Ratings based on 326 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Slightly updated room at a budget hotel

Posted May 4, 2015
The updated room at La Quinta Monterey is pleasant enough but by no means upscale. It is still feels like a budget hotel/motel with very limited service. It is a good place to stay if you only looking for comfortable bed in a roomy clean room. Look elsewhere if you want a fancier hotel for your vacation. The location is a little out of the way from most attractions. There are no shuttle service so having a car is a must. The only problem I had with the room is really the noise. La Quinta is seated right by the highway and you will likely hear noises all night long. If you are a light sleeper you won't be happy.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom So Cal

Total hotel under renovation

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: The beds were very comfortable.
Cons: Advanced notification of renovations by hotel and expedia.
We were shocked to find the entire hotel under renovation when we arrived. We stayed because it was late and at the end of a two week vacation. At least half of the rooms on each of the three floors were being renovated. Our room was incomplete. It was missing a desk, towel racks and the toilet leaked. The carpet was stained and old. It was painted, had new drapes and new beds. While we were pleased with the 12:00 checkout, the hammers started at nine. We felt we should have been given a discounted rate for our room under the circumstances which is what the manager though we had been given when I talked to him at checkout. We paid Expedia directly and paid the posted price. We had never stayed in a La Quinta before. We will be cautious next time. They did not have any posted handicap parking in their parking garage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2015
It was good. Staff at checkout could have been friendlier.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tx

Good but...

Posted Feb 7, 2015
A smaller LQ, great location and great staff. One side of rooms face an elevated roadway, white noise from permanent fan helped but super loud otherwise. Ask for non roadside rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Only problem many rooms under construction and hot water slow coming on
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, Ca

Clean, comfortable for the price!

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: Very clean
Cons: Rooms need updating
Location: Monterey Bay Aquarium; Fisherman's Wharf & a lot more!!
It was a pleasant experience overall! Our family enjoyed the hot breakfast. It was also nice that the housekeeper made sure that we have fresh towels & new supply of toiletries for all 3 days that we stayed there!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Arlenefrom Oakland. Ca

OK stay

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
Stayed for New Years Eve and New Year Day. Hotel entrance is small, the breakfast area is part of the lobby, which made it awkward. there looked to be some construction going on, on the other side of the lobby. hopefully once completed it will open up the are away from the front deck. No Microwave in rooms, but had one available in lobby/breakfast area. Room was neat and clean. Overall the stay was Ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Cabos

Great hotel, excelent service

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Nice place and good service
Location: Close to all the local attractions
We stop in our way to San Francisco and They have a great brekfast includes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jayfrom Santa Barbara

Tucked awat in Monterery.

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just did an overnight in Monterey and needed a clean quiet place which I got, but the tip about the restaurant within walking distance was great (Pica de Gallo on Del Monte Ave) Great food in little unprepossessing place. Outside a Christmas tree truck had been disabled after being hit by a woman running the light so there would have been no way to drive back to the hotel in the rain anyway. I walked by the nature preserve instead, raindrops falling like tears. In the morning I was restored by a full breakfast of eggs, waffles, bacon, orange juice and muffins--on the house, natch.