Ratings based on 1,245 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Perfect beach get-away

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: location, cleanliness, room accommodations, pool, breakfast
Cons: Parking lot
Location: The beach is less than 2 blocks, boardwalk took us about 10 mins, lots of great restaurants in walking distance as well
The lobby staff were fantastic-extremely friendly and eager to share local info, as well as a high level of willingness to accommodate. The rooms were well appointed, bed very comfortable, double headed tiled shower was a bonus, and having a fridge and microwave was a huge plus. The pool and 2 hot tubs were definitely utilized and the area overall was clean. The ice machine on our floor was broken, but there was another that we could use. The only downside is that the parking spaces are on the smaller side, and with SUVS and trucks it made parking a bit tight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in funky but fun beach town

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Very good location and comfortable rooms. Facility is probably 40 years old and in places it show it's age. Ownership has done a good job to spruce it up. Other than the main lobby (which is great) the common areas were bit dingy and could use tlc. Complimentary breakfast is fair but kind of weak effort. All the above said we would stay here again as most of the completion looked a bit more worse for the wear. It kind of fits the Santa Cruz feel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

There must be better.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Affordable. They have a noise problem, and they are aware of it stating a 'zero tolerance noise policy' after 10pm. But some insulation could be nice -- you can clearly hear conversations and televisions from all (four?) surrounding rooms. Unengaged staff. Bad wifi. Pretty strong bleach smell after the room was cleaned. But a central location in Santa Cruz for relatively cheap. Comfortable beds and such, was a good place to sleep while enjoying the location -- as long as you're schedule is the same as your neighbors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from from texas

I liked it...

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Mainly, it was clean. Very clean. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Atmosphere was nice. Location was great, walking distance to the beach. I've bunked down at A LOT of places, I would stay here again. Looking forward to the next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is 5 minutes walk from beach boardwalk

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Hotel staff was very helpful on the various questions to them.
Cons: Room was smelling detergent whole stay. Wifi was unstable/slow. Breakfast was very light.
Location: Funfair, boardwalk,
Hotel is 5 minutes walk away from the wharf and the funfair. Room was detergent smelly. Kids found pool nice and warm. Breakfast was very light. Hotel staff was very helpful in giving various guidance needed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calicornia

Not worth the cost

Posted Aug 6, 2014
$530 for a tiny room with double beds was extortionate and we only took the room because we had no other option. The room was remodeled in some ways but the shower curtain was mildewed and the floors were dirty. Obviously they don't train their maid service very well. If you get the room for $100 or less it might be a reasonable value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from e

Good hotel comfort would come back again

Posted Aug 4, 2014
I had room with two king beds two rooms one bathroom overall te say was comfortable. Breast was ok simple . Very convenient distance from the beach . Staff was amazing !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Close to the beach..

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: The room service was excellent..
Cons: The quality of the rooms. You can hear water running, toilets flushing. People with kids should be put on the first floor.
Location: Excellent locations to everything on the beach.
The service was excellent, but if you have inconsiderate people above your room it can be very irritating with heavy walking and kids running around. We have stayed here before but we were on the 3rd floor and it was nice. The next time we come back to SC we will ask for a room of the 3rd floor, otherwise it was a pleasant stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nor cal

Hell no

Posted Jul 28, 2014
This place sucks stay in your car or go somewhere else
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

One night in Santa Cruz

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Close to Boardwalk (nice 3 block walk). We never drove anywhere and will stay there for more than just one night in the future.
Cons: Bop waffles were a nice touch for breakfast, but coffee and other items could be improved.
Location: Boardwalk was our reason to visit - to celebrate our kids' 9th birthday. And the Lodge was perfect for that.
We got there early, 1 pm- they wouldn't check us in but assured us we were in a first floor room and let us park our car in their lot so we could visit the Boardwalk, which was just a short walk away. When we returned they assigned us to a 2nd floor room even though we asked for a 1st floor room. After some discussion they finally put us in the first floor handicap room, which was fine with us. Other than that,the hotel was great and in my opinion much nicer than the pictures.