Ratings based on 473 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Monterey Bay Inn is beautiful!

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Location: -Visit Monterey Bay Aquarium
Our stay was amazing...wish it had been longer. The room was great, kept the door to the patio open all night and listened to the waves. The bathroom was beautiful. Can't wait to stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S.L.C., Utah

Wonderful hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: This hotel is right on Cannery row, there are hundreds of shops and places to eat, the aquarium is within walking distance and it is on the the beach.
We had planned to stay for one night only but as soon as we saw the lovely room, we walked back out to the desk and asked to book another night! The staff was so nice. The rooms are large, clean, beautiful, and very comfortable! I can`t say enough positive about this stay! We truly loved it there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Mesa, Ca

Nice ocean view.

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: All the personnel were very courteous and helpful
Location: This hotel is located on Cannery Row which is within walking distance of the Monterey Aquarium, shopping, and some of the best restaurants in town.
Our room was very comfortable with a few amenities like a refrigerator and a Kurig coffee maker. It faced the ocean and the view was fantastic especially on a sunny day. We even got to see an otter and some seals romping about.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: My favorite part of our stay was leaving the balcony door open and being able to go to sleep hearing the ocean / waking up to the ocean.
Cons: This is a pretty random thing to complain about but the water pressure in the shower could be a bit stronger. It was a little weak.
Location: The Fish Hopper restaurant on Cannery Row has the best clam chowder you will ever have in your life.
We booked the ocean view room, not the most expensive one but the one beneath it. Our view consisted of the park below and the ocean to the left. Considering we didn't pay top dollar for the "full ocean view", I was okay with what we got. Just be aware if you don't book "FULL view" you won't be right on the water. I really enjoyed the balcony and the fact that their complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your door! It's not a fancy continental (hard boiled egg, yogurt, fruit, pastry, and your choice of beverage), pretty standard but the "breakfast in bed" part is such a cool idea. The location is great if you are looking to walk to many things. Parking along Cannery Row is next to impossible so the proximity of the hotel was a big plus for us. You are far enough away that it is quiet, but close enough to walk. Also be aware the hotel charges a parking fee per day. It is much less than what Seattle or San Francisco hotels charge and might be less than the parking garages along Cannery Row, but there is a fee. I want to clear something up: Other reviewers have complained about the elevator and even a fellow guest complained about it while we were there. The hotel is only four stories. The elevator is not that slow. You all need to get over yourselves. Of the three days we stayed, only on two occasions did we encounter anyone else using the elevator. It was never crowded and never took too long.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Excellent hotel with great ocean and bay views....

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Excellent views. Comfortable beds. Large bathroom. I will be back.
Cons: The elevator is really slow. It could use an adjustment.
Location: This is near the Wharf area with lots to do and see. It's near the Aquarium as well.
Traveling from SF down to Los Angeles....wanted to stay in the Wharf area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alla from San Francisco

One of our favorites with the best ocean view

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel! We splurged on the ocean view and the sound of the waves hitting the rocks made us not want to leave the hotel. Also it's right on Cannery Row so you don't need to drive, park and walk around, right on the beach! Great service! I got a card, chocolates and wine for my birthday from the staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oceanside, Ca

Beautiful hotel with beautiful views

Posted Jul 19, 2014
My husband and I stayed for our anniversary and enjoyed every second of it. The staff was friendly and we got into our room an hour before check in. The view from our room was gorgeous and we enjoyed our complimentary breakfast on the patio looking out to the bay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north bay

Right on Cannery Row

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Its location and clean accommodations.
Location: See above
Accommodations were modern and clean. Staff was friendly, professional and efficient. The morning breakfast saved us from having to go out for a meal. We walked to the aquarium, cannery row and fisherman's wharf. We didn't have to take the car out one time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Don't judge the book by it's cover

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Not much to look at from the outside, but the inside does not disappoint. Rooms are clean and bed was very comfortable. Loved having the ocean view and slept with the balcony door open to hear the ocean. Breakfast was good and the bathroom luxurious! Overall, excellent stay. Will book again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jay from Modesto

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was great... Even better than expected.. Very romantic...service was great also...the set up couldn't have been any better.... They thought of everything.