Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

Nice historic hotel in downtown Monterey.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Lovely hotel, friendly staff. Steps to Fisherman's Wharf as well as the free trolley that takes you to the aquarium. We were given a lovely room on the ground floor off the garden patio. Nice continental breakfast. Kids had a lot of fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angie from Belfast

Great location, few minutes from the pier and prom

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Pros: Location excellent. Really high wood beamed ceiling.
Cons: Staff could be more welcoming.
Location: Great central location, few minutes walk to the sea, pier, promenade, 15 mins walk to Cannery Row, 20 mins to Aquarium.
The room was spacious and clean and we were given a log to burn in our fireplace, creating a nice atmosphere. We had to pay for parking but was worth it as we left the car there on our check out day, while we walked to Cannery Row and the aquarium. Breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martha from Yuba City, CA

Wonderful central location

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Location - close to everything.
Cons: Bathroom could stand updating.
Location: Easy walk to downtown and Fisherman's Fisherman's Wharf. Easy drive to Cannery Row. Lots of restaurants, both casual and fine dining close by.
Our room was clean and pleasantly appointed. My only complaint was that the bathroom was a little shabby. It was clean, but there was some peeling paint and the shower was kind of under powered. The hotel is an easy walking distance of downtown and Fisherman's Wharf. We will stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff and great location

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, great location
Cons: fix the squeaky bed!
Location: 5 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and whale watching boats, Custom house and other spots of interest
Super friendly staff, excellent location, great fireplace, spacious, comfy room ... but the old metal-frame 4-post canopy bed squeaked A LOT, even just sitting down or shifting one's weight. Celebrating a romantic weekend, we had lots of laughs over it, but we definitely feared noise complaints from our neighbors. Room 22
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incredible staff, nice rooms, great price.

Posted Jan 30, 2014
Pros: The staff went above and beyond and was incredibly friendly. The room felt very much like a room in a cabin; it was very comfortable and relaxing.
Cons: Parking, but the parking wasn't even too bad.
Location: The location is right in the heart of everything. Great location!
The staff was very welcoming and accommodating from the moment we arrived. They were very flexible and understanding of our late arrival and need for a slightly later check-out. The room was very clean and cozy with high ceilings that made the room feel large. There is a fire place paired with very warm and comfortable bedding. Parking was a bit tight, but that is more of a result of the layout of Downtown Monterey than the hotel. The location was very nice as it was a short walk to the pier and the heart of downtown. I plan to stay here again if I am every in Monterey. Can't say enough about the friendly and welcoming staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by JJ from South Florida

Excellent location & accommodations

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Superior room, location & service. Will stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kathy from Ohio

Great Find!

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were pleasantly surprised. I chose it mostly for the location (and the way others reviewed it). All that proved to be true. The room was unique and cute. The fireplace was a welcome surprise to all of us. The grounds were pretty--especially the walk from our back patio to the breakfast room. The breakfast room was happy and sunny, and the attendant was warm and attentive. Others have remarked, accurately, that it could use some updating. Sure--the decor and floors weren't very new; but they were well-maintained, and that added a certain charm. My family loved it. What a pleasant stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ravi

nice cosy place in downtown

Posted Dec 31, 2013
very nice stay and very comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sandy from Stockton

Wonderful place and great location

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable, clean room, friendly and welcoming service, great location that is walking distance to wharf and convention center. On the same block is a convenience store which is a plus. Down side is cramped parking but otherwise a great place to stay. I'd come back to stay again.