Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Christine from Sacramento

Nice Hotel Location

Posted Nov 24, 2013
Pros: Loved the location! The room was very comfortable.
Location: It was walking distance to Cannery Row and the beach. There was a nice trail that took us to Fisherman's Wharf.
Our room was very comfortable. love the location. It was walking distance to Cannery Row and a nice walk to Fisherman's Wharf. Very nice and friendly staff. We really enjoyed our stay. Look forward to staying at Otter Inn again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Trip to Monterey CA

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: Price
Very reasonably priced for an area that rips you off at every turn. Staff was friendly, responsive and helpful. Room was about nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Close to the beach, cannery row, wharf

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Pros: comfortable room, great staff, close to everything on the beach comfortable, close to beach and great staff!
Cons: Better lighting needed in room
relaxing. everything worked. friendly and welcoming staff!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Cannery Row

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: Within walking distance of so many things.
Cons: A minor issue, but a t.v. channel guide would be nice. I hate having to roam through the whole list to find the channel I'm looking for.
Hotel staff were very friendly and polite and willing to help.
3 out of 5
by Roger from Santa Cruz

Staying one night

Posted Jul 26, 2013
Pros: Close to Canary Row
Cons: No Smoking
Location: Close to the beach
To much noise from Seagulls.. A bunch of poop all around decks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Candy from Berkeley, CA

Great location

Posted Jul 25, 2013
Pros: The most surprising is internet access, we thought it might be lousy, but turned out to be fast and steady.
Cons: Our room is on the 2nd floor, facing courtyard, is kind of dark, could use more lights
Location: Aquarium, beach, shops, restaurant
This hotel is a bit old, but rooms are clean and spacious. It's just a few blocks from the Monterey Bay Aquarium.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Terry from San Diego

Great Location and Value

Posted Jul 24, 2013
Pros: I have no complaints. The hotel is a bit "tired" looking but it's positive attributes far outway the negative.
Cons: If the seagulls could be made to observe a "Quiet after 10:00" rule it would be very much appreciated!!! Very loud with the windows open.
Location: This was an awesome location! Easy walk to the food and shopping of Cannery Row and the Aquarium.
Great value, location and staff. Would definitely stay again because is it was close, comfortable and provided parking which is a premium in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good hotel near Monterrey Bay aquarium

Posted Jul 19, 2013
Pros: All of cannery row was within walking distance.
Cons: New mattresses and bedspreads would be nice.
Location: Great location for the Monterrey Bay aquarium and cannery row. There are several good restaurants and shopping near by. Great hotel with small kids.
This is a good hotel. The rooms are clean but not all amenities are upgraded. The bathroom has been upgraded which is nice. The beds are older and the decor is not up to date. The rooms are small but I have stayed at the higher price hotels near the aquarium and they had small rooms. The parking is limited (do not leave your spot), but this is typical for hotels in this area. We have stayed here when we go to the aquarium. It is a good value for the area (we never felt the higher price hotels were worth the extra expense). If you want a 4 star stay and service this is not the best hotel. If you want clean and convenience while visiting the Monterrey bay aquarium this is your hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ken from Alameda, CA

Excellent for Aquarium Visitors

Posted Jul 9, 2013
Pros: Plenty of restaurants both on the row or within a few blocks on Lighthouse Ave. Covered parking lot, but with a large vehicle, street parking.
Cons: The rooms are older, but comfortable. About ready for some remodeling.
Location: Close to the cannery row area where the Monterey Bay Aquarium is located. You will need to drive or take the shuttle to get to the wharf.
We arrived late afternoon on a sunny Sunday. The front desk person was courteous, and provided us with a complimentary basket of snacks. The room was good sized with a king bed, mini-fridge, fakey fireplace, and a nice view of the ocean and walking path nearby. There's a CVS about a block away where you can get beverages and other snacks for your stay. The microwave is shared, but they have one on each floor. The free Wi-Fi coverage was spotty, but we were warned about it when we checked in. No pool, only a jacuzzi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent mediocre hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2013
Cons: Updating tje room and flat screen tv.
Great experience! 5 minute walk to the aquarium and a stones throw from cannery row. Staff was excellent and very accomodating. The room is dated but who stays in their room all day if your there just for the weekend. Would stay again for a weekend trip.