Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1.7 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
1.8 Room cleanliness
2.1 Service & staff
1.7 Room comfort
1.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by vincent

Last option

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Would not recommend unless last option. Room had dingy and musty smell. It was old and run down.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Kelley from Fresno

Horrible

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
I will never stay there again. There was mold in the bathroom. The window was nailed shut. The springs in the mattress poked me in the back all night. Very rude owners. Never again!
2 out of 5
by Scott from Grass Valley, CA

Hotel Hell

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Dirty conditions inside and out. From the street this hotel looks like a decent hotel, but don't be fooled! The beds are old and poor quality, the towels are disgusting and although they smell clean they are very worn and terribly stained, more suitable for car washing than for bathing! No coffee makers and no complimentary coffee. The outer garbage cans looked like someone had vomited in them, filthy walkways and an obvious disconcern for the representation of any part of this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dirty and loud

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Had a horrible night here , didn't sleep at all ...
1 out of 5
by dan from california

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2013
2 out of 5
by devlore from Sacramento, CA

Once nice hotel that needs serous attention.

Posted Nov 24, 2013
Pros: Cheap. Good location. Well lit parking lot.
Cons: Please, please remodel the entire location...
Location: Beach/boardwalk. Restaurants. Downtown. Pretty much central to most anything in Santa Cruz.
I used to stay at this same motel on frequent trips to Santa Cruz about 20 years ago. It was very nice at that time. But time has not been kind to the old girl. It looks like absolutely nothing has been replaced or updated since that time. The rates are very reasonable, but once you get there, you realize why. It is a good location, sandwiched right between downtown and the Boardwalk area right on the main drag. Some of the people staying there were pretty scary too. Made me nervous about my car. But the parking lot is well lit with good visibility from the rooms and the street. If someone would buy this property and renovate it, it could be a jewel again, but it is far from that now
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Carmen from Temecula, CA

Motel Santa Cruz

Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed it but the surrounding neighborhood isn't too nice
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ivan & Brad

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Inexpensive and consistent
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by SJ from Los Angeles

Really bad value

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
I knew the ratings were low but I didn't anticipate how many of the cliches of sub-standard hotels would come true. No towels. No sheets on one of the beds. No elevator. Shower that it took 2 different motel employees / family members in various pajama gear to get started and then fluctuated between icy cold and scalding hot. Homeless / semi-homeless in rooms with weekly rates. Just yuck! Never again.