the highway and you will likely hear noises all night long. If you are a light sleeper you won't be happy.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom So Cal

Total hotel under renovation

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: The beds were very comfortable.
Cons: Advanced notification of renovations by hotel and expedia.
We were shocked to find the entire hotel under renovation when we arrived. We stayed because it was late and at the end of a two week vacation. At least half of the rooms on each of the three floors were being renovated. Our room was incomplete. It was missing a desk, towel racks and the toilet leaked. The carpet was stained and old. It was painted, had new drapes and new beds. While we were pleased with the 12:00 checkout, the hammers started at nine. We felt we should have been given a discounted rate for our room under the circumstances which is what the manager though we had been given when I talked to him at checkout. We paid Expedia directly and paid the posted price. We had never stayed in a La Quinta before. We will be cautious next time. They did not have any posted handicap parking in their parking garage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Danielfrom Portland

Very good location and easy freeway access

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
An older motel, which is being upgraded, but very convenient to everything and with close and easy freeway access. The breakfast is a plus, good choices, ready by 6am, and great way to start the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2015
It was good. Staff at checkout could have been friendlier.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Okay but has road noise.

Posted Feb 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
It was noisy because it is right on the freeway but we weren't bothered by the noise too much. It's an older hotel but clean. We were comfortable here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tx

Good but...

Posted Feb 7, 2015
A smaller LQ, great location and great staff. One side of rooms face an elevated roadway, white noise from permanent fan helped but super loud otherwise. Ask for non roadside rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Only problem many rooms under construction and hot water slow coming on
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, Ca

Clean, comfortable for the price!

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: Very clean
Cons: Rooms need updating
Location: Monterey Bay Aquarium; Fisherman's Wharf & a lot more!!
It was a pleasant experience overall! Our family enjoyed the hot breakfast. It was also nice that the housekeeper made sure that we have fresh towels & new supply of toiletries for all 3 days that we stayed there!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com