Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Economic inn close to the beach

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Don't be fooled by this inn's outside appearance. The rooms were actually pretty nice and the guy at the front desk was very friendly and accomedating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas

Great room close to the beach

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Based on prior reviews I was quite nervous checking in, once I saw the room i was actually impressed! It was big with a great bed, nice flat screen, a microwave and fridge, and a balcony. The condition of the room was better than expected for an old building. Covered parking was included and staff was friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Close to the beach and boardwalk. Convenient but Wish they served a Continental breakfast....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2015
No pool. No breakfast. No place to eat but pizza nearby. Loud traffic but balcony and view of ocean. Over priced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Nothing wrong with the place, just dull and a little cramped.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oakland

Close to everything, nothing to be excited about.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Smoking Rooms available, free parking, close to everything.
Cons: New linens, new carpets, new towels.
I have stayed here once before. My partner and I like how close it is to everything, the smoking room availability and the parking. This would have been my second time at this location and this experience was lacking. I arrived before check in time, but was able to check in anyways and go out to lunch, expecting to come back to a room that was ready. When we got back we arrived to an open door and dirty room. The door to our room was ajar (who knows for how long) the room appeared to be half taken care of. The bed was made but there were no pillow cases, no new toilet rolls, and only one trash can had a liner. The bed felt damp and dingy despite the appearance that it was just freshly made. We would have asked any housekeepers about new pillow cases, but did not see any for the rest of our stay. In their defense we didn't make a huge effort to seek them out or complain to the front desk. We had to keep our socks on because of how dirty the carpet was making our feet from walking around the room. We do not like to complain, however for the price paid ... we expected much better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by melissafrom San Jose

Great value

Posted Jan 10, 2015 on Hotels.com
Great rooms for amazing price with a river view and boardwalk view with a half mile or so walk to the beach boardwalk love this hotel will stay here everytime im in santa cruz
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by christynafrom Santa Cruz

Un happy

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels.com
The person ( one of the owners family members) wasn't friendly at all and was clearly filling in while his family was away for the holiday.. After showing him my family booking confirmation he shared with me the Ocean Gate Hotel was not affiliated with Hotels.Com... after figuring out our reservation, he was unhelpful with responding to requests such as fixing the broken TV or Requests for more towels...1 more to be exact. He also called the room a day before checkout telling my brother he had a hour to leave the room, The rooms were also never cleaned the 4 days my family was there. Will not be booking there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom cetral valley Ca.

Hotel SUCKS....

Posted Jan 5, 2015
The staff was very rigid. The room was mediocre at best and uncomfortable...terrible location and the staff seemed to be unfamiliar with how to do their job.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

survivor

Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
My stay was bad but we made the most out of it because it was non refundable.the room that I originally had was a non smoking room cause I have asthma.my boy friend and I walk in it smells like cigarettes, then like three of the lights didn't work the toliet wasn't flushed and there was food in the refrigerator. So I told the front desk guy and he moved us next door, which he rude a little as well plus the front desk room smelled like cigarette. But anyways , the new room also three lights weren't working . I definitely won't be going back there again