Ratings based on 829 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Indifferent

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Had covered free parking.
Cons: Cleanliness, friendliness on check-in, broken blinds in room
Location: Pretty close to Cannery Row and close (but a short drive) to Alvarado Street where all the restaurants and bars seemed to be.
Found this hotel in a book called Pacific Coast Highway Hotels 2013 and it was marked as a "Personal Favourite" which is what swayed me. All I can say is a lot must have changed since 2013. Didn't find it friendly (as reviewer did in this book). It was tired looking and the photos on the internet were way too flattering. Swimming pool and patio area did not look even half as inviting as in the adverts and we didn't use either. The room was cleanish but could have been a lot better. Dust and hair behind the toilet for example and the scatter cushions on the bed did not smell too fresh! The complimentary breakfast was basic but at least it saved us having to go out and spend extra on breakfast elsewhere. Had three nights there and that was enough. We were on a road trip so didn't unpack which is just as well as there was one small rail for four adults to share. Not my favorite place during our trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fremont, CA

Standard hotel, good room amenities

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Hotel seems a little old and rusty from the outside but the rooms are well equipped with many small things that make a difference - like bath robes, spacious room, tables and side dresser. Some negatives are that it can be a little noisy since it is right next to the road, no ac in the room, one receptionist was a little rude and the hotel looks old and dirty from the outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Very good location. This hotel is nice and clean. Bathroom is big and very clean. Staff is friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Location: WOULD NEED A SMALL TABLE AND A SECOND CHAIR
OVERALL A NICE MOTEL, WHAT ELSE DO YOU WANT ME TO SAY?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Carmel and Monterey visit

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Great location - very close to both Carmel and Monterey - comfortable beds
Cons: Bathtub was very slippery
Location: Located right on the outskirts of Monterey only a few minutes from both Carmel and Monterey - shopping, beach, harbor - 17 mi drive
This hotel was a bit deceptive in it's pictures online. It is a motel. The hot tub and pool were nice. Breakfast included was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Good

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Good standard and large room.
Handy central location to Freeway, 17 mile drive and wharf area. Del Monte Shopping Mall across the road. Only stayed one night but suitable for longer stay and plenty to see and do in Monterey area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Consider Other Options!

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Friendly stall, clean sheets.
Cons: Many things, see note above.
Location: Carmel, CA. Overpriced restaurants and tourists.
Room was clean and staff was friendly but room had little to admire. Very few electric outlets, no air conditioning, no closet or hook to hang clothing. Obviously and older complex that was clean but not modernized. Probably would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Beautiful rooms, don't get discouraged by outside

Posted Sep 14, 2014
The room are new and clean. Outside doesn't look like much but the rooms are sweet. Pet friendly, and a great shopping mall across the street. Will come again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Great road trip stop!

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: The decor was great, and good location - took 15 minutes to walk to Cannery Row
Cons: The outside of the hotel could be improved
Location: 15 minute walk from Cannery Row and the Aquarium. Would recommend the 3D glow in the dark mini golf and the laser challenge!
We stayed at the Mariposa Inn during our road trip down the west coast and it was perfect! Pretty easy to find, and there was parking right outside our room. While the outside could do with a little updating, the rooms inside were perfect! Very modern and spacious and a great price. In the morning, breakfast was included. Great selection of bagels, fruit, yoghurts and waffles (as a Brit it was very exciting to make our own waffles!)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The airconditioner did not work.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
There was an electric fan in the room and we ended up using it.It was not worth the price.