Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A

Stay Only If You Absolutly Have To!

Posted Feb 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
I'm not picky, but in two words I would describe this place as Dirty and Cheap. I wouldn't recommend at all. The carpet was dirty, there were wet stains on the wall, the comforter scared me, and the bathroom walls have never been wiped down. If we didn't arrive so late, I would not have stayed. No shampoo, no alarm clock, small painful towels and cheap thin sheets. There were people smoking pot somewhere near, and I was afraid to let my kids touch anything. Like I mentioned before, I'm not a super picky person, as long as it's clean, I don't really mind, but this was disgusting. I am sure that you can find something closer to the beach and with much healthier standards. Sorry, but don't waste your time or money.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

for sleep.

Posted Oct 1, 2012
ok if you are sleeping and leaving. no amenities(lotion, etc.). tv channels very limited. i can see they are trying, but,...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad

Posted Jul 30, 2012
Very noisy with paper thin walls and doors. No shampoo iron or hair dryer
2 out of 5
Recommended
by National 9

My old College Town disappointment

Posted Jul 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
When we arrived in Santa Cruz, we witnessed a physical confrontion between two young women in their early 30’s duking it out out across the street from our hotel parking lot. On the corner of Grant & Plymouth. It ended abruptly when one woman walked off with a bloody nose and the other drove away in her car. This physical confrontation occurred in broad daylight. We hadn’t even pulled our luggage out the trunk. Street side violence was shocking to witness in Broad Day light! The following morning our car got burglarized, because I left the car unlocked…some quarters in the Toyota center console (for the parking meter) was stolen along with our GPS unit. I had to rely on my college memories to get us around the beach town. While shopping and sight seeing we saw several individuals paying for purchases with coinage. While visiting my old college town of Santa Cruz, it was stuning to see the countless homeless and mentally ill individuals wondering around this beautiful beach front community. Our vacation made me acutely aware of the harsher aspects of others. I have pictures of the interior of room. I will never go back-
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hotel for a one night stop over

Posted Jun 7, 2012
Location: Convenient to the highway
This is the type of hotel you would stay in for a night stop on the way to some place else. The hotel wasn't my first choice when searching in the area (most hotels in the area were booked due to an event passing through town); but I can say it certainly wasn't a bad choice. The hotel was acceptable for the price and the staff were friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable, although it obviously hadn't been remodeled in over a decade. There was a faint odor of cigarettes and mildew in our room, but the room was clean. The odor was most likely just from aged carpets and paint. Certainly nothing that opening the window for a bit didn't help cure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Shep

Posted Jun 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
We have stayed at National 9 before and know what to expect. It is not a fancy place but it is consistanly clean and well taken care of. The hotel is located very close to a freeway so those especially sensitive to traffic noise should be aware, however we live in a small town with 0 traffic noise and it does not bother us. The price here is about the best you are going to find in Santa Cruz and not be next to a hooker doing buisness.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rich

Leave your kids in the car!!!

Posted May 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
When I booked and paid for 3 rooms I knew other people were showing up for my daughters birthday party but not staying. When I checked in with my grandchildren the person at the front desk cussed me out and called me a liar. I do NOT use filthy languge infront of my grandchildren and told him I would pay extra for pool use. He then asked my brother inlaw to remove a shopping cart from the pool befor we used it.