Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Good for price, good stuff, clean room. Recomend for low income
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Shaver Lake, CA

We had a view of the Boardwalk. New furniture.

Posted Oct 29, 2014
All the furniture was new. Bed was comfortable. Very clean. Balcony with a boardwalk view. Walking distance to the Boardwalk, beach, restaurants and bars. Tight parking but that was the only "downfall". We walked everywhere besides the Mystery Spot.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Cruz

Ocean inn in Santa cruz

Posted Sep 20, 2014
There was a stain on the bedspread, and the main light was out. Limited space. Thought price was a little excessive. Hotel staff was very accommodative.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom sacramento

It's fine!!

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Gentleman at the desk was pleasant and laughed at my bad jokes. Balcony view of the boardwalk was cool! Whole place stinks of cigarettes. Lots of movie channels. Parking is a little tight. Not a bad place for Santa Cruz. Could have been much worse.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by MHfrom Washington DC

Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
A fairly standard discount hotel room. I should know what I'm getting for the price. I'm not expecting consierge services or spa treatments. The main and most important thing is then cleanliness and security. Security seemed very typical. The reason for the extremely low rating was the other. I woke up in the middle of the night itching and scratching and couldn't go back to bed. While I don't think I brought back anything like bedbugs, I also don't feel they clean or wash their rooms (and sheets) very well. I do not find this to be acceptable under any circumstances.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice people in the office and wonderful location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Missie B.from San Jose

Great room for great price

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel and the location is a plus. Maybe a half mile from the board walk.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Awful Experience

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
This stay was one of the worst I've ever had. The toilet wouldn't flush for the two days we stayed there, and the staff did not seem at all interested in helping. The clocks were all off by an hour, so it showed that anyone maintaining the facility was not paying attention to detail. The shower was grimey and the bed seemed to be very old and didn't feel fresh. When speaking with the staff (who were asleep in the lobby at 10:30am), they were rude and acted as if it was my fault the toilet handle didn't work. Horrible hotel, but a great location considering I spent most of my time near the boardwalk and surrounding beaches,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Good location / Good value

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Cons: Hallway lighting
My first time staying here. We usually stay at a place close by but they're getting very expensive. Overall very pleased w Ocean Gate Inn. Friendly staff. Willing to accommodate our varied requests -- even changing rooms mid-stay for a better beach view. Great wi-fi and a blazing fast speed -- no slow wi-fi here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Clean room, comfortable bed

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Bed was more comfortable than the average bargain hotel bed.
Manager is friendly, rooms and bedding are clean.