Ratings based on 1,748 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newark, CA

Wife's Birthday

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Clean, staff was great
Location: Great location, many stores and shops in walking distance
Had a very nice time time, good food. Celebrated wife's birthday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom santa rosa

Relaxing

Posted Jan 23, 2015
It was nice and quiet. Rooms and beds comfortable. Nice walk to wharf
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CA

Nice hotel, quite a bit of noise

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: The rooms were nicely decorated and very clean. The hotel seemed to be a little older; perhaps, but extremely well maintained.
Cons: The noise level of the hotel.
We enjoyed our stay in Monterey. The hotel was conveniently located within walking distance to all main attractions, which was our primary goal! Upon arrival, our vacation buzz was slightly tainted as the check-in staff was not the most welcoming but all other staff we encountered throughout our stay were polite and made us feel very comfortable. The unfortunate part was the noise level of the hotel. While there doesn't seem to be much the hotel can do to improve this issue, I think it's important to mention for those who are light sleepers, as myself. I attribute the noise to the age of the hotel and location. Throughout the night we must have heard toilets flush nearly 50 times as the plumbing throughout the building is so loud. Similarly, in the morning we heard pretty much every guests' shower. Outside our window was a walking plaza that lead from Old Fisherman's Wharf to a downtown shopping district. Between 10 p.m. and 12 a.m. there was a lot of skateboard activity here, as well. We thought the hotel was nice but as a light sleeper, between the plumbing and the noise from the plaza, it was a really difficult night of sleep. I would recommend the hotel but with the awareness that there is quite a bit of noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but outside noise.

Posted Jan 20, 2015
We had a great stay. The room was spacious, bathroom clean. We had issues with the TV, but seemed to be the new cable provider. The hotel staff was quick to respond. They staff was quick to bring our luggage to the room and to our car when checking out. My only complaint is the amount of noise outside so late at night and into the early morning. It was hard to stay asleep. We were facing a busy street. I would definite stay again but request a room that doesn't face the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, Ca

Nice and close to everything but a bit loud

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: cleanliness and location
Cons: the sliding door should be noise proof.
Location: Old fisherman's warf, bars, restaurants.
We had a good time in this hotel but at night quite a bit loud. Our room was 203 and 2015. We came with friends and they said the same. People walking downstairs and cars that just standby. Even you close the window at night but you can still hear it. Other than that it is close to everything. Food, beach and bars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Concord, Ca

Nice hotel, nice staff, room not so great

Posted Jan 12, 2015
This hotel is very nice with a great staff. The only negative I would give is that the Expedia rate we paid got us a room near the parking garage and the pool, so it was noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Great location! Walking distance to everything. Clean and large rooms. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

This is our favorite place to stay in Monterey.

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Great as usual!!!! The rooms are lean beds are comfortable and the service is great from the valet to th concierge they take care of all their needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Florianópolis, SC, Brasil

Só faltou um elevador

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Localização, instalações e atendimento.
Cons: Colocação de elevador para acesso a todos os quartos.
Location: Próximo dos principais pontos turísticos da cidade.
Infelizmente, só ficamos uma noite neste excelente hotel, que fica em uma linda cidade. O atendimento foi ótimo do início ao fim, com equipe atenciosa e simpática. O único problema é que tínhamos muita bagagem e fomos colocados em um quarto cujo acesso não tinha elevador. O quarto tinha ótimo tamanho e instalações impecáveis. O restaurante Jacks tem gastronomia de alta qualidade, com ótimo serviço e preço adequado. A localização do hotel também permitiu passeios muito agradáveis, nos principais pontos turísticos da cidade. Definitivamente, um hotel para voltar e ficar mais tempo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom LA

Nice hotel close to old fishermen's wharf

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Cons: More elevators is desirable. It's not Vegas.
Really beautiful hotel lounge. Close to old fishermen's wharf where a lot of nice restaurants were located. Comfortable room and it was a good stay.