Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Comfortable stay!!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Unique, clean, quiet
Cons: Bathrooms were older, but very clean
A cute motel up graded to Bed and Breakfast. Quiet, comfortable and unique. Breakfast was great, fruit, danishes, and drinks served on real dishes, no plastic!! The staff was great and went out of their way to meet our needs. 3 blocks to Fisherman's Wharf and an easy walk to everything!! We didn't use our car for 3 days!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Big Pine

Super location

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Everything in the room was great, location, location, location.
Cons: The only thing that needs improvement is the parking. The breakfast is heavy on the carbs.
The room was awesome, the location was great for walking to numerous attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

Nice historic hotel in downtown Monterey.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Lovely hotel, friendly staff. Steps to Fisherman's Wharf as well as the free trolley that takes you to the aquarium. We were given a lovely room on the ground floor off the garden patio. Nice continental breakfast. Kids had a lot of fun.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angie from Belfast

Great location, few minutes from the pier and prom

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Pros: Location excellent. Really high wood beamed ceiling.
Cons: Staff could be more welcoming.
Location: Great central location, few minutes walk to the sea, pier, promenade, 15 mins walk to Cannery Row, 20 mins to Aquarium.
The room was spacious and clean and we were given a log to burn in our fireplace, creating a nice atmosphere. We had to pay for parking but was worth it as we left the car there on our check out day, while we walked to Cannery Row and the aquarium. Breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Chris B. from Upland.

Great place

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rooms were great. Bed was super comfy. Everything was clean and in a great location. Only con was the 15.00 parking fee and the cramped parking lot
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Dale A. from Hayward,CA.

beautiful rooms!

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
This place is wonderful, we had a great room, my wife and I were very pleased. Nice and quiet no street noise no other room noise either. Close to wharf , aquarium and all the shops. We had a great time, a great stay and we will be coming back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rhonda from Seattle, WA

Wonderful!

Posted Apr 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We truly enjoyed our stay at Merritt House. Our room was cozy and spotlessly clean. The owners and staff are warm, helpful and responsive. Great location within a few blocks of downtown, Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row. The price is right. I just can't think of anything negative to say about this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martha from Yuba City, CA

Wonderful central location

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Location - close to everything.
Cons: Bathroom could stand updating.
Location: Easy walk to downtown and Fisherman's Fisherman's Wharf. Easy drive to Cannery Row. Lots of restaurants, both casual and fine dining close by.
Our room was clean and pleasantly appointed. My only complaint was that the bathroom was a little shabby. It was clean, but there was some peeling paint and the shower was kind of under powered. The hotel is an easy walking distance of downtown and Fisherman's Wharf. We will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Veep from Bay Area

Great location

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Meeting at the convention center and this hotel is in the perfect location. Small and quiet with a nice breakfast offering was just perfect. Small fridge to keep a few things cold. Just missing a microwave and it would be perfect. Very nice staff and a lovely patio area. Definitely will stay there again. Great alternative to a big hotel.