Ratings based on 535 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alabama

Comfort on the bay

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Waterfront location, close to all the shopping and dining on cannery row.
Cons: We loved it.
Location: It sits on the water. Cannery row has lots of shopping, dining and entertainment
This room was terrific! The balcony overlooks the water and we captured perfect shots of the sunrise. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was the biggest and nicest of all the rooms we stayed in while cruising the CA coast. We would definitely stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Don't be put off by exterior

Posted Jan 19, 2015
This is one of those rare hotels that put effort into the things that matter to a guest. The exterior is unimpressive as is reception area and don't look for a bar or restaurant but the rooms are the thing. Spacious, well appointed and full of really helpful touches. Very comfortable bed and linens and breakfast served in your room. Plenty of good restaurants in walking distance and the beach right outside. We stayed here as part of our road trip down the PCH for one night but got it wrong - we should have booked more nights here and less elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chico,CA

"Cannery Row View" is misleading

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Cons: They have a sign that says to put towels on the rack to reuse or on the floor to get new ones, but we got new ones regardless.
I booked a "Cannery Row View" room because it was much cheaper than the "Ocean View" rooms. However, we were pleasantly surprised to see that the rooms aren't facing the street. They're on the side of the hotel. Our view was part park and part harbor/marina. The bed was comfortable, but I felt like a support was missing from under the middle. It felt like it was falling. The seating area was nice and spacious. The balcony was perfect. Not too big, not too small. Just perfect for two people to sit and enjoy the complementary breakfast that they deliver to the room each morning. When housekeeping does their daily cleaning, they leave a card for you to fill out and hang on the door. Options include: fresh fruit, pastries, yogurt, hardboiled egg, coffee (decaf or reg), tea (a few different flavor choices), milk, and orange juice. Then you choose what time you want it delivered (choices are 15 min increments between 7am-10am). If you get coffee, ask for milk. They don't give you much cream. The bathroom was nice. Large closet, large shower, private toilet area, and double sinks. I was a little disappointed with how low the water pressure was. Both the hot tubs are amazing! The 4th floor one is actually on the roof and has a view of the bay. The 2nd floor one is part of a patio with a fireplace. They are both small. We never had any issues, but it might be awkward if another guest wants to join you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom walnut creek, ca

perfect ocean view

Posted Jan 13, 2015
I stayed at the Monterey bay inn for my birthday with my boyfriend. The room was spacious, had a gorgeous view of the ocean and balcony. I was greeted with a bottle of white wine and chocolates for my birthday. I loved every bit of my experience at this inn and I would 100% stay here again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2015
I paid $349 on Expedia for an Ocean View room. When we got there, they put us in a room with a view of the parking lot. When we wanted an Ocean view, they charged us an extra $100. When shown the Expedia receipt, they would not refund.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2015 by Inns of Monterey, Hotel Management
We are very appreciative of your review and would like to apologize for any miscommunication regarding our guest room offerings. In researching your reservation we have determined that the guest room reserved through Expedia was for an Ocean View room, which has views of Monterey Bay, San Carlos Beach, the Coast Guard Pier, and the boat harbor. However, the room that you were upgraded to for an additional fee was an Oceanfront guest room with views solely of Monterey Bay. We are very sorry if this was not communicated at the time of your booking through Expedia and look forward to assisting you with your future bookings to alleviate any confusion as to the views we offer at our property. Sincerely, Management of the Inns of Monterey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

If facing ocean excellent! you can see sunrise

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Breakfast will be served to you and they were very punctual in serving. Daily made cookies and apples will be in the front and you are welcome to serv
As a package I got in to the hotel but was not given room facing street. It was too expensive if I ask for see side. But anyway I got in to that room on day 2 and no bounds for my joy. It has a balcony too. I can sit in the balcony had coffee with news paper in my hand. Sunrise was so beautiful and you can hear the sounds of tides.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Ramon CA

Winter Sun

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: The WiFi and TV (1080) for sports was nice.
Cons: It's older and could use progressive overall updates, which it appears they are doing.
Location: It's Cannery Row! Tourist! High prices everywhere! Lot's of dogs, everyone has a dog.
Hotel is more like a "Luxury Motel" but pleasant enough. It's on the water's edge and pretty weathered as to be expected. Desk staff was very friendly and cordial. There is no restaurant on site but continental breakfast is delivered to your door. Coffee was better than I expected and was pleasantly surprised. Newly remodeled bath area was nice as the overall room was small (think motel size). Wifi was excellent and could connect out to the beach area and in adjacent restaurant (Schooner's). Patio/balcony is nice and clean (no bird droppings)...We were there on Christmas and had the oceanfront room. Heating of the room is forced air from the wall but was adequate (warm enough for me). If you want the Winter Sun then I'd opt for the harbor view side which had the warm sun all day, the ocean front had about 1hr or so in the morning and it was warm enough to stand on the patio drinking my coffee. The harbor view would have been fine for us but the waves crashing was soothing on the oceanfront side albeit chilly. My wife liked the room and the bed was very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Temecula, CA

Nice Experience

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: I like that it is a smaller hotel and that a nice little breakfast is included. The staff even prepped a "to go" breakfast bag for us.
Cons: No recommendations.
Location: This hotel has easy access to the bike/walking trail the runs the length of the coastline. Also it is a quick walk to the main section of Cannery Row.
We only stayed one night, but would have loved to have stayed longer. It is nice that breakfast is included. Our room overlooked the little beach next to the hotel. It was wonderful to listen to the waves crashing on the beach while falling asleep and waking up to the barking of sea lions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Excellent service a little pricey but a great location. thx
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fortaleza CE

Hotel agradável em frente a baía

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Pros: Conforto do Quarto
Location: Localizado ao lado do Pier
Me surpreendi positivamente com o hotel, quarto muito confortável com varanda de frente para o mar. Localização excelente. Café da manha no quarto. Muito boas instalações