Ratings based on 399 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, CA

Convenient location

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Room lighting and parking.
Decent hotel in a convenient location. Parking is limited==after an evening out we found one last spot on the other side of our room. Wall light sconces wouldn't work but, but otherwise nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County

Nice location, but overpriced for cheap room

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Pacific Grove is a nice little town next to Monterey. Location only is the only good thing about this hotel.
Cons: Everything can be improved. Probably easier to bulldoze and start over.
Location: Golf course nearby. Lots of restaurants. Not far from the cannery row area.
If this hotel was not in this area where it is difficult to find a room, it would be out of business. I cannot remember the last time I was given an actual key to the door of my room. The lock was pretty flimsy as well. As soon as you open the door, there is the bathroom sink! A tiny, dark and moldy bathroom is next to the sink. Very outdated and low budget. Limited outlets in room. Old outdated TV set, and it is small. Weird wall heater with a rattan chair pushed up next to it (that was unraveling in the leg). No air conditioner. There are wooden shutters across the sliding patio door, but these were not good at blocking out the light, should have a standard black out curtain. At about 4:30 am, the people above us walked back and forth about a million times (it seemed), sounded like a stampede. Walls are thin and made it very noisy. The only plus was a small microwave and mini fridge in the room. There is a free continental breakfast in the tiny lobby, however there are no tables and it had a family of about 12 in it that morning. We quickly checked out and went to a restaurant for breakfast. I don't think I would want to stay here again even if it was free.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Orland

Nice, quaint hotel near the beach.

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: I liked that it was close to the ocean and had a simple breakfast.
Cons: The carpets probably could have been cleaner and I love a great morning coffee, but their coffee was not strong enough.
Location: We loved that we felt close to everything we wanted to do in that area. We had a magnificent time while we were there.
We enjoyed walking to the beach each day and driving into Pacific Grove for the excellent food and drinks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edgerton, WI

Better than expected

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: The swimming pool if functional would be nice.
Location: See above, also many good food establishments are nearby, a short walk or drive.
I read many reviews that suggested this venue was less than desireable. Obviously this is an older hotel but it has been updated and was much better than expected. The only noises we heard were pigeons who were in the upper open level. The Lodge is located in Pacific Grove which is a very beautiful area and has many opportunities for gorgeous walks near the sea both north and west of the property. A sand beach and golf course are located nearby. Free parking is available at the Lodge and on nearby streets.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Paso Robles,CA

Nice convenient location.

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Nice older hotel in convenient location. Close to beach, lighthouse and butterfly sanctuary. Small bathrooms is the only real complaint I have.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kristenfrom San Luis Obispo

Mediocre

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed the location of the hotel. A short walk to the beach and a short walk into town. The hotel needs serious updating. The TV was old and had a poor picture. Our phone did not work. There is no AC in the rooms. Our front door was a sliding door so if we wanted to have fresh air in the room we had to have the front sliding door open and it didn't allow for privacy. The paint was peeling on the ceiling and the bathroom was old. The staff was very friendly and the free breakfast was nice. Probably won't stay here again because of the condition of the rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dana

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2015
On peninsula in Pacific Grove---walk to beach/cliffs. Rooms were clean, small/tight, but clean---staff was great/knowledgeable and accommodating!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburg, CA

Nice hotel. Away from downtown

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Cons: New beds.
This was a nice place to stay in. It was away from downtown so it was not difficult to find. Parking was a little limited. The rooms were clean but the beds may have seen better days. Easy check-in/check-out process and the staff was very helpful and attentive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Steven

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels.com