Ratings based on 1,200 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Adequate Motel, Bad Location

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Nicely decorated clean rooms.
Cons: Light the fire pits, clean up trash in parking lots and around the grounds, and add a little protein to the breakfast selections.
Location: Downtown Monterey is great, but sadly the Mariposa is all the way at the end of "motel row," a long walk to town with lots of traffic noise all night.
We needed a reservation for a last-minute 3 day trip to Monterey and were happy to find a decent price at the Mariposa Inn. There's nothing wrong with this place, the small rooms are well turned-out and clean, but you are greeted by a shabby parking lot with a huge open-aired garbage container and chipped up, grimy narrow hallways leading to the rooms. The beautifully portrayed fire pits were closed for the season, even though temperatures were in the seventies the whole time we were there. The pool was surrounded by trash and the hot tub was luke warm.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom istanbul

hotel was like self service hotel and very basic

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Rooms are shown on the photos nice and listed items are there but reality is different. room was so tiny had no closet. hotel staff during check in were terrible. After 25 hrs of flight time they were so rude and had no empathy. Never worth the money i spent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Norwich UK

Nice hotel, conveniently located

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Location (see below) and cost - much cheaper than staying in downtown Monterey.
Cons: Outside needs some renovation, but room was excellent and spacious, with gas log fire. Pool needed some attention (cleaning).
Location: Location very good - close to restaurants, shops and easy access to CA Highway 1. 20-30 min walk into Monterey Fisherman's Wharf area.
Needed hotel for over night stay near Monterey. Served purpose well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2015
The room was tiny for two people. It was fine for one night but too small to stay for longer than that. Friendly and accommodating staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom portland, Oregon

Lovely room, only a few downsides

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Great room, although our room had some traffic noise and a very noisy toilet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel next to the mall

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Stayed for three nights didn't have any problems besides the dirty sinks. Comfortable rooms with fireplace, free breakfast and close to downtown and the wharf.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

review

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Pros: Excellent location
Cons: maintenance on week end
Location: close to major attractions. large shopping cntr. close by with good eating establishments.
room too dark. some lights not working and staff did not have replacement because maintenance staff did not work on weekend. good shower. somewhat difficult to locate and entrance only on oneway side of large blvd.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Great location. Very convenience to Restaurant, golf course, bay...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom H

No complaints except for upstairs neighbors!

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Everything perfect from the layout of the room to the comfort of the bed to the balcony and the fireplace in our room ! All very romantic, but then the neighbors upstairs kept us up most of the night and heard children screaming and slamming doors in the morning !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel but has noisy floors

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, hot tub, room, breakfast
Location: Great location within walking distance of a really nice shopping mall and very close to downtown..
Really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff was very friendly, had plenty of room to park and the room was very nice. We also enjoyed the hotel at night which was very nice and clean. The only problem I had was how loud the noise of the floors above you are. We woke up in the middle of the night to the people in the room above us walking around. They weren't doing anything but walking, but it created a loud creaking sound throughout our room. We called the hotel staff to ask the occupants in the room above us to try and be more quite. After that, it was very quiet.