Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Good for price, good stuff, clean room. Recomend for low income
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Shaver Lake, CA

We had a view of the Boardwalk. New furniture.

Posted Oct 29, 2014
All the furniture was new. Bed was comfortable. Very clean. Balcony with a boardwalk view. Walking distance to the Boardwalk, beach, restaurants and bars. Tight parking but that was the only "downfall". We walked everywhere besides the Mystery Spot.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Cruz

Ocean inn in Santa cruz

Posted Sep 20, 2014
There was a stain on the bedspread, and the main light was out. Limited space. Thought price was a little excessive. Hotel staff was very accommodative.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom sacramento

It's fine!!

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Gentleman at the desk was pleasant and laughed at my bad jokes. Balcony view of the boardwalk was cool! Whole place stinks of cigarettes. Lots of movie channels. Parking is a little tight. Not a bad place for Santa Cruz. Could have been much worse.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Good location / Good value

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Cons: Hallway lighting
My first time staying here. We usually stay at a place close by but they're getting very expensive. Overall very pleased w Ocean Gate Inn. Friendly staff. Willing to accommodate our varied requests -- even changing rooms mid-stay for a better beach view. Great wi-fi and a blazing fast speed -- no slow wi-fi here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Clean room, comfortable bed

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Bed was more comfortable than the average bargain hotel bed.
Manager is friendly, rooms and bedding are clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom sydney

Smells like parmesan cheese

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Beds were comfortable
Cons: Change the carpets & reprint the ceiling
Hotel was room was clean but it had a terrible smell that smelt like Parmesan cheese, location was ok
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by DORISfrom CALIFORNIA

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
was very nice
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Way over priced, even for Santa Cruz

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The location being walking distance from the boardwalk was the only positive, but the safety issue of walking after dark is a serious issue.
Cons: Paint, new beds, new carpet, replace the ironing board with burn holes in it. improve the housekeeping standards, pressure wash the walkways.
Location: Walk to boardwalk in daylight only. do NOT let your children walk to local businesses for safety reasons. No food in walking distance.
This hotel in any other location would struggle to get $75.00 per night, but since its walking distance from the boardwalk they are opportunistically pricing at $230 per night. The rooms are worn out and poorly maintained. The furniture, carpet and beds are all heavily worn and outdated. The bathroom was not clean with stains on the walls and ceilings. No point in picking it apart further, its just grossly over priced and in a horrible area from a safety standpoint. On a very busy corner with traffic most of the night and lost of unsavory characters walking the streets and hanging out along the canal. You will stay once for lack of knowing any better and never come back. stay further away and drive in to the boardwalk, its not a worthwhile trade.